Thursday, September 13, 2012

The Shenoa Report Week 2 '12

-->
The Shenoa Report
September 13, 2012
Regular Season Week 2

Wow, was I wrong. I have a feeling I’ll be saying this from time to time this season. Was it just me, or were you all scratching your head at the end of week one? That famous saying comes to mind “Any team can beat any other team on any given day.” For some of you, like me, you’re just glad that week one is over because your team was less than awesome.  The good news is… it’s only week one!
I’ve been abundantly blessed with some great friends, who have invited me into their home to watch tons of football with them this season! They even designated a special chair for me to sit in “the Shenoa football chair. “ This chair is AMAZING, it’s super comfortable and it has a footrest so I can put my feet up and knit while I watch the games. I’m looking forward to many Sunday’s spent with the Ginn family!
Here are some Week One fun facts. Home field advantage could not help 7 teams in their home openers!  There were 5 Rookie QBs starting this season, only one won their first NFL game, the other rookie QB’s threw at least 1 interception some threw 3 and one threw 4.
Let’s recap.

WEEK 1

Cowboys @ New York Giants 24-17
My heart sank at the end of this game. If it wasn’t bad enough losing the first game after our Super Bowl win, to lose to the Cowboys was almost unbearable. We were simply outplayed. Our defense was lacking, as was our offense. Cruz couldn’t catch a ball to save a life and I really started to miss Brandon Jacobs. I’m sure TC will have the Tiki talk with rookie RB Wilson. This was just an ugly loss (not than any losses are pretty).  I hate to say it but the Cowboys looked decent, though I’m not panicking yet.  On a good note, Manning didn’t throw an interception. Still love you Big Blue!

Falcons @ Chiefs 40-24
This really wasn’t a big surprise.  The Chiefs were no match for Matt Ryan and the Falcons.  Looks like the Giants weren’t the only ones who lost their home opener.

Redskins @ Saints 40-32
I actually watched this game and couldn’t believe what I saw. I was absolutely sure that the Saints would stomp the Redskins. I couldn’t have been more wrong.  RG3 looked solid in his NFL début and Drew Brees looked more like the rookie. If the Redskins continue to play at this caliber the Giants are in trouble and if the Saints continue to play this way they won’t be making the post season. Maybe the Saints really aren’t the same without their head coach.

Eagles @ Browns 17-16
Holy crap the Browns almost won! But they couldn’t pull it off in the end. This was an ugly, ugly game.  The Browns rookie QB Weeden threw 4 interceptions and had no touchdowns. Vick, as a veteran, also had 4 interceptions but had 2 TDs. Cleveland’s defense actually looked good but it was their offense that couldn’t get the job done. Poor Brownies.

Rams @ Lions 23-27
The Lions pulled off this win by the hair on their chinny chin chin! This could have been an easier win had Lion’s QB Stafford not thrown 3 interceptions. I mean the guy had 355 yards and one TD.  The Rams played like, well the Rams and came up with a loss.

Colts @ Bears 21-41
The slogan last year in the league was “Suck for Luck” because everyone knew that Andrew Luck was going to go #1 overall in the draft. We also know that the Colts came in dead last getting the first pick of the draft. This year’s slogan for the Colts could be “Suck with Luck” after the outcome of this game. I wonder how Jim Irsay, the owner of the Colts, feels now. Luck had 1 TD and 3 interceptions in his NFL debut and the Colts continue to lose. I suppose this is what happens when you get rid of your ENTIRE team and start all over again.  I’m a little bit bitter. On the other hand, the Bears looked pretty legit in their home opener. 

Patriots @ Titans 34-13
I was actually in TN this past weekend and thought it would be pretty awesome for the Titans to beat the Pats in their home opener. Obviously this didn’t happen. My cousin Abby is a diehard TN fan so she’ll be glad to know that now that I’m not a Colts fan anymore I’ll be able to root for her Titans more. The Pat’s rearranged the Titans on the field BUT the Titans rearranged Tom Brady’s face, and we all know how I feel about that.

Dolphins @ Texans 10-30
Dolphins rookie QB Tannehill didn’t have any TDs but had 3 interceptions. This game was almost as ugly as the Browns Eagles game. My heart goes out to all the Dolphins fans, it looks like it’s going to be a long season for them.

Bills @ Jets 28-48
My mom picked the Jets to win this game and she was right. My uncle and I couldn’t have been any more incorrect. After watching the Bills opening game I think I’m going to have to rethink my preseason picks. It’s looking like a long season for those Bills fans out there too. At one point during the game I talked with said uncle and he told me he was driving and asked what the score was. I told him “you don’t want to know,” at that point I think the score was 7-41.  So I guess the Bills “came back”  but it was a little too late. Sanchez has to be feeling pretty good right now. He played the entire game and Tebow wasn’t even a substory.

Jaguars @ Vikings 23-26 OT
Well we’ve had our first overtime with the new rules. If the game goes into OT and the first team scores a field goal the other team then gets a chance to have the ball. If they don’t score the game is over. And that’s what happened in this game. Vikings got the ball first in OT, marched down the field and scored a field goal. The Jags then got the ball but couldn’t score so the game was over. Adrian Peterson is back and had a strong game with 2 rushing touchdowns for the Vikings. Maurice Jones-Drew didn’t do as much as Jacksonville had hoped for with no rushing touchdowns.

49ers @ Packers 30-22
Well I was wrong, crazy to think that the Packers would lose their home opener. I think the best play of this game was a 63-yard David Akers field goal.  Aaron Rodgers only had 2 touchdowns and threw one interception. Alex Smith had a solid game with 2 TDs and no interceptions, one of his TD passes went to Randy Moss who retired last year… hmmmmm blah blah blah Brett Favre blah blah blah…

Panthers @ Buccaneers 10-16
I was surprised to see the Bucs do so well. No really, I was surprised. I thought that this would be an easy win for the Panthers, a good way to start off the season. But a different Tampa Bay team showed up. The Panthers were simply outplayed; I hope they get it together soon because the air is simply lighter in the Carolinas when the Panthers win.

Seahawks @ Cardinals 16-20
Ironically it was Arizona’s QB Kolb not Skelton who was at center for the game winning drive. Seattle should have won this game. The replacement refs even gave them an extra time out and they still couldn’t pull off the win.

Steelers @ Broncos 19-31
This game was AWESOME! Peyton was definitely on point! He picked Pittsburgh’s defense apart time and time again. He got knocked down a few times but bounced back. It was sooooo good to watch him play again even if it wasn’t for the Colts. I might actually have to invest in a new Peyton Manning Broncos jersey. I was very impressed. Denver’s defense was also solid. Tracy Porter picked off one of Roethlisberger’s passes and returned it for a TD in the 4th quarter. On the Steelers final drive Roethlisberger was sacked 3 out of the 4 downs. It was fantastic!  

Bengals @ Ravens 13-44
This was a close game in the first half but then the Ravens ran away with the win in the second.

Chargers @ Raiders 22-14
Despite home field advantage and crazy fans the Raiders couldn’t find the win in their home opener.

I didn’t do as well as I had hoped in week one. My picks – 9-7 hopefully I’ll do better in week 2.

WEEK 2
Thursday September 13th

Bears  [1-0] @ Packers  [0-1] (8:20 NFLN)
I’m thinking that the Packers are going to bounce back and take the win in week 2.

Sunday September 16th

Chiefs [0-1]  @ Bills [0-1] (1pm CBS)
My mom, uncle, and I all picked the Bills to win this game. Now I’m not so sure.  I’ll give the Bills another shot and pick them to win over the Chiefs… This may be the last time.

Raiders [0-1]  @ Dolphins [0-1]   (1pm CBS)
I think I’m going to have to pick the Raiders.

Texans [1-0] @ Jaguars [0-1]  (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Texans

Browns [0-1] @ Bengals [0-1]  (1pm CBS)
The Browns have a great defense but until the offense gets better I don’t know how successful they’ll be. The Bengals are coming off a short week though so that might help the Browns. I guess I’ll pick the Browns to win. Gutsy I know!

Ravens [1-0] @ Eagles [1-0]  (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Ravens for the win. I’m sure it’ll be one of those “Angry Birds” games.

Buccaneers [1-0]  @ New York Giants [0-1]  (1pm FOX)
The Giants are going to bounce back after that sad pathetic loss to open the season. Cruz is going to catch the balls thrown to him and the defense is going to be stellar. The Giants will win at home. Go GMEN!!!!

Saints [0-1]  @ Panthers [0-1] (1pm FOX)
The Saints should get their first win of the season. I’d like to have more faith in the Panthers but they continuously make stupid mistakes that cost them the game. I’m picking the Saints to win.

Cardinals [1-0]  @ Patriots [1-0]   (1pm FOX)
The Pats have this win.

Vikings [1-0]  @ Colts [0-1]  (1pm FOX)
I’m going with the Vikings.

Redskins [1-0]   @ Rams [0-1] (4:05pm FOX)
As much as I hate to say it I’m picking the Redskins.

Cowboys [1-0]  @ Seahawks [0-1] (4:05pm FOX)
I’m hoping the Cowboys first win was just a fluke. I’d like to see the Seahawks win (obviously) but I’d have to pick the Cowboys to win this game. No, I’m not happy about it.

Jets [1-0] @ Steelers [0-1]  (4:25pm CBS)
The questions is, are the Steelers as bad as the Bills? Lets hope so. I don’t think that the Jets can win two in a row so I’ll have to pick the Steelers. This is another game that I’m hoping I’m wrong.

Titans [0-1]  @ Chargers [1-0]  (4:25pm CBS)
I’m going with the Chargers. Sorry Abby.

Lions [1-0]  @ 49ers [1-0] (8:20pm NBC)
This is the famous handshake game. I’m picking the 49ers to win.

Monday September 17th

Broncos [1-0] @ Falcons [1-0]  (8:30pm ESPN)
I’m going with the Peyton Manning led Broncos!

Thanks for the edit MOM!

Happy football watching to you and yours!

GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!





No comments:

Post a Comment