Thursday, September 25, 2014

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 4 '14


The Shenoa Report
September 25, 2014
Regular Season Week 4

 Week 4 here we come. This is the first week with byes. You will not be seeing the Bengals, Browns, Broncos, Rams, Cardinals, or the Seahawks play. This is a damn shame because a good share of my fantasy players play for these teams. Speaking of Fantasy Football I am 3-0 and my most recent game was 138-53!!!! Killed it! (Sorry Tom) This is also the first week that we’ll have a game played over in London, more on that later. I did so much better in my picks this past week 11-5 baby!
Anyway…
Let’s recap week 3



Buccaneers @ Falcons 14-56
This game was like watching a D1 School playing Pop Warner. Why can’t the Giants play the Bucs.


Cowboys @ Rams 34-31
The Cowboys staged a massive comeback to beat the Rams… It would’ve been much more impressive had they not been playing the Rams.

Houston @ NY Giants 17-30
Dare I say the Giants looked GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I watched in amazement as the whole team came together in awesome fashion. Now they did have some mistakes in the beginning like that fumble on the 5 yard line BUT after that… Rashad Jennings ran his butt off for a career-high 176 yards and a touchdown! Eli didn’t throw any interceptions and had 2 touchdowns one of which went to Cruuuuuuuuuz! It was amazing to watch.  PS thank you J.J. Watt for not hurting Eli!

Redskins @ Eagles 34-37
This was a hard hitting game, even after the whistles. Still wish it had ended in a tie.

Vikings @ Saints 9-20
The Saints finally get their first win but that’s not saying much.

Chargers @ Bills 22-10
Sorry Bills fans… so sorry. On the other hand the Chargers are kinda looking pretty legit.  

Titans @ Bengals 7-33
Holy moly the Bengals are 3-0!  

Ravens @ Browns 23-21
I feel like the theme for the Browns this year should be “finish a damn football game”

Colts @ Jaguars 44-17
Andrew Luck is my fantasy QB. So, thank you Luck for throwing 4 touchdown passes and being a beast!

Packers @ Lions 7-19
What in the heck has happened to the Packers.?! Congrats Lions fans.

Raiders  @ Patriots 9-16
I had to laugh when I saw the highlights of this game because despite winning the Pats looked horrible. In other news Tom Brady’s illness of not getting high-5ed is contagious… Patriots owner Robert Kraft was left hanging when he tried to high-5 Mark Wahlberg at this game.  Now that’s news worth covering

49ers @ Cardinals 14-23
 Ok so it looks like the Cardinals are pretty legit too.

Broncos @ Seahawks 20-26 OT
At least this was actually a game worth watching. I was sad to see the Broncos lose again but it was nice to see them actually put up a fight and take it into overtime.
Description: https://ssl.gstatic.com/ui/v1/icons/mail/images/cleardot.gif

Chiefs @ Dolphins 34-15
Silly Shenoa, for picking the Dolphins. I thought they were good?  


Steelers @ Panthers 37-19
I’m really sorry Panthers fans. I didn’t even stay up to watch this game because I really thought they would win.



Bears @ Jets 27-19
My roommate’s pretty cool, and that’s an understatement but Monday night he asked if we really had to watch football…. Being that I didn’t really care about watching Bears at the circus I agreed to watch a movie.  After the movie was over we switched on the game, shortly after I went to bed. The end.  


WEEK 4

Thursday September 25th

NY Giants (1-2) @ Redskins (1-2) [8:25pm CBS, NFLN]
 Call me crazy but I think that the Giants can win this game. Especially if they play like they did on Sunday. I’m still glowing after that show.

Sunday September 28th  

Packers (1-2) @ Bears (2-1) [1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Bears for the win.

Bills (2-1) @ Texans (2-1) [1pm CBS]
I’m thinking the Texans will bounce back.

Titans (1-2) @ Colts (1-2)  [1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Colts for the win.

Panthers (2-1) @ Ravens (2-1) [1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Ravens, sorry Panthers fans I hope I’m wrong.

Lions (2-1) @ Jets (1-2) [1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Lions just for you Dean.

Buccaneers (0-3) @ Steelers (2-1) [1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Steelers for the win; even though their team is so beat up that James Harrison is coming out of retirement to play for them.

Dolphins (1-2) @ Raiders (0-3) [1pm CBS]
This game will be played in London so really it’s an away game for each team. Therefore I’m picking the Dolphins even though there seems to be some QB/coach tension.

Jaguars (0-3) @ Chargers (2-1) [4:05pm CBS]
I’m picking the Chargers for the win.

Eagles (3-0) @ 49ers (1-2) [4:25pm FOX]
This is probably the only time that I’ll be rooting for the 49ers, so get it done boys and beat those dirty birds.
  
Falcons (2-1) @ Vikings (1-2) [4:25pm FOX]
 I’m picking the Falcons to win.   

Saints (1-2) @ Cowboys (2-1) [8:30pm NBC]
 Come on Saints please win this game, no, I am not picking the Cowboys for the win.

Monday September 29th

Patriots (2-1) @ Chiefs (1-2) [8:30pm ESPN]
Hope this game ends in a tie… but I’ll pick the Patriots for the win. High-five anyone?

GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!


Thursday, September 18, 2014

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 3 '14


The Shenoa Report
September 18, 2014
Regular Season Week 3

On any given day any given team can win… Sunday was not that day for the Giants or 15 other teams in the NFL… (When I put it that way it doesn’t sound so bad) The good news is that all these games are now in the past and we get to move on to week 3.
The NFL is in a big mess with all the off-field things going on with some players.  It is still too much to get into and it’s not something that I want to write about.  But, I will say that if you are going to have your name on the back of your jersey and play professional football you are automatically a role model, whether you like it or not, and SO MANY people (very impressionable kids included) look up to you!!!!  SO JUST STOP. STOP.  Yes, you can hit people when you are on the field - they are grown men, with pads, they expect it, and are paid to hit and get hit. IT IS NEVER OK TO HIT A WOMAN OR A CHILD. JUST STOP. We really do live in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation. (Stepping off my soap box)
OK back to football.  I did even worse on picks this week (7-9), which I didn’t think was possible. The good news is I am 2-0 in Fantasy Football.

Let’s recap week two

Steelers @ Ravens  6-26
Wow the Ravens showed up… The Steelers… not so much. 

Cowboys @ Titans 26-10
I expected more from you Tennessee. I don’t have anything else to say about this game. Just wishing the outcome was different.

Cardinals @ NY Giants 25-14
I was so excited to go out and watch the game with my roommate. I probably should have stayed home. We went to our favorite spot (where we are always treated like royalty) but this wasn’t the case on Sunday. We were seated in the wrong section so I couldn’t even see the Giants game (I should have counted that as a blessing) One of the managers came up shortly after we were seated and asked how everything was and I told him I came to see the Giants so he apologized and moved us to another table where I could see the game. But, in the move, we lost our awesome server and got the worst server ever; AND THE KITCHEN HAD RUN OUT OF TATER TOTS! This is pretty much a deal breaker for the roommate. I’m really surprised he didn’t walk out right then. We ended up sitting at the bar for the second half and I thought things were turning around… but I digress.  What burns me the most is that the Giants had the lead in the second half and they weren’t looking as terrible as they did the week before. It’s hard to be a Giants fan sometimes..

Saints @ Browns 24-26
Hey, hey, hey, the Brownies are looking good this year! The best part, they are doing it without Jonny Football on the field. In other news the Saints are 0-2… crazy.



Lions @ Panthers 7-24
I never thought I’d say this this season but, the Panthers are playing really good football without Steve Smith, Ginn Jr, or Greg Hardy. Sorry Lions fans, I know you thought this was an easy win.



 Dolphins @ Bills 10-29
The Bills are all alone in first place in the AFC East! Maybe it is their year? Do you ‘Bill’ieve?! I’ve got some friends who are Bills fans here in NC and I hung out with them after this game. Being that my team is horrible and their team is 2-0 I just wanted to fit in so, yes, I wore a Bills T-shirt. Monday, I issued a statement on social media to clear this up… it said “Don't worry everyone I'm still a Giants fan... Bills fans are just really nice... and they know what its like to have an AWFUL team...season.. year(s)” Anyway, love you Bills fans! As for the Dolphins… yeah

Jaguars @ Redskins 10-41
RG3 was out in the first quarter along with DeSean Jackson. If you ask me RG3 should stay out because the Redskins seem to do a hell of a lot better without him. But, as a Giants fan, I’d like to keep him in the game because we need all the help we can get. DeSean is on my fantasy team so that screwed me.  Kirk Cousins the Redskins backup QB faired pretty well, that, and the Jags suck…

Patriots @ Vikings 30-7
This is why I don’t pick against the Pats. The big news in this game: Adrian Peterson was deactivated for the game because of legal issues… step in line I guess.

Falcons @ Bengals 10-24
Matt Ryan threw 3 interceptions. The Ginger didn’t have an interception or a sack; and that’s one of the reasons the Bengals won.

 
 Rams @ Buccaneers 19-17
Well, because of a 10 second run off at the end of the game, and the Bucs without a time out, the Rams win this one. Tough loss Bucs.

Seahawks @ Chargers 21-30
I’m shocked. Rivers connected with Gates for 3 touchdowns. Amazing.

Texans @ Raiders 30-14
J.J. Watt is now a threat on offense and defense. He caught a touchdown pass by playing tight end.  The Texans embarrassed the Raiders.

Jets @ Packers 24-31
Apparently the Packers like to give all their fans high blood pressure because they had to dig their way out of an 18-point hole to beat the circus, errr, I mean the Jets.


Chiefs @ Broncos 17-24
The Broncos won because they have Peyton Manning. End of story.


Bears @ 49ers 28-20
The 49ers played their first game in their new stadium but, unfortunately for them, it ended in a loss to the Bears… this lets me reminisce when the Cowboys played their first game in their new stadium, same outcome courtesy of the Giants.


Eagles @ Colts 30-27
AHHHHHHHHHH! The ONLY thing that makes me feel better about this game is the fact that the Colts are also 0-2… just like the Giants. BAH


WEEK3

Thursday September 18th

Buccaneers (0-2) @ Falcons (1-1) [8:25pm CBS, NFLN]
I really have to wonder why this game is on primetime. I guess I’ll pick the Falcons to win but I wouldn’t be surprised if they screwed it up.

Sunday September 21st  

Cowboys (1-1) @ Rams (1-1) [1pm FOX]
As much as I would like to see the Rams win, and I’ll be rooting for them too, I’m going to have to pick Dallas…

Houston (2-0) @ NY Giants (0-2) [1pm CBS]
This pick pains me.  I’m picking the Giants because even a broken clock is right 2 times a day. J.J. Watt please don’t hurt Eli, please and thank you.

Redskins (1-1) @ Eagles (1-1)  [1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Eagles even though I hope this game ends in a tie.

Vikings (1-1) @ Saints (0-2) [1pm FOX]
I’m thinking the Saints are going to get their first win of the season.

Chargers (1-1) @ Bills (2-0) [1pm CBS]
Picking the Bills, I have confidence (or I “Bill”ieve) in this pick…

Titans (1-1) @ Bengals (2-0) [1pm CBS]
Picking the Bengals.

Ravens (1-1) @ Browns (1-1) [1pm CBS]
I’ll be rooting for the Browns but picking the Ravens.

Colts (1-1) @ Jaguars (0-2) [1pm CBS]
Picking the Colts.

Packers (1-1) @ Lions (1-1) [1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Packers. Sorry again Lions fans.

Raiders (0-2) @ Patriots (1-1) [1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Pats; but I hope Justin Tuck gets to Brady early and often.

49ers (1-1) @ Cardinals (2-0) [4:05pm FOX]
 I’m picking the 49ers but only because I’m bitter.

Broncos (2-0) @ Seahawks (1-1) [4:25pm CBS]
It’s the Super Bowl repeat. I’m picking the Seahawks but hope I’m wrong because, obviously, I’ll be rooting for the Broncos.
Description: https://ssl.gstatic.com/ui/v1/icons/mail/images/cleardot.gif

Chiefs (0-2) @ Dolphins (1-1) [4:25pm CBS]
I’m picking the Dolphins at home.


Steelers (1-1) @ Panthers (2-0) [8:30pm NBC]
I’m taking the Panthers on primetime.

Monday September 22nd

Bears (1-1) @ Jets (1-1) [8:30pm ESPN]
I’m going to pick Da Bears. 

GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!

Thursday, September 11, 2014

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 2 '14


The Shenoa Report
September 11, 2014
Regular Season Week 2

Every season week one always leaves me scratching my head, this one was no different. I went 8-8 for my picks, which is an all time low. I’ve got to get it together, or something.  But really, who would have thought that the Dolphins would have beat the Patriots, the Bills would have beat the Bears and the Falcons would have beat the Saints. I mean it was a big surprise to me too.
Being sick and watching football sucks. I know that I watched most of the games but I was in such a cold-medicated-state that I’m gonna be honest I don’t remember much. I do know that I won this week in Fantasy Football!!!!
I’m sure you are sick and tired of hearing about Ray Rice so I am not even going to go into it. It’s a big mess, not even close to being over, and we’ll leave it at that.
To quote my friend Dean “Half the teams are undefeated so far this season”

Let’s recap week one

Packers @ Seahawks 16-36
I knew that the Seahawks would win but I didn’t think that they would make Green Bay look that bad.  


Redskins @ Texans 6-17
Did the Texans look really good or are the Redskins really THAT bad? Only time will tell. There is bad news for Houston, Clowney will be out for the next 4 to 6 weeks with a torn meniscus…. Good thing they still have J.J. Watt.

Vikings @ Rams 34-6
I did not see that coming!  The Vikings dominated the Rams.

Bills @ Bears 23-20 OT
Holy Moly Batman! The Bills won a game! In overtime!

Bengals @ Ravens 23-16
What in the world is going on? The Bengals won? Against the Ravens?  WHAT? WHAT?!?!

Saints @ Falcons 34-37 OT
NO, seriously what in the world is going on in the NFL world??? The Falcons beat the Saints. … This game made my head hurt a little bit.

Titans @ Chiefs 26-10
Are we back to watching the Chiefs that suck? Possibly.

Patriots @ Dolphins 20-33
WOOT WOOOT WOOOOOOOT DOLPHINS! Might I add that this is the first time since Tom Brady has been on the Pats that New England is all alone in last place of the AFC East!

Raiders @ Jets 14-19
I still think the Jets should join the circus…

Jaguars @ Eagles 17-34
Dear Jags, there are 4 quarters in a football game not two! Next time play the entire game. Either way it was nice watching the Eagles struggle for the first half.

Browns @ Steelers 27-30
So close Brownies! So close.

Panthers @ Buccaneers 20-14
The Panthers won, yes, BUT in true Panther fashion they almost lost it too…

49ers @ Cowboys 28-17
Hey, at least the Cowboys still suck. Romo had 3 interceptions. And that makes me smile. My QB only had 2….

Colts @ Broncos 24-31
Glad that Peyton got some redemption. He’s still got it.

Giants @ Lions 14-35
I’ve come to the realization that my team is the team that other teams count on as an easy W in their football schedule…. This sucks. Mom always said that if you don’t have anything nice to say you shouldn’t say anything at all…. That’s all I have to say about this game.

Chargers @ Cardinals 17-18
Didn’t care much about this game other than the Cardinals D scoring me some points in fantasy. I won by 2 points but a win is a win!

WEEK 2

Thursday September 11th

Steelers (1-0) @ Ravens (0-1) [8:25pm CBS, NFLN]
This is tough. The Browns almost beat the Steelers but the Ravens have already lost at home to the Bengals. Personally, I hope this game ends in a tie, but if I have to pick a winner I’m going to have to go with the Ravens.

Sunday September 14th

Cowboys (0-1) @ Titans (1-0) [1pm FOX]
Hoping that Romo throws many more interceptions. I am picking the Titans for the win!

Cardinals (1-0) @ NY Giants (0-1) [1pm FOX]
Oh lord, The Giants looked absolutely terrible Monday night and the Cardinals barely squeeked out a win against the Chargers. I am a glutton for punishment so I am going to pick my Giants to get their first win of the season.

Saints (0-1) @ Browns (0-1)  [1pm FOX]
I’m thinking that the Browns could maybe win this game. I’m picking the Saints to win but I think that the Browns can do it.

Lions (1-0) @ Panthers (1-0) [1pm FOX]
Cam should be starting for the Panthers this weekend, with that being said, I hope that the Panthers play for all 4 quarters because they almost gave up the win last week. If they can shut down Megatron they have a chance at winning. I don’t see the Lions winning 2 in a row so I’m going with the Panthers for the win. Don’t let me down.


Dolphins (1-0) @ Bills (1-0) [1pm CBS]
Can the Bills win 2 in a row? I think so! I’m picking the Bills for the win (I know its gutsy but that’s how I roll)

Jaguars (0-1) @ Redskins (0-1) [1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Jags for the win but that’s only if they show up for the whole game.

Patriots (0-1) @ Vikings (1-0) [1pm CBS]
I’d really like to see the Pats go 0-2. Come on Vikings I’m picking you for the win!

Falcons (1-0) @ Bengals (1-0) [1pm CBS]
Both these teams won last week against really good teams. This has left me scratching my head. I guess I’ll take the Bengals for the win.

 

Rams (0-1) @ Buccaneers (0-1) [4:05pm FOX]
I’m picking the Bucs at home, mainly because I like to hear the cannons go BABOOM.

Seahawks (1-0) @ Chargers (0-1) [4:05pm FOX]
Picking the Seahawks for the win.

Texans (1-0) @ Raiders (0-1) [4:25pm CBS]
I’m going to have to pick the Texans for the win. I have a crush on J.J. Watt… there I said it. It’s out there now.

Jets (1-0) @ Packers (0-1) [4:25pm CBS]
I’m pretty sure the Packers will get their first win of the season. Watch out Packer fans the circus is in town.


Chiefs (0-1) @ Broncos (1-0) [4:25pm CBS]
Picking the Broncos for the win!


Bears (0-1) @ 49ers (1-0) [8:30pm NBC]
I’m going to have to pick the 49ers for the win but it wouldn’t upset me one bit if I was wrong.

Monday September 15th

Eagles (1-0) @ Colts (0-1) [8:30pm ESPN]
I’m picking the Colts, don’t let me down boys.

GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!

Thursday, September 4, 2014

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 1 2014


The Shenoa Report
September 4, 2014
Regular Season Week 1

IT’S HERE! IT’S HERE! THE FOOTBALL SEASON IS HERE!!!!! And you know what that means; the Shenoa Report is back as well!!! Are you ready for some football?!?! 
If you’re a first time reader, welcome! And if you’re a loyal follower welcome back, I’ve missed you. I started this blog four years ago after a number of people asked me for my opinion on football and what teams they should root for. Please know that I am very biased, and this report is just my opinion!
The last time I wrote the Broncos and the Seahawks were headed to the Super Bowl, thank God that’s over.  I mean, Seattle totally deserved their rings but MAN I wish it wasn’t at the expense of Peyton Manning and the Broncos. So sad.
In offseason news this is what you all really need to know; Clowney was the first pick of the draft and went to Houston. With the 22nd pick of the draft the Browns picked Johnny Football… he’s a jackass. Jim Kelly beat cancer.  Vick is now the backup for the Jets and Sanchez is now the backup for the Eagles, they just did a little switch-a-roo. Steve Smith is no longer a Panther and is now a Raven. Justin Tuck left the Giants and went to Oakland. Tear. The Redskins are most likely going to have to change their name because it’s offensive.  AND BRETT FAVRE IS STILL RETIRED!!!!

I tallied up my picks from the 2012 and 2013 seasons and I seem to be VERY consistent, I still definitely have room for improvement.
Here they are:
My Picks for the 2012/2013 NFL Seasons

Week 1
2012 Season
9-7
2013 Season
10-6
2014 Season
Week 2
7-9
13-3

Week 3
6-10
8-8

Week 4
12-3
10-5

Week 5
9-6
7-8

Week 6
8-6
10-5

Week 7
11-2
9-6

Week 8
10-4
11-2

Week 9
11-3
8-5

Week 10
6-8
8-6

Week 11
13-1
10-5

Week 12
12-4
6-8

Week 13
10-6
10-6

Week 14
8-8
10-6

Week 15
7-9
9-7

Week 16
12-4
11-5

Week 17
12-4
14-2

Wild Card
3-1
1-3

Divisional
1-3
2-2

Championship
2-0
2-0

Super Bowl
0-1
0-1

total
169-99
169-99



Lets see who’s playing whom in week one!!!!!

WEEK 1

Thursday September 4th

Packers @ Seahawks (8:30pm NBC)
The Super Bowl champs are taking on the Packers to open the season. It should be a good game as long as Rodgers doesn’t have a caterpillar on his face. I’m going to have to pick the Seahawks for the win. 

Sunday September 7th

Redskins @ Texans (1pm FOX)
I would really like to see the Texans win their home opener.  Watt and Clowney should be fun to watch especially when they pressure RG3. (Watt and Clowney are BIG defensive dudes that play for Houston and RG3 is the Redskins QB) I’m picking the Texans for the win. I mean they only have to win 3 this year to have a better record than last season…

Vikings @ Rams (1pm FOX)
The Rams lost their starting QB in preseason, Sam Bradford tore his ACL and is out for the season. But, the Vikings are faring much better in the QB department starting Matt Cassel in week one. I’m picking the bumblebees for the win only because it’s their home opener.

Bills @ Bears  (1pm FOX)
I’m taking the Bears over the Bills.  Sorry Bills fans… maybe I’ll be wrong?

Bengals @ Ravens (1pm FOX)
Pretty sure the Ravens are going to win this one.

Saints @ Falcons (1pm CBS)
Ha! The Falcons are horrible. I’m picking the Saints.

Titans @ Chiefs (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Chiefs for the win. Sorry Abby.

Patriots @ Dolphins (1pm CBS)
I am going to pick the Patriots for the win, not because I like them or anything.  You see, it seems like EVERYTIME I don’t pick them to win they do anyway. Obviously I’ll be rooting for the Dolphins.

Raiders @ Jets (1pm CBS)
I thought that I was going to pick the Jets to win their home opener, but the more I thought about it the crazier it sounded. I’m going with the Raiders for the win, only because the Jets would have better success under the big top and not the football field.

Jaguars @ Eagles (1pm CBS)
As much as I hate the Eagles I’m going to have to pick them to win their home opener, the Jags are just terrible.

Browns @ Steelers (1pm CBS)
Picking the Steelers…rooting the Browns.

Panthers @ Buccaneers (4:25pm FOX)
The Bucs have a new head coach in Lovie Smith but I still don’t think they are going to win their home opener. BABOOM BABOOM I’m picking the Panthers.

49ers @ Cowboys (4:25pm FOX)
In this rare occasion I will be rooting for and picking the 49ers.  PS I really like to see the Cowboys lose.

Colts @ Broncos (8:30pm NBC)
In the offseason the Broncos used the number 35 as motivation in practice.  Every time someone wasn’t giving their best or wanted to give up they would be told “35” (the number of points they lost by in the Super Bowl) Hopefully this motivation works and they can come back stronger this year. The Colts are coming to Manning’s house this time and I’m thinking the outcome is going to be different. I’m picking the Broncos for the win.

Monday September 8th

Giants @ Lions (7:10pm ESPN)
Last year the Giants went 0-4 in the preseason and then lost 6 straight to start the regular season.  Pathetic. This year the Giants went 5-0 in the preseason, they still have A LOT of work to do but I think they are on a better track already. We’ll see. Against better judgment I am picking the Giants to upset the Lions.  GO GMEN!!!!!

Chargers @ Cardinals (10:20pm ESPN)
Totally not staying up to watch this game. I’m picking the Cardinals for the win, mainly because they are my defense in fantasy football.  

Happy Week One!!!!! I hope your team wins! (Unless you’re a Dallas, Detroit (only because you are playing the Giants) Philly, Washington, New England, or Pittsburgh fan) Told you I was biased!


GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!