Saturday, January 15, 2011

The Shenoa Report Divisional Weekend


The Shenoa Report
January 15, 2011
Post Season
Divisional

Wow wild card weekend was definitely wild indeed. On Saturday both super bowl teams of last season were eliminated from the playoffs.  Now that both my teams are not super bowl bound maybe I’ll be a little bit more objective in my writing. It’s not likely, but maybe.  Lets start with the recap of wild card weekend.



New Orleans @ Seattle 36-41
Wow. Just wow. I never in a million years would have foreseen this outcome.  I thought for sure that the Saints would have had their way with the Seahawks. But you’ve got to hand it to the Seahawks they showed up. They lived up to the saying, “Go big or Go home.”  They definitely went big and now the Saints are going home. Hasselbeck was on fire with four touchdown passes and if you didn’t see the Marshawn Lynch TD run please put it on your “to do” list. It was absolutely amazing. The super bowl champs were out played. And the Seahawks still with a losing record on the season move forward in the playoffs.

New York Jets @ Indianapolis 17-16
Ok I’m going to try to be objective… The Jets played a hell of a game by keeping Peyton Manning off the field, why? Because we all know the Colts don’t score much when he’s not playing.  I still can’t believe they lost. If you believe in jinxing a team let me tell you I did everything I possibly could to help the Colts win, down to changing my underwear from green to blue Saturday. Everything was going great Saturday night I had friends over and I pulled out all my Colts gear and handed out hats, shirts, and even my Colts bathrobe for people to wear. In my house you must  root for the Colts when they are on TV. There were no Jets fans allowed. My friends ordered pizza, when I asked where they ordered it from they didn’t remember the name… well when it came there was a big label on it “ JETS PIZZA” AHHHHHHHHH. I took a knife and tore the name off the box. Then my other friend came with champagne “for the colts win” and opened it at half-time… I said this isn’t for the colts win this is to celebrate friends… but the words had already been spoken.
I don’t believe in jinxing a team, but, boy if I did, my football night Saturday night might have been the reason they lost on their last play. It couldn’t have been that the Jets just out played the Colts and wanted the win more - even though Garcon had a stellar game. It was a tough loss and now I’ll have to get behind the Jets next week…

Baltimore @ Kansas City 30-7
Finally the Chiefs are going home. The first quarter was pretty fantastic but then after half time both teams showed their true colors. Baltimore’s D stepped up and KC fell apart under pressure. The Ravens defense forced five turnovers and Flacco had two touchdown passes while McGahee had one rushing TD. And let me just say Ray Lewis is a beast!

Green Bay @ Philadelphia 21-16
This was a GREAT game to watch. After watching my Colts lose the night before and my Giants not making it to the playoffs I could only hope that the Eagles would be knocked out early.  The Eagles put up a fight but Aaron Rodgers and the Packers fought harder and will now advance further into the playoffs while the Eagles will just go home.  It must have been devastating for those Eagles’ fans watching late in the fourth quarter when Vick threw that interception in the end zone. For me it was the icing on the cake. GAME OVER. Green Bay, I told you last week if you beat the Eagles I would forgive you for beating the Giants. You are forgiven thanks for taking out Philly, the playoffs are now a little more sweeter.


DIVISIONAL

Baltimore @ Pittsburgh
This game is pretty evenly matched up. Both teams have great defenses and great offenses. I personally would like to see Baltimore win. I feel like they have a classier team and I don’t like Ben Roethlisberger.  So Ravens step up your D and knock down Big Ben repeatedly. Beat the opponent soundly!

Green Bay @ Atlanta
I honestly have nothing against Atlanta, I like Matt Ryan and the Falcons. I think its pretty amazing that with the season the Falcons have had, that they didn’t get as much press as they should have. It’s like they flew under the radar the entire season. I guess that’s what happens when there are “more exciting stories” like who Brett Favre is texting… Well Atlanta, win or lose this weekend, I hope you get some good press and hopefully next year you’ll make some good headlines and wont have to compete with that old guy and his walker. Hey Green Bay you made the right decision all those years ago letting Favre go; I’d actually like to see you go all the way and get that super bowl ring. Just make sure you let Favre admire it.

Seattle @ Chicago
I will no longer say negative things about Seattle. I hope they have another AMAZING run this week and shock the heck out of the Bears. I am going to jump on the underdog bandwagon. It’s going to be a tough game for Seattle but last week was also a tough game and they rolled over the Saints. I have nothing against the Bears and wouldn’t be disappointed if the won either; sometimes it’s just nice to root for the underdogs.

New York Jets @ New England
Allright. I never speak praises about the Patriots. I hate the team, the head coach, and the quarterback, BUT after listening to all the BS and trash talk that went on this past week I have to commend the team. Especially Bill and Tom for NOT stooping to the level of some of the Jets players and their head coach. Last I knew, the game is played on the field, and last I knew, it doesn’t matter what is said in the mean time. Rex Ryan needs desperately to learn how to just shut his mouth. Until you are the team that the Patriots have become, and you have the rings that Tom Brady has - just SHUT UP! Let your players play the game and then IF you win you can pass on that huge serving of humble pie that has already been baked for you.
That being said, I still want the Jets to win (only because I still don’t like the Patriots).  I want Sanchez to lead his team to victory and I want Tom Brady to cry… and get a hair cut. As for Antonio Cromartie I agree with what he said about Brady (unprintable expletives) but ,if you want to get to Brady, you don’t do it with words you do it on the field.  So Cromartie, catch about 10 of Brady’s passes and THEN say “hey Brady nice pass.”

And that’s my take on the games this weekend! Enjoy! And GO BALTIMORE, GREEN BAY, SEATTLE, AANNNNNND J-E-T-S JETS! JETS! JETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment