Sunday, January 19, 2014

The Shenoa Report Championship Sunday '14


The Shenoa Report
January 19, 2014
Championship Sunday

Happy Championship Sunday! The end is near. They are saying that the four best teams in the league have made it to “the final four”. I don’t know if I would entirely agree with the four best teams statement but that’s probably because I don’t like the Pats or 49ers that much. I do agree that the Broncos and the Seahawks are very good teams.
In other football news, It has been brought to my attention that there are people who don’t know where the Washington Redskins play, so let me clear this up. The Washington Redskins do not play in Washington state, rather Washington DC. I thought that this was common knowledge but the more people I talk with about football, the more people I find that don’t know this. So now you know.
So, before we move into Championship Sunday let’s recap Divisional Weekend. I went 2-2 this past week on picks.



Week 1
2012 Season

9-7
2013 Season

10-6
Week 2
7-9
13-3
Week 3
6-10
8-8
Week 4
12-3
10-5
Week 5
9-5
7-8
Week 6
8-6
10-5
Week 7
11-2
9-6
Week 8
10-4
11-2
Week 9
11-3
8-5
Week 10
6-8
8-6
Week 11
13-1
10-5
Week 12
12-4
6-8
Week 13
10-6
10-6
Week 14
8-8
10-6
Week 15
7-9
9-7
Week 16
12-4
11-5
Week 17
12-4
14-2
Wild Card
3-1
1-3
Divisional
1-3
2-2


Saints @ Seahawks 15-23
I think that it is safe to say that the Saints didn’t have a chance in Seattle, but they put up a fight, sort of.

Colts @ Patriots 22-43
This game was terrible. Absolutely terrible. I should have shut it off but I just couldn’t.  Me turning off a football game is like an alcoholic not finishing their drink. It doesn’t happen.



49ers @ Panthers 23-10
 I had the pleasure of watching this game with the Ginns. The first half was amazing. The sun was shining, Cam was clutch, the fans were electric, everything seemed to be in favor of the Panthers. And then, after half time, everything fell apart.
Now, here comes my rant. Panther fans, you are the worst fans in the NFL. When your team gets down, you don’t support them, you leave the stadium. Did you ever think that maybe if you showed your support by being the 12th man and staying, the outcome might have been different? Bills fans stay to the end of their games. Browns fans stay till the end of their games. AND THEIR TEAMS ARE TERRIBLE!!!!!!  I am a firm believer that you stay till the end of the game to support your team. I was there till the bitter end when the Panthers tore apart the Giants in week 3.
So yeah, the Panthers lost; but this time I’m not blaming the team, I’m blaming their pathetic fans.
On the other side I wish I had been at the game on the sidelines so I could have punched Anquan Boldin in the face. (I probably would have needed a step stool to accomplish that task)  What an arrogant prick. How did he not get flagged for taunting the entire game? I hope someone puts him in his place in Seattle. 

Chargers @ Broncos 17-24
This game should have been a blowout not a nail biter. Thankfully the Broncos won.  Peyton is the MANning. Captain Clutch to the rescue.





CHAMPIONSHIP SUNDAY




Sunday January 19th     

Patriots (12-4) @ Broncos (13-3) [3:00pm CBS]
Manning VS Brady. This game makes me so nervous. So, so, so nervous. On paper Manning is clearly the better quarterback. Manning has 55 touchdowns this year Brady only 25. I am just praying that the Broncos don’t repeat what happened in the regular season. I’m not even going to talk about it. I’m picking the Broncos to win.

49ers (12-4) @ Seahawks (13-3) [6:30pm FOX]
I am picking the Seahawks to win this game and I hope they annihilate the 49ers. Fingers crossed.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

The Shenoa Report Post Season Divisional Weekend '14

The Shenoa Report
January 11, 2014
Divisional Weekend


Wild Card weekend definitely lived up to its name! Wild, yes it was! The majority of people who picked winners for this passed weekend went 1-3 and I wasn't any different. I’m not gonna lie, the post season isn’t even over yet and I’m starting to slip into that football depression… only a few more weeks of football until august. Tear.
I’m so sorry for all those Eagles’ fans out there… well not really. But I am truly sorry for the Chiefs and Packers fans, oh yes and even though I don’t know any, I’m sorry for those Bengals fans. In other news, please tell me when you saw Shannon Sharpe last weekend in that purple suit you also thought he should have been surrounded by oompa-loompas, singing about chocolate...
So, before we move into Divisional Weekend Let’s recap Wild Card Weekend. I went 1-3 this past week on picks.



Chiefs @ Colts 44-45
This was a heartbreaking loss if you are a Chiefs fan but, an amazing comeback if you were pulling for the Colts. Andrew Luck is a beast, there I said it... This game had the 2nd biggest comeback in playoff history, down by 28 points. The Bills still hold the record for most epic comeback by being down by 32. 


Saints @ Eagles 26-24
They said it couldn't be done. They said the Saints have NEVER won a playoff game on the road in the history of their franchise. They said that the Saints couldn't play in the cold. What have we learned? Talk is cheap. Way to go New Orleans. I really didn't think it should have come down to a field goal. I thought they were going to blow it too. Wow. Well the Eagles are now where the rest of the NFC East is, on their couches, watching the playoffs from home.

Chargers @ Bengals 27-10
I’m shocked. But then again, not really. I mean the last time the Bengals won a playoff game Boomer Esiason was their quarterback. This time, once again, the Ginger couldn't get it done. Rather, he helped boost the Chargers to victory. Poor guy, he looked like Eli Manning out there with all those picks. I dub this game most boring game of the weekend.


49ers @ Packers 23-20
At least this was a good, close game. I think that the Packers may have actually won if Clay was in the game and not bundled up on the sidelines. At least he was sporting a super cute hat. This game was, by far, the coldest game of the weekend, and if I was a fan at this game, I think I’d still be trying to thaw out.




DIVISIONAL WEEKEND




Saturday January 11th      


Saints (11-5) @ Seahawks (13-3) [4:35pm FOX]
Now that the Saints have had their first playoff win I’m expecting the Seahawks to take this. I’ll be rooting for and picking Seattle to win this game. Side note, my brother (who isn't a football fan at all but lives right outside of Seattle) has bet his colleague that he’ll shave his head if the Saints win. I really like my brother’s hair so, LETS GO SEAHAWKS!!!!!

Colts (11-5) @ Patriots (12-4) [8:15pm CBS]
Oh man, this game. Well if you've ever read this report you know that I’ll be rooting for the Colts…. As for picking the game, what the hell, it’s the playoffs… I’m picking the Colts for the win… even though I’m pretty sure I’ll be wrong.




Sunday January 12th     


49ers (12-4) @ Panthers (12-4) [1:05pm FOX]
I wore my panther’s shirt to school yesterday to support Panther pride. Yes, I own a Panther’s t-shirt and yes, I can count the number of times I've worn it on one hand…. But, at this point, I’d like to see anyone other than the 49ers win this game. Go Carolina. Yes, I’m picking the Panthers to win this game.


Chargers (9-7) @ Broncos (13-3) [4:40pm CBS]
I’m picking the Broncos to win this game, the Chargers have had their fun and now it’s time for the big boys to play ball. Go Peyton! No pressure. John Fox, if this game comes down to 37 seconds left with tied with 2 timeouts you had better put the ball in Peyton’s hands and NOT let the game go into over time. We don’t need a repeat from last year. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BRONCOS!!!!!!





Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!!!

Saturday, January 4, 2014

The Shenoa Report Wild Card Weekend '14


The Shenoa Report
January 4, 2014
Wild Card Weekend

Happy New Year my football friends! The regular season is now over and I am back home in the NC.
The playoffs are upon us, and there are a lot of teams that didn’t make it to the post season. Some may shock you and some you may wonder if they were really even a pro team this year: the Jets, Dolphins, Bills, Steelers, Ravens, Browns, Titans, Texans, Raiders, Cowboys, Jaguars, Giants, Redskins, Bears, Lions, Vikings, Falcons, Buccaneers, Cardinals, and Rams are done. Three teams from the AFC West made it to the postseason, while teams like the 10-6 Cardinals failed to squeeze in. The Green Bay Packers made it with a record of 8-7-1 (the worst record to make the playoffs) I mean, they only had one more win than the Giants…
6 head coaches lost their jobs this past week; Cleveland Browns, Minnesota Vikings, Washington Redskins, Detroit Lions, Tampa Bay Bucs, and Houston Texans.
Did you know that if your team makes the playoffs and they are home they have to sell out their stadium or else the local tv stations will black out their game? The Panthers made the playoffs for the first time in a looooong time and tickets were sold out in 3 minutes.  The Packers who have made the playoffs quite frequently were facing a blackout until Associated Bank in Green Bay stepped in and bought out the rest of the tickets. Some people blamed finances and weather for this and I can relate. As much as I love football sitting outside at a game with subzero temps does not thrill me…. Unless it’s the Giants and it’s the Super Bowl you won’t see me at such a game.
Week 17 was pretty epic and after I got home from calling hours on Sunday I watched football until the last game was over. I even made my dad re-watch the Giants game in between the 4:30 game and 8:30 game (Thank God for DVR and the fast forward button).  So, before we move into Wild Card Weekend Let’s recap week 17. I went 14-2 this past week on picks.



Week 1
2012 Season

9-7
2013 Season

10-6
Week 2
7-9
13-3
Week 3
6-10
8-8
Week 4
12-3
10-5
Week 5
9-5
7-8
Week 6
8-6
10-5
Week 7
11-2
9-6
Week 8
10-4
11-2
Week 9
11-3
8-5
Week 10
6-8
8-6
Week 11
13-1
10-5
Week 12
12-4
6-8
Week 13
10-6
10-6
Week 14
8-8
10-6
Week 15
7-9
9-7
Week 16
12-4
11-5
Week 17
12-4
14-2


Browns @ Steelers 7-20
Steelers win the game but don’t make the playoffs… there’s a joke in there somewhere.

Redskins @ Giants 6-20
So, so, so, so, so, so glad this season is over. I mean I love the Giants but it was a tough year to watch. It was also tough to watch this game, knowing the outcome, and being able to fast-forward through the really bad replays. Poor Eli got hurt and it may be the last game for a few of my favorite players as Gmen. I hope not. Please come back next year Diehl, Nicks, and Tuck!

Ravens @ Bengals 17-34
All right Bengals! Way to knock the Super Bowl champs out of the playoffs!

Texans @ Titans 10-16
Hey Titans, at least you’re not last in your division! The Texans only won 2 games this season!

Jaguars @ Colts 10-30
I really don’t have anything to say about this game…

Jets @ Dolphins 20-7
Seriously Jets!?!?! I just don’t understand.

Lions @ Vikings 13-14
First of all, I can’t believe that I picked the Vikings to win this game. Second of all, I can’t believe that I was right.

Panthers @ Falcons 21-20
Holy nail biter. Glad the Panthers came out on top.

Buccaneers @ Saints 17-42
No brainer.

Bills @ Patriots 20-34
This game ended exactly the way I thought it would. Sorry, Bills fans everywhere.

Rams @ Seahawks 9-27
In the words of my father… Yup.

Packers @ Bears 33-28
This game was epic to watch! Crazy to think that the Packers made it to the playoffs…

49ers @ Cardinals 23-20
So close Cards… so close.

Broncos @ Raiders 34-14
With this game Peyton Manning now has the league record of most touchdowns in a season (55), most passing yards in a season (5,477), and in my opinion has squared away the MVP of the season! So glad I can still sport a Manning jersey in the playoffs!

Chiefs @ Chargers 24-27 OT
Chargers were so excited to make it into the playoffs by beating the Chiefs… second string… they beat the Chiefs second string players. Whoopty- freakin-do


Eagles @ Cowboys 24-22
Orton, in Romo fashion, ended the game in, what could have been an epic comeback, an interception.
This was a heartbreaking game to watch. I’m not gonna lie, I was rooting for the Cowboys (mainly because it was my uncle’s favorite team). The ending of this game didn’t surprise me but I was a little shocked that it looked like Kyle Orton straightened his hair at half time… I mean it looked nicer than mine, complete with highlights.  As for the Eagles… I read that the Eagles were boasting that their wins this season were equal to the Giants and Redskins wins combined. To that I say, really?! Not something to brag about.


WILD CARD WEEKEND


Saturday January 4th     

Chiefs (11-5) @ Colts (11-5) [4:35pm NBC]
I’d like to see the Chiefs win but I’m going to have to pick the Colts. Do you think if I wear my Colts hoodie today it’ll help the Chiefs?

Saints (11-5) @ Eagles (10-6) [8:10pm NBC]
As much as I would like to see the Saints beat up on the Eagles I’m picking Philly to win.



Sunday January 5th     

Chargers (9-7) @ Bengals (11-5) [1:05pm CBS]
I’m picking the Bengals and rooting for them.

49ers (12-4) @ Packers (8-7-1) [4:40pm FOX]
Man, this is a tough one for me. Leaving my heart out of it, logically, I think the Packers can win this. Rodgers is back, they’re playing at home, but the only thing that worries me is their defense. With Clay Matthews out their defense is weak. Now the 49ers have really turned their season around winning 6 in a row. This is a tough, tough pick. I guess I’ll go with my heart in the end, and my heart says Packers win. And for selfish reasons I am also rooting for and hoping Green Bay wins because my roomie will be much happier with this outcome.



Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!!!