The Shenoa Report
September 11, 2013
Regular Season Week 2
I’ve decided to not play fantasy football again this year. I
miss not playing but I’m going back to
school to get my Montessori Credentials along with being promoted to lead
teacher in my classroom. I just don’t
think it would be wise to keep up with this blog, go back to school, lead my
classroom and play fantasy…. I probably should be writing a paper right now but
hey, there is Thursday night football this week and it’s Wednesday night.
Priorities. (I hope my instructors don’t read this blog) In other Shenoa
football news I decided to get my XM radio turned back on in my truck so I
could listen to sports radio to and from work to help keep up with this blog! I
love it. Also, my apartment will soon have cable again!!!!! I love having a
roommate who loves football almost as much as I do!
Week one is over and, for me, I’m thankful. My team was
horrendous, how about yours? I was so mad at the Giants and their 6 turnovers
that I’ve bet against them in week 2. I’ve never bet against the Giants, ever,
but the time has come. Now don’t get me wrong I still LOVE them I’m just
disappointed. In non-Giants news, week one had some surprise endings, teams
that once were great are old and lacking, and refs are still blowing calls and
changing the outcome of games. There were a number of safety’s, and I’m pretty
sure more than a few teams thought it was still preseason, or at least they
played like it was. Let’s just remember we just finished week one, its not mid
season, your team isn’t in trouble yet. Don’t jump to conclusions, it probably
isn’t as bad as it seems.
But, this is now week two and we have so much to look
forward to, like the Manning Bowl! I hope it’s repeated again in February but
I’m not going to hold my breath.
First, let’s recap week 1.
I’ve decided to keep my picks table from last year and
compare them to this season’s picks. I am already one game better this year at
10-6!
|
Week 1
|
2012 Season
9-7
|
2013 Season
10-6
|
Ravens @ Broncos 27-49
This game started off the season and my roommate and I were
super excited, and a little giddy that football was finally back. We could have
done without the rain delay, but weather happens.
I could be wrong but I think Peyton Manning is back! He tied
a record of throwing 7 touchdowns in a game!!!!! He’s a beast. The Broncos also
put the Ravens in their place, which they should have done in January, but it
was good to see the Super Bowl Champs get annihilated. It was also nice to not have to hear about
Ray Lewis every five seconds.
Seahawks @ Panthers 12-7
Typical Panthers, had the game all wrapped up and then
turned the ball over giving the Seahawks the win. I’d like to say I was
surprised, but I wasn’t. I do think they will have a better season this year
but they still need a lot of work.
Falcons @ Saints 17-23
The Saints win but only because of a turnover with a minute
left in the game. Thanks Matt Ryan, ok so it was a tipped ball but I like
blaming Matty Ice.
Buccaneers @ NY Jets 17-18
The Jets got lucky with seconds left in the game and a late
hit on their QB that put them into field goal range.
Vikings @ Lions 24-34
The Lions surprised me. Reggie Bush is now on their team and
looking great. Suh is still a dirty player and has been fined $100K for a
personal foul on the Vikings center when he purposefully hit him in the knees. Vikings QB Ponder had a horrible game with 3
interceptions and a fumble.
Patriots @ Bills 23-21
Well the Pats won, big surprise. Actually, the Bills looked
really good and played well and the Pats only won with a late field goal. I
think that the Bills are going to have a better season this year and the Pats
just got lucky this week.
Bengals @ Bears 21-24
I made the right prediction in that the Bears won. I still
really don’t care either way.
Dolphins @ Browns 23-10
Hah! I knew the Browns would lead going into the half. Now
if only they could finish games… they’re kinda like the Panthers of the north.
Poor Browns
Titans @ Steelers 16-9
This was a shocker, a good one though! I hope the Steelers
stay this way, old and washed up. Abby, I’m so happy for your Titans!!!!!
Raiders @ Colts 17-21
Luck isn’t in the sophomore slump yet but there’s still time. (I know I shouldn’t be, but I’m still bitter
at the Colts for letting Peyton go)
Chiefs @ Jaguars 28-2
I think the Chiefs may actually have a winning season this
year with Alex Smith and I couldn’t be happier for him and all the KS fans.
Cardinals @ Rams 24-27
The Bumblebees win! (My dad and I used to refer to the Rams
as the Bumblebees because of their helmets)
Packers @ 49ers 28-34
All the Packers fans are thinking, “Can’t we catch a break
with the refs giving the game to the other team?” and I agree it was a bad
call. That ref has been demoted so don’t worry if the Packers make it to the
Super Bowl you won’t have to worry about him giving the game to their opponent.
On the other hand there were lots, and lots, and lots of other plays that helped
determine the outcome of this game. Really I’m just happy that Aaron doesn’t
have that repulsive thing on his face anymore.
NY Giants @ Cowboys 31-36
I did my rant at the beginning of this article and I don’t
care to talk about this game any further. Obviously it was our 5th
preseason game.
Eagles @ Redskins 33-27
Holy Eagles Batman! I’m pretty sure that the Redskins were
also playing their 5th preseason game as well. Has RG3 shook off all
the rust now or is he stepping into his sophomore slump year?
Texans@ Chargers 31-28
No surprises here. Typical Chargers blew it.
WEEK 2
Thursday September 12th
NY Jets (1-0) @ Patriots (1-0) [8:25pm NFLN]
On my drive home from work I heard something surprising, yet
not so surprising about Rex Ryan. Apparently he told his players that when he
met Bill Belichick on the field he was going to punch him in the face. There he
goes again opening his mouth proclaiming “I’m a jackass”. Raise your hand if
you’re already tired of Rex Ryan. I hate the Patriots and Cut-off Hoodie
McHooderson but I think it would be funnier if Bill leveled Rex at midfield. As
for this game I’m picking the Patriots to win. PS Belichick you will get
brownie points if you do in fact swing at Rex!
Sunday September 15th
Panthers (0-1) @ Bills (0-1) [1pm FOX]
I’m going to have to pick the Bills and hoping they’ll
finish the game unlike the Panthers.
Rams (1-0) @ Falcons (0-1) [1pm FOX]
Picking the Falcons to win. Sorry Bumblebees.
Vikings (0-1) @ Bears (1-0) [1pm FOX]
I’m going to have to take the Bears over the Vikings.
Redskins (0-1) @ Packers (0-1) [1pm FOX]
Picking the Packers over the Redskins.
Cowboys (1-0) @ Chiefs (1-0) [1pm FOX]
Taking the Chiefs at home! KC please beat your opponent
soundly.
Dolphins (1-0) @ Colts (1-0) [1pm CBS]
The two sophomores are going head to head. I’m going to have
to pick the Colts for the win.
Browns (0-1) @ Ravens (0-1) [1pm CBS]
Sorry Browns I have to pick the Ravens for the win but by
all means surprises are welcome.
Titans (1-0) @ Texans (1-0) [1pm CBS]
Sorry Abby I’m picking the Texans to win but I hope for your
sake I’m wrong.
Chargers (0-1) @ Eagles (1-0) [1pm CBS]
Dangit! I’ve got to pick the Eagles to win. I’m not happy
about this.
Lions (1-0) @ Cardinals (0-1) [4:05pm FOX]
I’m taking the Lions over the birds.
Saints (1-0) @ Buccaneers (0-1) [4:05pm FOX]
I’m calling the Saints over the Bucs.
Jaguars (0-1) @ Raiders (0-1) [4:25pm CBS]
I’m going with the Raiders over the Jags.
Broncos (1-0) @ NY Giants (0-1) [4:25pm CBS]
I’ve got $20 riding on the Manning Bowl. The bet is with my
dad. He wasn’t too thrilled that I said the Giants were going 0-2 this week,
but after the last game I feel like I’m being pretty realistic. I think big brother is going to thrash little
brother. I’m picking the Broncos for the win, and it hurts. I hate picking against
the Giants, so Gmen stop pissing me off! David Wilson, hold the ball high and
tight! Eli STOP throwing interceptions. Oh yes, and welcome back Brandon Jacobs
please don’t go all toddler again and throw your helmet into the stands when
you get upset.
49ers (1-0) @ Seahawks (1-0) [8:30pm NBC]
I don’t know if it’s a joke or not but there is a Madden
commercial on right now with 49ers QB Kaepernick and Seahawks QB Wilson betting
on a win. The loser shaves an eyebrow. I’m going to pick the Seahawks to win in
hopes to see Kaepernick with one eyebrow. Hopefully it also shaves off some of
his cockiness.
Monday September 16th
Steelers (0-1) @ Bengals
(0-1) [8:30pm ESPN]
I’m picking the
Bengals!
Even though I’m betting against them GO GMEN!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment