Saturday, January 22, 2011

The Shenoa Report Championship Weekend


The Shenoa Report
January 22, 2011
Post Season
Championship

Last weekend proved to be another weekend where “on any given day any given football team can win any given game.” The playoffs are always great to watch because they are supposed to be the best playing the best. They are the games where both teams are “supposed to win” The stakes are high. The winner advances to the next round and the loser just goes home. It was an exciting weekend indeed. When asked this Tuesday if I had caught a cold this weekend because my voice was so hoarse I had to tell my friend no I was just screaming at the games a lot this weekend. I am proud to be a football fan.
All right lets recap the divisional weekend.


 Baltimore @ Pittsburgh 24-31
Going into the half I was sure that Baltimore could win it easily if they could just keep up their momentum. I was so excited for them and then the Steelers showed up in the second half and the Ravens bent over. It was horrible to watch if you were a Baltimore fan or if you were not a fan of Pittsburgh. So lets talk about the first half. The Ravens were amazing. My favorite play had to be the Big Ben incomplete pass which was actually a fumble picked up by defensive end Cory Redding and run in for a touch down. Baltimore was up by two touchdowns going into half time and just BLEW IT in the second half. Blah blah blah Roethlisberger came to the rescue blah blah blah. I am really having a problem with all the praise this guy is getting. Sure he’s a good QB on the field BUT his life off the field the past couple of years makes me ill and, in my opinion, is overshadowing his “on the field” status… why he isn’t in jail right now totally miffs me. And I know, I know, I am supposed to keep my opinions separate from the player on the field and off the field, but let me ask you this… would you let your child pick a “man” that has been accused of rape MORE THAN ONCE to be their hero or role model?
Anyway Baltimore lost a close game and Pittsburgh moves on to the Championship game.

Green Bay @ Atlanta 48-21
This game was ridiculous… ridiculously awesome if you are a Packers fan! Aaron Rodgers is still on fire and I hope he blazes a trail all the way to the Super Bowl. Rodgers had three TD passes and a rushing TD in the win over Atlanta on Saturday night. I’m not going to lie I went to bed at the end of the 3rd quarter thinking there is no way Atlanta is going to come back … and they didn’t.  I’ve said it already but I’ll say it again; man, oh man, Green Bay made the right decision in letting Brett go. Rogers put up more yards this game than Favre ever did in any playoff game. Hey Rodgers, I hope you break all of Favre’s records that he holds for Green Bay. Just don’t get too crazy and start beating Peyton’s records.  Atlanta’s run came to an abrupt ending when the team couldn’t get it together. It was a great run Atlanta, I think Panthers fans might be making a Southern shift to back up the Falcons next year. I think Carolina fans have forgotten what it feels like to have a winning season or even winning more than two games… 

Seattle @ Chicago 24-35
Matt Hasselbeck threw three TD passes in the fourth quarter.  But, it was a little too late being that Jay Cutler threw two TD passes and ran for two TDs and Chester Taylor had another rushing TD throughout the game for Chicago. The Bears dominated the Seahawks but I must point out that Chicago was up against an 8-9 team headed into the game. When you lose more games than you win there is a mentality that goes along with those statistics. Are the Bears really that good or were the Seahawks really that bad? Only time will tell when the Bears host Green Bay for the Championship game on Sunday. An interesting fact comes from this Seattle loss though. The Seahawks are the only NFL team in history to have an 8-10 season. So you trivia minded people lock that interesting tidbit away. You’re welcome.

New York Jets @ New England 28-21
5 sacks, 1 interception, lots of scrambling and dare I say some hideous incomplete passes. They used to call him Tom Terrific. I’m changing his nickname to Tom Not-so-terrific. Another interesting tidbit, the Patriots have not won a post-season game since their “perfect season” ended PERFECTLY with their Super Bowl loss to the NEW YORK FOOTBALL GIANTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Yes I have a big smirking grin on my face right now) As for the New York Jets, they played a GREAT game. They didn’t look at the Patriots like some mythical beast that couldn’t be beat. Instead they looked and saw them for what they were, defeateable.  Yes, on any given day, any given team can win any given game.  I do have to applaud Bill Beilichick for not putting up with the trash talk and benching Welker for the first series.  Rex Ryan didn’t follow suit and didn’t punish any of his players, or himself, for all the trash talk. The Jets not only talked the talk but also walked the walk on the field. Their offense was great and their defense was phenomenal. I really didn’t think that the Jets would be able to knock off the Patriots but I’m sure glad they did!
Side story: So as you may know I work with kids. Some little kids, mostly babies, have binkies (pacifiers).  I have come up with a new award. I call it the Binkie Award. This award goes to … well you can probably guess… the biggest baby each week. I award the Binkie Award to Deion Branch for whining after the game about the “classless Jets” in regards to Braylon Edwards’ celebratory backflip! Honestly if I could do a backflip I would have too to celebrate the Patriots loss. Congratulations Deion, now put the binkie in your mouth and stop whining.  Oh and if you want to you can practice your backflip this off season (which started at the end of said game) and have it ready for when you win your next game (which won’t be until at least September)

CHAMPIONSHIP WEEKEND

We are down to two games Sunday! Now you know that they have changed the OT rules for playoff games. There hasn’t been any OT in the playoffs yet… Maybe this Sunday? It would make an interesting Sunday even more interesting for sure!

Green Bay @ Chicago
Who’s going to be the best team in the NFC Sunday? I’m going with the Packers and here’s why. Rodgers is hot right now. Every game that the Packers have won in the past month has gained momentum and they are slingshotting into the Championship game. The Bears have also done well but haven’t played up to the same caliber as Green Bay. Aaron Rodgers is a clutch player and in the past Jay Cutler crumbles under extreme pressure pretty easily. Sure the Bears defensive line has some big names like Urlacher, Peppers, and Briggs but I don’t think they will be able to contain Rodgers. On the other hand even the TV show Glee has made reference to Cutler and his offensive line when the character Finn says “Karofsky plays right guard. If he gets pissed at me, I’m gonna get sacked more times than Jay Cutler.”
I just see Cutler getting sacked a lot and the Packers getting stronger and going all the way to the Super Bowl. This is me trying to be objective being that I like both teams. I have nothing against the Bears or the Packers. Regardless, it should be a great game.

New York Jets @ Pittsburgh
I’m not even going to try to be objective. I want the Jets to win this game. I want all the Roethlisberger praise to end and I want Sanchez and the rest of the Jets team to continue to knock off “the unbeatable teams”.  I love the confidence the Jets exude. I’m not a big fan of Rex Ryan but if he gets the job done on Sunday in Pittsburgh I may just become one. Sure this all would be totally different if the Steelers had a different QB. I enjoy watching Medenhall and Hines Ward and I love watching Polamalu. BUT I simply won’t cheer for Big Ben, unless the cheering is because he’s behind bars.
Bias’ and opinions aside this will be a good game to watch. The Jets are the underdogs but Pittsburgh is only favored by 3. Who will be the best team in the AFC?  I hope it’s the Jets.



I’ll be wearing a lot of green this Sunday! GO GREEN BAY AND J-E-T-S JETS!! JETS!! JETS!!!!!!!!!!!

Enjoy!
Thanks Mom for editing this for me!

No comments:

Post a Comment