The Shenoa Report
September 19th
Regular Season Week 3
I know it’s only week 3 but I feel like the football season
is flying by… Maybe it’s because of the Thursday night games each week.
I sure do hope that the people who read this report don’t
bet money on my picks because you guys would have lost a lot this past week.
Seriously, this week was crazier than the first week with the Patriots and
Ravens losing what should have been blowout wins and the Rams and Arizona
winning when they should have lost miserably. Hopefully my picks will be a lot
better this week. I’m pretty stoked because my GMEN are coming to Carolina
Thursday night and I will be at that game. GO GMEN!!!!!!!!
Let’s recap week 2.
Bears @ Packers
10-23
I was right the Packers were able to bounce back and they
did in a big way by picking off Cutler 4 times.
Chiefs @ Bills
17-35
The Bills also bounced back and crushed the Chiefs so I
guess I won’t write them off just yet. Fitzpatrick does a lot better when he
throws to his own guys and not the opponents. The Chiefs on the other hand are
looking like they could be the worst team in the NFL right now.
Raiders @
Dolphins 13- 35
The Dolphins definitely looked better this week than week
one. Tannehill seemed much more
comfortable in his second NFL game and Reggie Bush had a great day with two
rushing touchdowns. The Raiders were doing well in the first half but then fell
apart in the second resulting in an embarrassing loss.
Texans @ Jaguars 27-7
The Texans tore up the Jags Sunday afternoon. Although
Schaub didn’t throw any TD passes he didn’t turn the ball over either and the
Texan RBs had a great day.
Browns @
Bengals 27-34
Augggh. The Browns lose again. I’ve got to stop picking them
to win… then maybe they’ll have a chance. It was a close game and Weeden looked
a lot better this week throwing two touchdowns and no interceptions. Andy
Dalton had a great day with three touchdown passes and the win.
Ravens @ Eagles 23-24
I’m not happy with the outcome of this game. The Ravens
totally should have won. They picked off Vick twice and he seemed inconsolable
and ready to throw in the towel.
If I were an Eagles fan (which I am NOT, not even a little bit) I’d be
worried. Your boys came up very lucky by winning by 1 point two weeks in a row.
Sooner than later they are going to get pounded.
Buccaneers @ New
York Giants 34-41
Dear Lord this was an UGLY game. Thankfully it was a win,
but is it too much to ask for an easy win once in awhile. By halftime I was
angry enough to punch kittens and I wasn’t even watching the game, I was
listening to it. I had thought about calling up a friend and going out to watch
the second half but decided I’d better not be in public being as angry as I
was. Instead I went home to watch the rest of the game on my computer. Eli had
3 interceptions in the first half and the Bucs, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers were
killing my Giants. I sat down for
the second half and began knitting furiously. The 3rd quarter didn’t
seem much better except for the fact that Eli didn’t throw any more picks. The
defense did play well but the offense couldn’t get the job done in the red-zone
and settled for 4 field goals. I was livid. And then came the 4th
quarter and the comeback kids led by Eli Manning, or Captain Clutch as I like
to call him. With less than 7 minutes left the Giants scored 3 touchdowns,
Manning to Cruz with a Brown 2 point conversion, Manning to Bennett, and then
Brown had a rushing touchdown with 34 seconds to go. It was beautiful. To put the icing on the cake Michael Boley
intercepted Freemans pass to end the game. Big Blue lined up in victory
formation with 5 seconds on the clock and the Bucs ran through the line and
knocked down Manning. It was a cheep shot and thankfully no one was hurt. So
glad for this Giants win!
Saints @
Panthers 27-35
I watched the first half of this game and was pretty
impressed with the Panthers, not so impressed with the Saints. The Saints are
in real big trouble, and the Panthers are on their way up if they can keep it
together.
Cardinals @
Patriots 20-18
So, I have this witty banter going on back and forth with a
Pats fan (don’t judge me the guy actually makes me smile sometimes) Anyway, he
was giving me a real hard time about the Giants losing to the Cowboys in week
one and sarcastically wished me good luck in week 2 saying “if you don’t pull
this one out you should be worried.” I retorted with “thanks, but I’d be more
worried for you if your team lost though...unlikely I know” Well, we all know
the outcome of this game. As unlikely as it was the Pats lost! I then got a
text from said Pats fan saying “Ha… I guess I shouldn’t have been talking sh**.”
I just love happy endings.
No one saw this game as a Cards win which makes it that much
sweeter. Yes the Pats should have won but they couldn’t make the field goal at
the end of the game to finish. Do I feel bad for them or their fans? Not even a
little bit.
PS who would have thought the Arizona Cardinals would be one
of the few teams starting out this season 2-0?!?!
Vikings @ Colts 20-23
Well I was wrong the Colts were able to pull off their first
win of the season at home against the Vikings. Luck didn’t throw any interceptions,
which really helped the team. But in the end it was veteran kicker Vinatieri
who sealed the Colts win with a 53-yard field goal. Still not jumping on the
Colts bandwagon.
Redskins @ Rams 28-31
Sam Bradford and the Rams had a stellar day against the
Redskins. It was nice to see RG3 look more human and less superhero-esk for the
Giants’ sake. The Redskins could have won the game had their field goal attempt
been successful at the end of the game.
Cowboys @ Seahawks 7-27
YEAH SEAHAWKS!!!!! It was so nice to see 2 teams in the NFC
East lose this week! It puts the Giants in a much better position than dead
last. I would have loved to watch this game. Romo and the Cowboys only had one
successful drive. I wish I could shake the hands of all the Seahawks players.
Good job guys. And hats off to Rookie QB Russell Wilson of the Seahawks for a
job well done!
Jets @ Steelers 10-27
It was sad to see the Jets back to their pathetic selves.
I’m sure in living rooms around the USA you could here TEBOW! TEBOW! TEBOW! At
least that’s how it sounded in the living room I watched the game in as I sat
in the official “Shenoa football chair.” This game was hard to watch. After Sanchez fell apart they should
have put Tim in permanently. He was able to drive the ball when he was in and I
think they would have been much more successful. But what do I know? I’m afraid
Rex Ryan doesn’t know that much either.
Titans @ Chargers 10-38
The Chargers looked good against the Titans but that isn’t
really a hard thing to do. (Sorry Abby) Chargers TE Rosario had a big game with
3 touchdowns. Did I ever tell you I met him? He’s a real stand up guy.
Lions @ 49ers 19-27
The handshake was friendly and it came at the beginning of
the game. The 49ers just played a better ball game, as was expected.
Broncos @ Falcons 21-27
This game was ugly too. Peyton had 3 interceptions in the
first quarter and unlike his little brother he couldn’t make a winning comeback
at the end of the game. I actually turned the game off at half time because I
just couldn’t watch anymore of the suckyness.
Not a good week for picks I went 7-9
WEEK 3
Thursday September 20th
NY Giants [1-1]
@ Panthers [1-1] (8:20pm NFLN)
Thanks to the McConnell’s I will be at this game! I’m going
with fellow Giants fan and friend Matt and it’s going to be AWESOME! I also
want to apologize to my best bud Kyle for not inviting him to the game. I blew
it! Anyway Matt and I have discussed our injury-ridden team and we’re not
worried because the Giants always seem to have injuries, and that’s why they
are the underdogs. Sorry Carolina and my many Panthers fan
friends I am picking the Giants to win this game. Dear GMEN you have tons of support
in Carolina! So win, win, WIN!!!!!
Sunday September 23rd
Jaguars [0-2] @
Colts [1-1] (1pm CBS)
I’m going to have to pick the Colts at home.
Bills [1-1]
@ Browns [0-2] (1pm CBS)
My uncle, mom, and I all picked the Bills to win this game
so I’m sticking with that pick. Sorry Brownie fans.
Jets [1-1] @
Dolphins [1-1] (1pm CBS)
Well if the Jets can get their act together they can beat
the Dolphins… I’m going to pick the Jets
Chiefs [0-2] @
Saints [0-2] (1pm CBS)
Both teams look horrible but the Chiefs look more horrible
so I am going to pick the Saints to have their first win.
Bengals [1-1] @
Redskins [1-1] (1pm CBS)
I don’t want them too but I think that the Redskins will win
at home.
Buccaneers [1-1]
@ Cowboys [1-1] (1pm FOX)
I’d love to see the Bucs upset the Cowboys at home. I’m
picking the Bucs to win.
Rams [1-1] @ Bears [1-1] (1pm FOX)
I’ll have to pick the Bears.
49ers [2-0] @ Vikings [1-1] (1pm FOX)
I’m going with the 49ers
Lions [1-1] @
Titans [0-2] (1pm FOX)
I’m picking the Lions, sorry again Abby.
Falcons [2-0] @ Chargers [2-0] (4:05pm FOX)
One of these teams is going to have their first loss of the
season. I’m going to pick the Chargers mostly because Atlanta’s Michael Turner
shouldn’t be playing after getting a DUI after MNF in their win over Denver.
Eagles [2-0] @ Cardinals [2-0] (4:05pm FOX)
I’d definitely like to see the Cards go 3-0; even more I’d
like to see the Eagles lose. Hope the Cardinals can keep up their momentum and good
luck. I’m picking the Cards to win.
Steelers [1-1] @ Raiders [0-2] (4:25pm CBS)
As much as it pains me I’m picking the Steelers.
Texans [2-0] @ Broncos [1-1] (4:25pm CBS)
I love you Peyton but I’m going to have to pick the Texans.
Patriots [1-1] @
Ravens [1-1] (8:20pm NBC)
Man I hope the Ravens pull off this win but it wouldn’t
surprise me at all if the Pats won… I’ll have to pick the Patriots to win.
Monday September 24th
Packers [1-1] @ Seahawks [1-1] (8:30pm ESPN)
I’d love to see the Seahawks win but I don’t think it’s very
likely. I’m going with the Packers to win.
GOOOOOOOOOOOOO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!
No comments:
Post a Comment