The Shenoa Report
October 29, 2015
Regular Season Week 8
This is that “special” time of the year when pretty much all
professional sports are in swing. The basketball season started Tuesday night
with my boy Stephen Curry making 24 points in the 1st quarter alone,
The World Series is also going on right now with the Royals leading the Mets 2-0,
the NHL is also in full swing and my Rangers are doing pretty well, and there
is football of course!!! If you’re a sports fan you’re probably in all your
glory right now… but this is a football blog so back to football.
We’re heading into week 8 and there are still 5 teams that
are undefeated, New England, Cincinnati, Denver, Green Bay, and Carolina. There
have never been 5 undefeated teams this late in the NFL season, so once again
history has been made. This will all change this week though because Denver is
playing Green Bay so there may only be 4 undefeated teams… hopefully less,
cough cough, New England.
Big news for the NY Giants, JPP is back on the team! My
co-worker and I high fived and then high foured to celebrate his return. In
other NY news, Steve Weatherford got picked up by the Jets (he was the Giants
kicker but was let go at the beginning of the season when we could no longer
afford him, I’m glad to see that he’s still in NY. Heck, he’s still in the same
facility and his home games are still played in the same stadium. Good for
him.)
I went 10-4 on my picks, The Giants won and are still at the
top of the NFC East, AND I actually won in one of my fantasy leagues!!!!! Week
7 was a good week for me!!!
Let’s recap week seven.
Seahawks @ 49ers 20-3
The 49ers are so bad. Nothing else to report.
Bills @ Jaguars 31-34
I guess if you are a Bills fan that it was actually a good
thing that it wasn’t as easy as turning on the tv to watch this game… I
listened to some of the game as I was driving to fellowship and what I heard
was TERRIBLE. It was like the Bills were trying to lose. They just kept giving
the ball back to the Jags. It was an ugly game to hear, I can’t imagine what it
was like to watch.
Buccaneers @ Redskins 30-31
At one point I actually thought that the Bucs were going to
pull off the win… but they didn’t. Oh well, it was a nice attempt.
Falcons @ Titans 10-7
I’m not shocked at who won, but I am shocked at the low
score.
Saints @ Colts 27-20
All I can say is that I hope the Saints don’t play this well
in week 8…. But seriously, what happened to the Colts?
Vikings @ Lions 28-19
Wait, the Lions lost?!?!?! What a shocker… (insert sarcasm
here)
Steelers @ Chiefs 13-23
Hey Chiefs, heeeeey!!!!! Well done, way to get your second
win of the season.
Browns @ Rams 6-24
The Browns just can’t seem to get it together. That’s ok
it’s a rebuilding year. (This is what they’ve said every year for the past
forever)
Texans @ Dolphins 26-44
So, the Dolphins pretty much fired their coaching staff and
now they are playing like this! Maybe they should have let people go a lot
sooner? I decided to start Ryan Tannehill on my fantasy team and he threw 4 touchdowns
in the first half!!!! Thanks Ryan! (I didn’t really have a choice being that my
starting QB had a bye) On the other hand, Houston let Ryan Mallett (QB) go
after he missed the plane to Miami to go to the game. If Houston is anything
like Miami maybe they’ll get better too?
Jets @ Patriots 23-30
I was really hoping the Jets would knock the Pats off. They
played a good, hard game. Silver linings, Steve Weatherford is back playing
football in NY.
Raiders @ Chargers 37-29
Maybe it’s because I’m from the east coast, but I really
have nothing to say about this game.
Cowboys @ NY Giants 20-27
GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Side note: I love my mom. Earlier this
year she got a great promotion and a new office at her job. This past weekend I
helped her re-arrange her office. I told her that the Giants played at 4:25 but
I could help her until then. Well, 4:25 came and went but I didn’t want to
leave her, I wanted to finish the job… so I didn’t watch this game. I listened
to it while we moved computer systems and billions of tangled wires. I yelled,
I sighed, I jumped, I danced, and I held my breath. I even got my mom to dance
with me after the second interception recovered by the Giants. Afterwords I
went home and watched the highlights over and over and over and over again. It
was a great win and the muffed punt to end the game was the icing on the cake. Our defense and special teams should get the
game balls because they were definitely on point!
Eagles @ Panthers 16-27
I got a little nostalgic and home sick watching this game,
wearing my Panthers t-shirt. Charlotte is such a beautiful city and I miss it
terribly. When the cameras scanned the crowd I hoped that I’d see a friend. The
Panthers made me proud. They played hard, and more importantly sent the Eagles
home with a loss. This Giants fan thanks you Carolina. My favorite meme after
the game was “Bye Phill-icia!!!”
Ravens @ Cardinals 18-26
The Ravens are arguably the worst team in the NFL. Ouch.
WEEK 8
Thursday October 29th
Dolphins (3-3) @ Patriots (6-0) [8:25pm CBS, NFLN]
I would love, love, LOVE to see the Dolphins continue their
win streak. I’ll be rooting for them and I hope Miami is a head of your-ami.
But I’m picking the Pats for the win in hopes that I’m super wrong.
Sunday November 1st
Lions (1-6) @ Chiefs (2-5) [9:30am FOX]
We have another morning game this Sunday because the Lions
and the Chiefs are in London. Maybe
playing across the pond will help the Lions win… haha. That was a good joke
Shenoa. I’m picking the Chiefs. No the
Lions. Hell, it’ll probably end in a tie.
I pick the Chiefs.
Buccaneers (2-4) @ Falcons (6-1) [1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Falcons but wouldn’t be surprised if Matty
Ice blew it.
Cardinals (5-2) @ Browns (2-5) [1pm FOX]
I’m taking the Cards over the Browns.
49ers (2-5) @ Rams (3-3) [1pm FOX]
I think it’ll be the Rams over the 49ers.
NY Giants (4-3) @ Saints (3-4) [1pm FOX]
Dear Giants, don’t down-play this game. The Saints have won
3 in a row. Don’t make it 4. Play hard, smart, tough ball. And for goodness
sakes, DON’T TURN THE BALL OVER. JPP is traveling with the team. Play your
hearts out and win this game. Love, Shenoa. PS I’m picking the Giants for the
win.
Vikings (4-2) @ Bears (2-4) [1pm FOX]
I’m taking the Vikings to win this game.
Chargers (2-5) @ Ravens (1-6) [1pm CBS]
I’ll take the Ravens.
Bengals (6-0) @ Steelers (4-3) [1pm CBS]
I really think the Steelers are going to upset the Bengals.
Titans (1-5) @ Texans (2-5) [1pm CBS]
I think that the Texans might actually win this one.
Jets (4-2) @ Raiders (3-3) [4:05pm CBS]
I’m picking the Jets over the Raiders.
Seahawks (3-4) @ Cowboys (2-4) [4:25pm FOX]
I’m picking the Seahawks… don’t let me down!
Packers (6-0) @ Broncos (6-0) [8:30pm NBC]
Sorry Peyton… I’m picking the Packers even though the
Broncos have the best defense in the league, they also have one of the worst,
if not the worst offense…
Monday, November 2nd
Colts (3-4) @ Panthers (6-0) [8:30pm ESPN]
I’m picking the Panthers for the win. Side note, it was 8
years ago when I went to my first NFL game. It was Indi at Carolina and I cried
when I walked into the stadium and saw Peyton Manning on the field. A lot has
happened in 8 years. Go Panthers!
BYES: Bills, Jaguars, Eagles, Redskins
GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!