The Shenoa Report
September 2, 2012
Regular Season Week 1
It’s that time again! I missed writing about football almost
as much as I missed watching it! Welcome back to another season of the Shenoa
Report! It’s good to be back. If you are a first time reader, welcome! I
started this blog two years ago after a number of people asked me for my
opinion on football and what teams they should root for. Please know that I am bias, and know
that this is just my opinion! Enjoy!
First things first… HOW ‘BOUT THOSE NEW YORK FOOTBALL GIANTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
World Champions again! I’m not gonna lie, Sunday February 5, 2012
was one of the best nights of my life, right up there with Sunday February 3,
2008.
Let’s relive some of the highlights shall we. (I still get
goosebumps thinking about this amazing game) So our first score came on the
first play of the game, a Brady Safety! 2 points for the GMEN.
Then Manning to CRUUUUUUUUUUZZZZZZ for 6!
…Then the Pats had 17 unanswered points… no worries though
we all know how it ends.
Big Blue scores a field goal.
Tuck gets to Brady and then a little bit later Brady throws
a beautiful INTERCEPTION!
The Giants get the ball, move it down the field but don’t
capitalize.
Brady gets the ball back throws it DEEP down the field to a wide
open Welker and HE DROPS IT!
The Giants get the ball back. Belichick say’s “Make him
throw it to Manningham. Manning
connects with Manningham (almost as poetic as the David Tyree catch). On the
same drive Bradshaw falls into the end zone and the New York Giants win the
Super Bowl 21-17!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOT WOOOOOOT GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Of course Brady tries to make a comeback in the final
minutes and throws a “hail Mary” with 6 seconds left only to come up with a
Super Bowl loss.
Because football had to end for the season a Giant’s win was
the best outcome in my opinion.
Now for the off-season, and I usually don’t have much to say
about the offseason except that Brett Favre is still retired. But not this
offseason, a whole lot of stuff happened this offseason. Now, I’m not going to
cover everything, I’ll just give you a taste so that when you turn the game on
this fall you’re not wondering why Peyton is wearing orange and why Tebow is
wearing Green.
Peyton Manning was traded from the Colts to the Broncos, so
apparently he’s still a horse. Tim Tebow was traded from the Broncos to the
Jets, I’m afraid NY is going to eat him up (not in a good way) OchoCinco went
back to Chad Johnson and got kicked out of the NFL so you won’t be seeing his
ridiculousness around anytime soon.
T. O. got cut by the Seahawks, ouch. Mario Manningham and Brandon Jacobs
left the Giants and went to the 49ers. The entire Colts organization scattered,
they have a new head coach, QB, Center, … basically a whole new team with
Andrew Luck as their new QB.
What else? Oh yes, the Saints are in really hot water with
the whole bounty scandal. Sean
Payton, their head coach, was suspended without pay for this entire
season. Hines Ward retired from
the Steelers. Annnnnnd the NFL Referees are currently in a Lockout that will
not be resolved before the beginning of regular season.
I haven’t decided whether or not I’ll be playing fantasy
football this season, I picked up a second job in the off season and I still
want to write this blog but I don’t think I can do 2 jobs, blog, and fantasy…
we’ll see.
I went to visit my family in NY this summer and my uncle and
I got to talk about football. He is a diehard Bills fan (bless his heart) so we
decided to do picks for the Bills and the Giants for the regular season. My mom
also made her picks too, feeling like she’s learned a little bit about football
since editing the Shenoa Report for the past 2 years. Anyway, My uncle has
picked the Bills to go 10 and 6, I’ve picked them to go 8-8, and my mom picked
them to go 7-9. He’s picked the
Giants to go 10-8, I’ve picked them to go 13-3, and my mom picked them to go
12-4. I love my family, and
obviously I love the Giants.
Speaking of the Giants, they are going to be kicking off the
regular season against the Dallas Cowboys. Note the special time and date, it’s
a Wednesday night folks.
WEEK 1!
Wednesday September 5th
Cowboys @ New York Giants (8:30pm NBC)
Obviously I’m picking the Giants to win their home opener.
My mom and Uncle Steve also picked the Giants to win this game. GO GMEN!!!!!!
Sunday September 9th
Falcons @ Chiefs (1pm FOX)
Going with the Falcons
Redskins @ Saints (1pm FOX)
I’m taking the Saints just because Drew Brees has more
experience than RG3
Eagles @ Browns (1pm FOX)
I’d LOVE to see the Browns win but I’ll have to pick the
Eagles
Rams @ Lions (1pm FOX)
I’ll take the Lions
Colts @ Bears (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Bears only because I don’t have much
faith in the Colts anymore.
Patriots @ Titans (1pm CBS)
I’d like to see the Titans win but I’m going to have to pick
the Pats
Dolphins @ Texans (1pm CBS)
I’ll take the Texans
Bills @ Jets (1pm CBS)
Well when I made my preseason picks with my uncle this
summer I picked the Bills to win this game he did as well. My mom picked the
Jets to win… lets see who will be right.
Jaguars @ Vikings (1pm CBS)
Hmmmmmm I’ll go with the Vikings.
49ers @ Packers (4:25pm FOX)
This should be a decent game. I’m going to take the Packers
Panthers @ Buccaneers (4:25pm FOX)
I’m picking the Panthers…. Mostly because I live in
Charlotte.
Seahawks @ Cardinals (4:25pm FOX)
The little chip on my shoulder doesn’t want the Cardinals to
win and my brother just moved to Tacoma Washington soooo… if I had to pick a
winner in this game I’d like to see the Seahawks win so, with my crazy pick of
the week I’m picking the Seahawks.
Steelers @ Broncos (8:20pm NBC)
Peyton, I’m picking your team to win. Make me happy.
Monday September 10th
Bengals @ Ravens (7pm ESPN)
I’ll take the Ravens
Chargers @ Raiders (10:15pm ESPN)
I like the Raiders
And there you have it. ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL?!?!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!
GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment