Thursday, September 27, 2012

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 4 '12


The Shenoa Report
September 27th
Regular Season Week 4

The NFL and NFLRA have reached a deal and the real refs are back to work, just in time for Thursday Night Football. This is a very good thing because the replacement refs needed to go. They were the punch line to a really bad joke. Players were getting hurt, coaches got fined, and teams that should have won have lost mostly because of the calls (or no call) of the replacement refs. I know we like to complain about bad calls throughout the football season with the regular refs but this was absurd.
I’ve also seemed to lose my ability to pick winners correctly, 6-10 for week three. Ouch. I’ll blame the replacement refs for that too.  
Let’s recap week 3.


NY Giants @ Panthers 36-7
This game was AWESOME!!!! It was really like a home game for the Giants. I’ve seen the Giants play a couple of times live but it was always the preseason, and they had always lost so I was a little nervous to watch this game live.
My nervousness soon went away when the Giants marched down the field on their first possession and scored a TD. On their second possession they marched down and scored a field goal.  On their third possession another touchdown and on their forth possession another field goal. In the first half the Giants were up 20-0. I leaned over and told my friend Matt that most of the Panthers fans would leave after half time if things didn’t change for them on the field. He didn’t believe me.
The third quarter opened up with a Panthers fumble recovered by the Giants at the Panthers 19 yard line. Then came the mass exodus of Panthers fans leaving the stadium. Another Lawrence Tynes field goal followed. 
The Panthers did get the ball back and drove down the field and finally scored a touchdown on a Cam Newton one-yard leap into the endzone. But that was the only time they would score all night.
The Giants got the ball back and put more points on the board. In the 4th quarter there were mostly Giants fans left in the stadium and you could hear the fans chant “LETS GO GIANTS” over and over again. It was a great game for me and fellow giants fans that night, but a horrible game for the Panthers. And even though I’m a Giants fan I felt sorry for Carolina because when the team really needed their support to rally the fans had already left the stadium to drown their sorrows. I cannot tolerate fair-weather fans.  The Giants had a phenomenal night. We were injury ridden, coming off a short week, and still dominated on offence and defense. Manning had an awesome game, a few throws got away from them but thankfully they got away from the Panthers defense too. Andre Brown had a hell of game, showing us all that its ok that Bradshaw is out for a little bit. Our defense picked off Cam 3 times and even sacked him a couple of times, and Cam is a big boy. And our kicker, Tynes had 20 pts this game.
I asked for an easy win and got it. Thanks boys! So glad you came to town to play.



Jaguars  @ Colts 22-17
I was wrong the Jags get their first win of the season.

Bills @ Browns 24-14
There is a correction from last week. My uncle and I picked the Bills to win this game but my mom picked the Browns. I had us all picking the Bills.  I guess two of us were right.

Jets @ Dolphins 23-20 OT
The Jets won the game in overtime but lost Corner Back, Darrelle Revis in the process. Revis tore his ACL and is out for the rest of the season.

Chiefs  @ Saints 27-24 OT
I didn’t think anyone could look worse than the Chiefs but the Saints showed me I was wrong.

Bengals @ Redskins 38-31
I watched about 30 seconds of this game while walking through a bar/grill in Charleston SC. Instead of watching where I was going I was watching the screen and ran right into a table. Darn football, making me look like a fool. At least the Redskins lost, I’d walk into a table again if the same outcome would happen with Washington.

Buccaneers @ Cowboys 10-16
I was wrong again. Cowboys win. Booooooooooooooooo. The end.

Rams @ Bears 6-23
It seemed to be a battle of the least interceptions. Cutler had one but Bradford had two and so won the Bears.

49ers @ Vikings 13-24
Holy Ponder batman! I never ever would have thought that the Vikings would barrel their way through the 49ers for the win.  Vikings QB Christian Ponder had 3 touchdowns, 2 passing and 1 rushing and had no interceptions. 49ers QB Smith didn’t do as well with 1 touchdown and 1 interception.

Lions @ Titans 41-44 OT
Well the Titans got their first win of the season. They had to get it in overtime, and looking at the score it doesn’t look like the defense on either end was very successful.  

Falcons @ Chargers 27-3
I’m kind of surprised that the Chargers got stomped at home. Philip Rivers had a horrible day throwing 2 interceptions while Matt Ryan had an amazing day throwing 3 touchdowns and only one interception.

Eagles @ Cardinals 6-27
Hey, hey, hey. I knew it was only a matter of time that the Eagles couldn’t win by one point.  It’s the first game Vick didn’t throw an interception but he did fumble the ball two times and had no touchdowns. Are the Cards legit? It’s beginning to look like it.

Steelers @ Raiders 31-34
Not even a little bit sad that I picked this game wrong. Way to go Raiders!

Texans @ Broncos 31-25
Houston is for real. The Broncos were simply outplayed. Again.

Patriots @ Ravens 30-31
Pretty stoked about this win. It was like the playoff game last season, but with the correct outcome.  And Bill Belichick was fined $50,000 for “impermissible physical contact with an official”

Packers @ Seahawks 12-14
I don’t even know where to start with this game. Only if you live under a rock you haven’t heard about the ending to this game. My favorite headline to explain the end was “ Seattle’s quarterback Russell Wilson throws game winning interception.” There were so many bad calls and missed calls in this game it was ridiculous.
Seattle played really good defense and the QB Wilson was fun to watch because he’s so short but still able to make plays. I mean the kid is only 5’10”. If you haven’t watched him yet you should check out a Seahawks game. 
Green Bay didn’t have a good night and it was unfortunate that the outcome of the game came down to the last play. Yes, if the last play had been called different the Packers would have won, but even then they would have been just squeezing out a win.




WEEK 4

Thursday September 27th

Browns [0-3]  @ Baltimore [2-1] (8:20pm NFLN)
I’m going to pick Baltimore to win this game.

Sunday September 30th

Patriots [1-2] @ Bills [2-1] (1pm CBS)
My uncle, mom, and I all picked the Patriots to win this game. Although I would like to point out that the Bills do have a better record going in.

Chargers [2-1]   @ Chiefs [1-2]  (1pm CBS)
I’m taking the Chargers.

Titans [1-2]  @ Texans [3-0]   (1pm CBS)
Going with the Texans.

49ers [2-1]   @ Jets [2-1]   (1pm FOX)
I’ve got to take the 49ers.

Seahawks [2-1]   @ Rams [1-2] (1pm FOX)
I’m taking the Seahawks. Remember to watch the short QB. I may start referring to him as Shorty McShorterson.

Panthers [1-2] @ Falcons [3-0]   (1pm FOX)
Sorry Panthers I’m taking the Falcons.

Vikings [2-1]  @ Lions [1-2]  (1pm FOX)
The Lions aren’t looking so great so far. I’d like to pick them to win this game but I’m going to have to go with the Vikings.

Bengals [2-1] @ Jaguars [1-2] (4:05pm CBS)
I’m going with the Bengals.

Raiders [1-2] @ Broncos [1-2] (4:05pm CBS)
I didn’t pick them last week so I’ll pick the Broncos this week.

Dolphins [1-2] @ Cardinals [3-0] (4:05pm CBS)
Taking the Cardinals.

Redskins [1-2]   @ Buccaneers [1-2]  (4:25pm FOX)
I’d love to see the Bucs win this one. Come on Bucs… don’t let me down.

Saints [0-3] @ Packers [1-2] (4:25pm FOX)
I’m taking the Packers.

NY Giants [2-1]  @ Eagles [2-1]   (8:20pm NBC)
Obviously I’m picking the Giants. I will tell you that both my mom and uncle picked the Eagles to win this game.  Another primetime game for Big Blue! LETS GO GMEN!

Monday October 1st

Bears [2-1]   @ Cowboys [2-1]    (8:30pm ESPN)
Man, I hope the Bears stomp the Cowboys at home! I’m taking the Bears to win this game.

BYE WEEK: COLTS, STEELERS


GOOOOOOOOOOOOO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the edit Mom

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

The Shenoa Report Week 3 '12


The Shenoa Report
September 19th
Regular Season Week 3

I know it’s only week 3 but I feel like the football season is flying by… Maybe it’s because of the Thursday night games each week.
I sure do hope that the people who read this report don’t bet money on my picks because you guys would have lost a lot this past week. Seriously, this week was crazier than the first week with the Patriots and Ravens losing what should have been blowout wins and the Rams and Arizona winning when they should have lost miserably. Hopefully my picks will be a lot better this week. I’m pretty stoked because my GMEN are coming to Carolina Thursday night and I will be at that game.  GO GMEN!!!!!!!!
Let’s recap week 2.


Bears  @ Packers 10-23
I was right the Packers were able to bounce back and they did in a big way by picking off Cutler 4 times.

Chiefs  @ Bills 17-35
The Bills also bounced back and crushed the Chiefs so I guess I won’t write them off just yet. Fitzpatrick does a lot better when he throws to his own guys and not the opponents. The Chiefs on the other hand are looking like they could be the worst team in the NFL right now.

Raiders  @ Dolphins 13- 35
The Dolphins definitely looked better this week than week one.  Tannehill seemed much more comfortable in his second NFL game and Reggie Bush had a great day with two rushing touchdowns. The Raiders were doing well in the first half but then fell apart in the second resulting in an embarrassing loss.

Texans @ Jaguars 27-7
The Texans tore up the Jags Sunday afternoon. Although Schaub didn’t throw any TD passes he didn’t turn the ball over either and the Texan RBs had a great day.

Browns  @ Bengals 27-34
Augggh. The Browns lose again. I’ve got to stop picking them to win… then maybe they’ll have a chance. It was a close game and Weeden looked a lot better this week throwing two touchdowns and no interceptions. Andy Dalton had a great day with three touchdown passes and the win.

Ravens @ Eagles 23-24
I’m not happy with the outcome of this game. The Ravens totally should have won. They picked off Vick twice and he seemed inconsolable and ready to throw in the towel.  If I were an Eagles fan (which I am NOT, not even a little bit) I’d be worried. Your boys came up very lucky by winning by 1 point two weeks in a row. Sooner than later they are going to get pounded.

Buccaneers  @ New York Giants 34-41
Dear Lord this was an UGLY game. Thankfully it was a win, but is it too much to ask for an easy win once in awhile. By halftime I was angry enough to punch kittens and I wasn’t even watching the game, I was listening to it. I had thought about calling up a friend and going out to watch the second half but decided I’d better not be in public being as angry as I was. Instead I went home to watch the rest of the game on my computer. Eli had 3 interceptions in the first half and the Bucs, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers were killing my Giants.  I sat down for the second half and began knitting furiously. The 3rd quarter didn’t seem much better except for the fact that Eli didn’t throw any more picks. The defense did play well but the offense couldn’t get the job done in the red-zone and settled for 4 field goals. I was livid. And then came the 4th quarter and the comeback kids led by Eli Manning, or Captain Clutch as I like to call him. With less than 7 minutes left the Giants scored 3 touchdowns, Manning to Cruz with a Brown 2 point conversion, Manning to Bennett, and then Brown had a rushing touchdown with 34 seconds to go.  It was beautiful. To put the icing on the cake Michael Boley intercepted Freemans pass to end the game. Big Blue lined up in victory formation with 5 seconds on the clock and the Bucs ran through the line and knocked down Manning. It was a cheep shot and thankfully no one was hurt. So glad for this Giants win!

Saints  @ Panthers 27-35
I watched the first half of this game and was pretty impressed with the Panthers, not so impressed with the Saints. The Saints are in real big trouble, and the Panthers are on their way up if they can keep it together.

Cardinals  @ Patriots 20-18
So, I have this witty banter going on back and forth with a Pats fan (don’t judge me the guy actually makes me smile sometimes) Anyway, he was giving me a real hard time about the Giants losing to the Cowboys in week one and sarcastically wished me good luck in week 2 saying “if you don’t pull this one out you should be worried.” I retorted with “thanks, but I’d be more worried for you if your team lost though...unlikely I know” Well, we all know the outcome of this game. As unlikely as it was the Pats lost! I then got a text from said Pats fan saying “Ha… I guess I shouldn’t have been talking sh**.”  I just love happy endings.
No one saw this game as a Cards win which makes it that much sweeter. Yes the Pats should have won but they couldn’t make the field goal at the end of the game to finish. Do I feel bad for them or their fans? Not even a little bit.
PS who would have thought the Arizona Cardinals would be one of the few teams starting out this season 2-0?!?!

Vikings @ Colts 20-23
Well I was wrong the Colts were able to pull off their first win of the season at home against the Vikings. Luck didn’t throw any interceptions, which really helped the team. But in the end it was veteran kicker Vinatieri who sealed the Colts win with a 53-yard field goal. Still not jumping on the Colts bandwagon.

Redskins @ Rams 28-31
Sam Bradford and the Rams had a stellar day against the Redskins. It was nice to see RG3 look more human and less superhero-esk for the Giants’ sake. The Redskins could have won the game had their field goal attempt been successful at the end of the game.  

Cowboys @ Seahawks 7-27
YEAH SEAHAWKS!!!!! It was so nice to see 2 teams in the NFC East lose this week! It puts the Giants in a much better position than dead last. I would have loved to watch this game. Romo and the Cowboys only had one successful drive. I wish I could shake the hands of all the Seahawks players. Good job guys. And hats off to Rookie QB Russell Wilson of the Seahawks for a job well done!

Jets @ Steelers 10-27
It was sad to see the Jets back to their pathetic selves. I’m sure in living rooms around the USA you could here TEBOW! TEBOW! TEBOW! At least that’s how it sounded in the living room I watched the game in as I sat in the official “Shenoa football chair.” This game was hard to watch.  After Sanchez fell apart they should have put Tim in permanently. He was able to drive the ball when he was in and I think they would have been much more successful. But what do I know? I’m afraid Rex Ryan doesn’t know that much either.

Titans @ Chargers 10-38
The Chargers looked good against the Titans but that isn’t really a hard thing to do. (Sorry Abby) Chargers TE Rosario had a big game with 3 touchdowns. Did I ever tell you I met him? He’s a real stand up guy.

Lions @ 49ers 19-27
The handshake was friendly and it came at the beginning of the game. The 49ers just played a better ball game, as was expected.

Broncos @ Falcons 21-27
This game was ugly too. Peyton had 3 interceptions in the first quarter and unlike his little brother he couldn’t make a winning comeback at the end of the game. I actually turned the game off at half time because I just couldn’t watch anymore of the suckyness.

Not a good week for picks I went 7-9

WEEK 3

Thursday September 20th

NY Giants [1-1]  @ Panthers [1-1] (8:20pm NFLN)
Thanks to the McConnell’s I will be at this game! I’m going with fellow Giants fan and friend Matt and it’s going to be AWESOME! I also want to apologize to my best bud Kyle for not inviting him to the game. I blew it! Anyway Matt and I have discussed our injury-ridden team and we’re not worried because the Giants always seem to have injuries, and that’s why they are the underdogs.   Sorry Carolina and my many Panthers fan friends I am picking the Giants to win this game. Dear GMEN you have tons of support in Carolina! So win, win, WIN!!!!!

Sunday September 23rd

Jaguars  [0-2] @ Colts [1-1] (1pm CBS)
I’m going to have to pick the Colts at home.

Bills [1-1]   @ Browns [0-2]  (1pm CBS)
My uncle, mom, and I all picked the Bills to win this game so I’m sticking with that pick. Sorry Brownie fans.

Jets [1-1]  @ Dolphins [1-1]   (1pm CBS)
Well if the Jets can get their act together they can beat the Dolphins… I’m going to pick the Jets

Chiefs  [0-2] @ Saints [0-2]  (1pm CBS)
Both teams look horrible but the Chiefs look more horrible so I am going to pick the Saints to have their first win.

Bengals [1-1]  @ Redskins [1-1]   (1pm CBS)
I don’t want them too but I think that the Redskins will win at home.

Buccaneers [1-1]   @ Cowboys [1-1]   (1pm FOX)
I’d love to see the Bucs upset the Cowboys at home. I’m picking the Bucs to win.

Rams [1-1]   @ Bears [1-1] (1pm FOX)
I’ll have to pick the Bears.

49ers [2-0] @ Vikings [1-1]   (1pm FOX)
I’m going with the 49ers

Lions [1-1]  @ Titans [0-2]  (1pm FOX)
I’m picking the Lions, sorry again Abby.

Falcons [2-0] @ Chargers [2-0] (4:05pm FOX)
One of these teams is going to have their first loss of the season. I’m going to pick the Chargers mostly because Atlanta’s Michael Turner shouldn’t be playing after getting a DUI after MNF in their win over Denver.

Eagles [2-0] @ Cardinals [2-0] (4:05pm FOX)
I’d definitely like to see the Cards go 3-0; even more I’d like to see the Eagles lose. Hope the Cardinals can keep up their momentum and good luck. I’m picking the Cards to win.

Steelers [1-1]   @ Raiders [0-2]  (4:25pm CBS)
As much as it pains me I’m picking the Steelers.

Texans [2-0] @ Broncos [1-1] (4:25pm CBS)
I love you Peyton but I’m going to have to pick the Texans.

Patriots [1-1]  @ Ravens [1-1]   (8:20pm NBC)
Man I hope the Ravens pull off this win but it wouldn’t surprise me at all if the Pats won… I’ll have to pick the Patriots to win.

Monday September 24th

Packers [1-1]   @ Seahawks [1-1]    (8:30pm ESPN)
I’d love to see the Seahawks win but I don’t think it’s very likely. I’m going with the Packers to win.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the edit Mom!

Thursday, September 13, 2012

The Shenoa Report Week 2 '12

-->
The Shenoa Report
September 13, 2012
Regular Season Week 2

Wow, was I wrong. I have a feeling I’ll be saying this from time to time this season. Was it just me, or were you all scratching your head at the end of week one? That famous saying comes to mind “Any team can beat any other team on any given day.” For some of you, like me, you’re just glad that week one is over because your team was less than awesome.  The good news is… it’s only week one!
I’ve been abundantly blessed with some great friends, who have invited me into their home to watch tons of football with them this season! They even designated a special chair for me to sit in “the Shenoa football chair. “ This chair is AMAZING, it’s super comfortable and it has a footrest so I can put my feet up and knit while I watch the games. I’m looking forward to many Sunday’s spent with the Ginn family!
Here are some Week One fun facts. Home field advantage could not help 7 teams in their home openers!  There were 5 Rookie QBs starting this season, only one won their first NFL game, the other rookie QB’s threw at least 1 interception some threw 3 and one threw 4.
Let’s recap.

WEEK 1

Cowboys @ New York Giants 24-17
My heart sank at the end of this game. If it wasn’t bad enough losing the first game after our Super Bowl win, to lose to the Cowboys was almost unbearable. We were simply outplayed. Our defense was lacking, as was our offense. Cruz couldn’t catch a ball to save a life and I really started to miss Brandon Jacobs. I’m sure TC will have the Tiki talk with rookie RB Wilson. This was just an ugly loss (not than any losses are pretty).  I hate to say it but the Cowboys looked decent, though I’m not panicking yet.  On a good note, Manning didn’t throw an interception. Still love you Big Blue!

Falcons @ Chiefs 40-24
This really wasn’t a big surprise.  The Chiefs were no match for Matt Ryan and the Falcons.  Looks like the Giants weren’t the only ones who lost their home opener.

Redskins @ Saints 40-32
I actually watched this game and couldn’t believe what I saw. I was absolutely sure that the Saints would stomp the Redskins. I couldn’t have been more wrong.  RG3 looked solid in his NFL début and Drew Brees looked more like the rookie. If the Redskins continue to play at this caliber the Giants are in trouble and if the Saints continue to play this way they won’t be making the post season. Maybe the Saints really aren’t the same without their head coach.

Eagles @ Browns 17-16
Holy crap the Browns almost won! But they couldn’t pull it off in the end. This was an ugly, ugly game.  The Browns rookie QB Weeden threw 4 interceptions and had no touchdowns. Vick, as a veteran, also had 4 interceptions but had 2 TDs. Cleveland’s defense actually looked good but it was their offense that couldn’t get the job done. Poor Brownies.

Rams @ Lions 23-27
The Lions pulled off this win by the hair on their chinny chin chin! This could have been an easier win had Lion’s QB Stafford not thrown 3 interceptions. I mean the guy had 355 yards and one TD.  The Rams played like, well the Rams and came up with a loss.

Colts @ Bears 21-41
The slogan last year in the league was “Suck for Luck” because everyone knew that Andrew Luck was going to go #1 overall in the draft. We also know that the Colts came in dead last getting the first pick of the draft. This year’s slogan for the Colts could be “Suck with Luck” after the outcome of this game. I wonder how Jim Irsay, the owner of the Colts, feels now. Luck had 1 TD and 3 interceptions in his NFL debut and the Colts continue to lose. I suppose this is what happens when you get rid of your ENTIRE team and start all over again.  I’m a little bit bitter. On the other hand, the Bears looked pretty legit in their home opener. 

Patriots @ Titans 34-13
I was actually in TN this past weekend and thought it would be pretty awesome for the Titans to beat the Pats in their home opener. Obviously this didn’t happen. My cousin Abby is a diehard TN fan so she’ll be glad to know that now that I’m not a Colts fan anymore I’ll be able to root for her Titans more. The Pat’s rearranged the Titans on the field BUT the Titans rearranged Tom Brady’s face, and we all know how I feel about that.

Dolphins @ Texans 10-30
Dolphins rookie QB Tannehill didn’t have any TDs but had 3 interceptions. This game was almost as ugly as the Browns Eagles game. My heart goes out to all the Dolphins fans, it looks like it’s going to be a long season for them.

Bills @ Jets 28-48
My mom picked the Jets to win this game and she was right. My uncle and I couldn’t have been any more incorrect. After watching the Bills opening game I think I’m going to have to rethink my preseason picks. It’s looking like a long season for those Bills fans out there too. At one point during the game I talked with said uncle and he told me he was driving and asked what the score was. I told him “you don’t want to know,” at that point I think the score was 7-41.  So I guess the Bills “came back”  but it was a little too late. Sanchez has to be feeling pretty good right now. He played the entire game and Tebow wasn’t even a substory.

Jaguars @ Vikings 23-26 OT
Well we’ve had our first overtime with the new rules. If the game goes into OT and the first team scores a field goal the other team then gets a chance to have the ball. If they don’t score the game is over. And that’s what happened in this game. Vikings got the ball first in OT, marched down the field and scored a field goal. The Jags then got the ball but couldn’t score so the game was over. Adrian Peterson is back and had a strong game with 2 rushing touchdowns for the Vikings. Maurice Jones-Drew didn’t do as much as Jacksonville had hoped for with no rushing touchdowns.

49ers @ Packers 30-22
Well I was wrong, crazy to think that the Packers would lose their home opener. I think the best play of this game was a 63-yard David Akers field goal.  Aaron Rodgers only had 2 touchdowns and threw one interception. Alex Smith had a solid game with 2 TDs and no interceptions, one of his TD passes went to Randy Moss who retired last year… hmmmmm blah blah blah Brett Favre blah blah blah…

Panthers @ Buccaneers 10-16
I was surprised to see the Bucs do so well. No really, I was surprised. I thought that this would be an easy win for the Panthers, a good way to start off the season. But a different Tampa Bay team showed up. The Panthers were simply outplayed; I hope they get it together soon because the air is simply lighter in the Carolinas when the Panthers win.

Seahawks @ Cardinals 16-20
Ironically it was Arizona’s QB Kolb not Skelton who was at center for the game winning drive. Seattle should have won this game. The replacement refs even gave them an extra time out and they still couldn’t pull off the win.

Steelers @ Broncos 19-31
This game was AWESOME! Peyton was definitely on point! He picked Pittsburgh’s defense apart time and time again. He got knocked down a few times but bounced back. It was sooooo good to watch him play again even if it wasn’t for the Colts. I might actually have to invest in a new Peyton Manning Broncos jersey. I was very impressed. Denver’s defense was also solid. Tracy Porter picked off one of Roethlisberger’s passes and returned it for a TD in the 4th quarter. On the Steelers final drive Roethlisberger was sacked 3 out of the 4 downs. It was fantastic!  

Bengals @ Ravens 13-44
This was a close game in the first half but then the Ravens ran away with the win in the second.

Chargers @ Raiders 22-14
Despite home field advantage and crazy fans the Raiders couldn’t find the win in their home opener.

I didn’t do as well as I had hoped in week one. My picks – 9-7 hopefully I’ll do better in week 2.

WEEK 2
Thursday September 13th

Bears  [1-0] @ Packers  [0-1] (8:20 NFLN)
I’m thinking that the Packers are going to bounce back and take the win in week 2.

Sunday September 16th

Chiefs [0-1]  @ Bills [0-1] (1pm CBS)
My mom, uncle, and I all picked the Bills to win this game. Now I’m not so sure.  I’ll give the Bills another shot and pick them to win over the Chiefs… This may be the last time.

Raiders [0-1]  @ Dolphins [0-1]   (1pm CBS)
I think I’m going to have to pick the Raiders.

Texans [1-0] @ Jaguars [0-1]  (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Texans

Browns [0-1] @ Bengals [0-1]  (1pm CBS)
The Browns have a great defense but until the offense gets better I don’t know how successful they’ll be. The Bengals are coming off a short week though so that might help the Browns. I guess I’ll pick the Browns to win. Gutsy I know!

Ravens [1-0] @ Eagles [1-0]  (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Ravens for the win. I’m sure it’ll be one of those “Angry Birds” games.

Buccaneers [1-0]  @ New York Giants [0-1]  (1pm FOX)
The Giants are going to bounce back after that sad pathetic loss to open the season. Cruz is going to catch the balls thrown to him and the defense is going to be stellar. The Giants will win at home. Go GMEN!!!!

Saints [0-1]  @ Panthers [0-1] (1pm FOX)
The Saints should get their first win of the season. I’d like to have more faith in the Panthers but they continuously make stupid mistakes that cost them the game. I’m picking the Saints to win.

Cardinals [1-0]  @ Patriots [1-0]   (1pm FOX)
The Pats have this win.

Vikings [1-0]  @ Colts [0-1]  (1pm FOX)
I’m going with the Vikings.

Redskins [1-0]   @ Rams [0-1] (4:05pm FOX)
As much as I hate to say it I’m picking the Redskins.

Cowboys [1-0]  @ Seahawks [0-1] (4:05pm FOX)
I’m hoping the Cowboys first win was just a fluke. I’d like to see the Seahawks win (obviously) but I’d have to pick the Cowboys to win this game. No, I’m not happy about it.

Jets [1-0] @ Steelers [0-1]  (4:25pm CBS)
The questions is, are the Steelers as bad as the Bills? Lets hope so. I don’t think that the Jets can win two in a row so I’ll have to pick the Steelers. This is another game that I’m hoping I’m wrong.

Titans [0-1]  @ Chargers [1-0]  (4:25pm CBS)
I’m going with the Chargers. Sorry Abby.

Lions [1-0]  @ 49ers [1-0] (8:20pm NBC)
This is the famous handshake game. I’m picking the 49ers to win.

Monday September 17th

Broncos [1-0] @ Falcons [1-0]  (8:30pm ESPN)
I’m going with the Peyton Manning led Broncos!

Thanks for the edit MOM!

Happy football watching to you and yours!

GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!





Saturday, September 1, 2012

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 1 '12


The Shenoa Report
September 2, 2012
Regular Season Week 1

It’s that time again! I missed writing about football almost as much as I missed watching it! Welcome back to another season of the Shenoa Report! It’s good to be back. If you are a first time reader, welcome! I started this blog two years ago after a number of people asked me for my opinion on football and what teams they should root for.  Please know that I am bias, and know that this is just my opinion! Enjoy!

First things first… HOW ‘BOUT THOSE NEW YORK FOOTBALL GIANTS!!!!!!!!!!!!! World Champions again! I’m not gonna lie, Sunday February 5, 2012 was one of the best nights of my life, right up there with Sunday February 3, 2008.

Let’s relive some of the highlights shall we. (I still get goosebumps thinking about this amazing game) So our first score came on the first play of the game, a Brady Safety! 2 points for the GMEN.
Then Manning to CRUUUUUUUUUUZZZZZZ for 6!
…Then the Pats had 17 unanswered points… no worries though we all know how it ends.
Big Blue scores a field goal.  
Tuck gets to Brady and then a little bit later Brady throws a beautiful INTERCEPTION!
The Giants get the ball, move it down the field but don’t capitalize.
Brady gets the ball back throws it DEEP down the field to a wide open Welker and HE DROPS IT!
The Giants get the ball back. Belichick say’s “Make him throw it to Manningham.  Manning connects with Manningham (almost as poetic as the David Tyree catch). On the same drive Bradshaw falls into the end zone and the New York Giants win the Super Bowl 21-17!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOT WOOOOOOT GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Of course Brady tries to make a comeback in the final minutes and throws a “hail Mary” with 6 seconds left only to come up with a Super Bowl loss.

Because football had to end for the season a Giant’s win was the best outcome in my opinion.

Now for the off-season, and I usually don’t have much to say about the offseason except that Brett Favre is still retired. But not this offseason, a whole lot of stuff happened this offseason. Now, I’m not going to cover everything, I’ll just give you a taste so that when you turn the game on this fall you’re not wondering why Peyton is wearing orange and why Tebow is wearing Green.
Peyton Manning was traded from the Colts to the Broncos, so apparently he’s still a horse. Tim Tebow was traded from the Broncos to the Jets, I’m afraid NY is going to eat him up (not in a good way) OchoCinco went back to Chad Johnson and got kicked out of the NFL so you won’t be seeing his ridiculousness around anytime soon.  T. O. got cut by the Seahawks, ouch. Mario Manningham and Brandon Jacobs left the Giants and went to the 49ers. The entire Colts organization scattered, they have a new head coach, QB, Center, … basically a whole new team with Andrew Luck as their new QB.
What else? Oh yes, the Saints are in really hot water with the whole bounty scandal.  Sean Payton, their head coach, was suspended without pay for this entire season.  Hines Ward retired from the Steelers. Annnnnnd the NFL Referees are currently in a Lockout that will not be resolved before the beginning of regular season.

I haven’t decided whether or not I’ll be playing fantasy football this season, I picked up a second job in the off season and I still want to write this blog but I don’t think I can do 2 jobs, blog, and fantasy… we’ll see.

I went to visit my family in NY this summer and my uncle and I got to talk about football. He is a diehard Bills fan (bless his heart) so we decided to do picks for the Bills and the Giants for the regular season. My mom also made her picks too, feeling like she’s learned a little bit about football since editing the Shenoa Report for the past 2 years. Anyway, My uncle has picked the Bills to go 10 and 6, I’ve picked them to go 8-8, and my mom picked them to go 7-9.  He’s picked the Giants to go 10-8, I’ve picked them to go 13-3, and my mom picked them to go 12-4.  I love my family, and obviously I love the Giants.

Speaking of the Giants, they are going to be kicking off the regular season against the Dallas Cowboys. Note the special time and date, it’s a Wednesday night folks.


WEEK 1!

Wednesday September 5th

Cowboys @ New York Giants (8:30pm NBC)
Obviously I’m picking the Giants to win their home opener. My mom and Uncle Steve also picked the Giants to win this game. GO GMEN!!!!!!

Sunday September 9th

Falcons @ Chiefs (1pm FOX)
Going with the Falcons

Redskins @ Saints (1pm FOX)
I’m taking the Saints just because Drew Brees has more experience than RG3

Eagles @ Browns (1pm FOX)
I’d LOVE to see the Browns win but I’ll have to pick the Eagles

Rams @ Lions (1pm FOX)
I’ll take the Lions

Colts @ Bears (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Bears only because I don’t have much faith in the Colts anymore.

Patriots @ Titans (1pm CBS)
I’d like to see the Titans win but I’m going to have to pick the Pats

Dolphins @ Texans (1pm CBS)
I’ll take the Texans

Bills @ Jets (1pm CBS)
Well when I made my preseason picks with my uncle this summer I picked the Bills to win this game he did as well. My mom picked the Jets to win… lets see who will be right.

Jaguars @ Vikings (1pm CBS)
Hmmmmmm I’ll go with the Vikings.

49ers @ Packers (4:25pm FOX)
This should be a decent game. I’m going to take the Packers

Panthers @ Buccaneers (4:25pm FOX)
I’m picking the Panthers…. Mostly because I live in Charlotte.

Seahawks @ Cardinals (4:25pm FOX)
The little chip on my shoulder doesn’t want the Cardinals to win and my brother just moved to Tacoma Washington soooo… if I had to pick a winner in this game I’d like to see the Seahawks win so, with my crazy pick of the week I’m picking the Seahawks.

Steelers @ Broncos (8:20pm NBC)
Peyton, I’m picking your team to win. Make me happy.

Monday September 10th

Bengals @ Ravens (7pm ESPN)
I’ll take the Ravens

Chargers @ Raiders (10:15pm ESPN)
I like the Raiders

And there you have it. ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL?!?!

Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!
GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!