The Shenoa Report
January 8, 2011
Post Season
Wild Card
So we are now into the post season and I am back in Charlotte North Carolina. Last week was tough. Why couldn’t the Bears have won?!?! Oh well… lets recap week 17…
Carolina @ Atlanta 10-31
Well at least it wasn’t a shut out… but really did you honestly think that the Panthers would get more than 2 wins this season. I mean even Mr. Andrew Luck himself has decided to stay another year at Stanford to dodge the Panther’s first round draft pick.
Cincinnati @ Baltimore 7-13
With this win Baltimore will enter the playoffs with a four-game winning streak and Cincinnati will just go home. Is anyone surprised by this outcome?… I didn’t think so.
Pittsburgh @ Cleveland 41-9
Well Cleveland couldn’t upset the Steelers but the Steelers sure did upset the Browns. Ouch.
Minnesota @ Detroit 13-20
YAY FOR THIS BEING FAVRE’S LAST GAME EVER!!!!!!! Brett, please, please, please make like Barry Sanders and just disappear from our lives. Thanks. And for all you other big time NFL players I hope you don’t follow in his footsteps but rather when its time to leave just leave. Let this be a lesson in learning what the wrong thing is to do. Don’t retire then come back, then retire, then come back to your rival team of 15 plus seasons, then retire again only to come back and have your name and legacy dragged through the mud. To put it in perspective it would be like Tom Brady going to play for the Colts or Giants. Or like Derek Jeter going to play for the Red Socks, or like Michael Jordon going to play for the Lakers. It makes you sick to your stomach doesn’t it? Detroit, you played well this season far better than in season’s past. I predict that you’ll win more than 6 next season. High five to you for not being the joke of the NFL anymore.
Oakland @ Kansas City 31-10
The Raiders went 6-0 sweeping their division this season and didn’t make the playoffs. They finished 8-8, which is a better record than one team that has made the playoffs. Is it safe to say Oakland is on the up and up? I still think KC’s winning season is a fluke sorry KC fans.
Miami @ New England 7-38
So the Patriots win… Shocker! At least we don’t have to watch them play this weekend…
Tampa Bay @ New Orleans 23-13
The thing with the playoffs is it’s pretty crappy when you don’t control your own destiny. Tampa Bay won their game but it wasn’t enough to make the playoffs because they needed Green Bay, the Giants, and Atlanta to lose and all 3 teams won. But the Bucs did upset the Saints at home and now New Orleans won’t have home field advantage throughout the playoffs. Way to finish strong Tampa Bay.
Buffalo @ New York Jets 7-38
Buffalo proved to be the last place team that they are in their division last Sunday and the Jets showed no mercy. I really hope Buffalo has a better season next year for the sake of all those Buffalo fans out there. And mad props go out to Mark Sanchez for what he has done off the field in regards to befriending Aiden Binkley, a boy 11 years old who recently passed away after a long fight with cancer. If you are going to make the headlines let it be for the good things you do in life; there are far too many idiots in the NFL making headlines for the wrong reasons.
San Diego @ Denver 33-28
This season will be one in which Denver will want to soon forget. It’s their worst season in franchise history. If not for Tebow there wouldn’t be much good to write about at all this season. I’m not going to lie though I’m glad that the Chargers didn’t make the playoffs even though they weren’t great this season they always seem to crush the Colts hopes in the post season. So thanks San Diego you stay classy.
Chicago @ Green Bay 3-10
Here’s the story. I’m driving back from Delaware to my home in North Carolina last Sunday and I’ve got this game, the Giants game, and the Colts game on the radio and I’m switching back and forth. It was an exhausting tough week for me personally so when I heard that Cutler threw that last interception to end the game my eyes welled up with tears and the crying started again. My Giants had missed the playoffs.
But you’ve got to hand it to Chicago, they had nothing to play for really and they still held the Packers to just two scores. It was an intense game especially for Giants fans.
Jacksonville @ Houston 17-34
While listening to the Colts game I heard that Houston beat Jacksonville so even if the Colts lost they had still made the playoffs. Thanks Houston for helping out the Colts. I was pretty surprised that Jacksonville had lost the game but happy all the same.
Tennessee @ Indianapolis 20-23
Adam Vinatieri is one clutch player making a 43-yard field goal as time expired to win the game. This win coupled with the KC loss puts the Colts into the number 3 seed. Way to go Colts I’m glad that at least one of my teams has made it to the post season. But seriously boys you need to step up your defense before heading into the game next week if you want to go forward in the playoffs. I mean you were tied most of the game with Tennessee who has lost eight of their last nine games. Don’t worry I still love you.
Dallas @ Philadelphia 14-13
It’s always nice to see the Eagles loose… Thanks Dallas for the small victory even though it really means nothing.
Arizona @ San Francisco 7-38
Congratulations Arizona for finishing very last in your division. Crazy to think that just two years ago you were heading to the superbowl. San Francisco has a lot to be happy about with getting Stanford’s head coach Jim Harbaugh to be their new head coach. Harbaugh may have just what the 49ers need to get back on their feet, but who is going to help the Cardinals get back on theirs?
New York Giants @ Washington 17-14
The Giants played a fantastic game and finished their season on a strong note. My dad called me after the Manning Manningham touch down pass to see if I was still on the road. I told him it was pretty exciting and I had driven through the TD with out causing an accident. Anyone on the road must have known I was listening to the game with the huge ny sticker on the back of my Jimmy. I even got a couple of thumbs up (I’m assuming from said sticker) on the drive home. After hearing of the Packers win I started yelling at the radio “FINISH STRONG GMEN! YOU FINISH STRONG!” as tears ran down my cheeks. And that’s just what they did. Osi had a remarkable game along with the rest of the defense. Next year will be even better for our boys. I am very happy that Coughlin is still our coach and more importantly that John Fox isn’t. The Giants finished their season tied with the Eagles at 10-6. I’m proud of you guys and I can’t wait till next season… I’m still waiting for my Manningbowl. PS it was pretty fun driving through the DC area with all the Redskins flags flying knowing they didn’t have a chance with the New York Football Giants in town.
Saint Louis @ Seattle 6-16
Seattle is going to the playoffs with a losing record of 7-9… that’s just not right. How do we fix this? Not only do the Seahawks make it to the playoffs with this record they also get the title of the NFC West Champions. Once again I must say that this division is a joke. It makes me a little sick that the Giants and the Bucs miss the playoffs with double digit wins while Seattle makes it. Both the Giants and Bucs killed the Seahawks in the regular season. Arg.
And that’s the last recap of the regular season. Now we move ahead to the wild card weekend. We’ve got two games on Saturday and two games on Sunday. PS I already miss Monday night football...
WILD CARD WEEKEND
New Orleans @ Seattle
Alright, if New Orleans can’t beat Seattle I will have lost all faith in the Saints… (pun intended) Seriously, I don’t think Seattle belongs here anyway… but I’m a little sour still because the Giants didn’t make the playoffs with a WAY BETTER RECORD.
New York Jets @ Indianapolis
I’ve got to take the Colts. Don’t let me down boys! We seem to have the advantage with clutch players like Manning, Wayne, Freeney, and Vinatieri. Let Rex Ryan run his mouth it did him a lot of good after the loss to the Patriots…
Baltimore @ Kansas City
I’m going with Baltimore this game. Why? Why not?! I still don’t think KC is that great and I know Baltimore is. The Ravens have a great defense in comparison to KC and I think they are just a better team.
Green Bay @ Philadelphia
The Eagles have lost their last two and hopefully that severely slows down their momentum heading into this game. Green Bay, on the other hand, has been crazy good in their last two games winning both. Green Bay has driving momentum and hopefully has what it takes to knock off the Eagles early. If you win this week I will forgive you for your win last Sunday. Have I mentioned before that I hate the Eagles?
And there you have it. Wild card weekend is upon us. Enjoy! GOOOOOOOOOO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment