Saturday, October 29, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 8 '11


The Shenoa Report
October 28, 2011
Regular Season Week 8


Hello sports fans! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. I really appreciate it.
This past week I took a break from my crazy friends, the bar, and the Sunday Ticket and I decided to watch football on the couch. It was a pretty good decision on my part. I felt I could do this because the Giants had a bye and the Colts were on primetime.
The big news in football this week is Tim Tebow. Not only did he start this past Sunday he also led his team from a 15 point deficit to an overtime victory. On top of that, he has started a new craze.  Instead of planking, people are now Tebowing. True story. If you don’t know about “planking” or “Tebowing”, Google it. If you don’t know about Google I don’t know how you are reading this now.
In other football news T.O. had his workout for the NFL scouts. But NONE of the NFL scouts came out to watch the workout. It looks like his NFL career is over. Darn.
Lets jump in and recap week 7.

Washington @ Carolina 20-33
This was a phenomenal game for Carolina. Yes, I did just use the words phenomenal and Carolina in the same sentence. Cam was amazing yet again as he ran for his seventh touchdown of the season. He has tied the record Vince Young holds as most rushing TD’s by a rookie.  Pretty sure that record will be broken very soon.  Cam can’t take all the credit for the win, Steve Smith made some VERY remarkable catches as well. Everything seemed to be clicking on the field except for the 14 penalties Carolina held, 9 in the first half! So it wasn’t the prettiest of games but I was glad to see Carolina get the win especially against the Redskins! And the bad news for the Redskins keeps coming with the team losing Santana Moss and Tim Hightower to injuries. I think its pretty safe to say I won’t be sporting any Redskins attire at the end of the season.

Seattle @ Cleveland 3-6
Not much to say about this game. I mean, look at the score 3 field goals… Wow intense game. (Insert sarcasm here)

Atlanta @ Detroit 23-16
Detroit has lost two consecutive games at home! Those are the games you need to win. Those should be your easy games because you have that “12th player” the fans. They are saying that Matt Stafford is injured and that might have played into their loss but really they just didn’t play their best and they went against Atlanta’s Tony Gonzalez who had a heck of a game.

Denver @ Miami 18-15 OT
With just a little less than 3 minutes left in the game Tim Tebow brought his team back with 15 points to force overtime. And you know the rest. Hopefully next time Timmy can be good the other 57 minutes. But when it counted and mattered Tebow brought them to a win. Man is he fun to watch.

San Diego @ New York Jets 21-27
In this game the Jets said “Hey! We’re not done yet! Don’t give up on us!” I totally thought the Chargers had this game. I was wrong. The Jets defense stepped up and capitalized on a Rivers pick and Plaxico had not one, not two, but three TDs. (Man I wish he still played for the Giants.) Sanchez did have an interception but he also had 3 TD passes, while Rivers had only one TD and two interceptions. Well played Jets.


Chicago @ Tampa Bay 24-18
Pretty sure the Bears defense is who ultimately won this game for Chicago as they intercepted Josh Freeman four times.  It made Jay Cutler look good with one TD and two interceptions. Matt Forte also was a key player in the Bears win when he ran for 145 yds and a touchdown.  It’s kinda sad that the good people of London’s experience of the NFL was the Bears and the Bucs. The least the NFL could do would be to send over the Patriots (and keep them); I’m just sayin

Houston @ Tennessee 41-7
Maybe Tennessee is taking pointers from the Colts? I don’t know but this game was embarrassing for the AFC South.  Arian Foster had a beast of a game for Houston with three TDs (two rushing and one receiving). Tennessee’s Hasselbeck didn’t do so well having only one TD and two interceptions. Houston now sits at the top of their division, which isn’t saying a lot for any of the teams in the division.  Oh how I miss the days when Peyton played in the AFC South.

Pittsburgh @ Arizona 32-20
It’s really no surprise that Pittsburgh won this game.  Arizona only had one win going in. So there shouldn’t be too much gloating. I mean, 2 weeks ago they beat Jacksonville oooooooh. This week Arizona aaaaaaaaaah. But next week they play the Patriots… Now if they can beat them there’s a little room to gloat. But hey, even the Bills beat the Pats this season.

Kansas City @ Oakland 28-0
HOLY CRAP KC!  It’s pretty safe to say that NOBODY saw that win coming, Chiefs fans included.  I’m speechless. I just wish I had the Chiefs D in fantasy for this game.

St. Louis  @ Dallas 7-34
I will now introduce you to the “suck for luck” approach to football. Andrew Luck, QB for Stanford, will most likely be the #1 draft pick in the 2012 NFL Draft. The kid is incredible. And we all know that the team with the worst record at the end of the season will get the first draft pick.  So who’s going to get Luck(y)? The competition right now is fierce with 3 winless teams going into week 8. (Miami, Indianapolis, and St. Louis)
Anyway, after this sad loss to the Cowboys the Rams don’t seem to be trying too hard to win. But they don’t need Andrew Luck they have Sam Bradford and he’ll get better.  I just wish they could have pulled off a win against the Cowboys. Oh well.

Green Bay @ Minnesota 33-27
I thought this was going to be an ugly blowout of a game. Again I was wrong. At one point I actually thought that Minnesota was going to pull out a win against the defending  Super Bowl champs.  Either way it was an exciting game to watch.  Christian Ponder, the rookie QB for the Vikings, didn’t look as green as many would have thought even though he had as many interceptions as TDs, two each. Maybe there is hope for the Vikings.

Indianapolis @ New Orleans 7-62
All I have to say is that the Colts get the gold star this week for the “suck for luck” competition. There are really no other comments necessary.

Baltimore @ Jacksonville 7-12
Some of the commentators and analysts are actually saying that this game was uglier than the Colts Saints game, if not it was a close second.  The Ravens didn’t even have a 1st down until the end of the 3rd quarter. It was a hard game to watch. Ray Rice, the Ravens top rusher only had 28 yards the entire game!  The Ravens finished with a TOTAL of 146 yards. It was just ugly. UGLY.

I had 8 wins and 5 losses in picks for week 7

WEEK 8

Miami (0-6) @ New York Giants (4-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m going with the GMEN. They should be getting some key starters back this weekend and they are coming off a bye so they should be refreshed and ready to go!

Jacksonville (2-5) @ Houston (4-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m going with Houston only because I think Jacksonville’s win last week was a fluke.

Indianapolis (0-7) @ Tennessee (3-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Oh lord. Pretty sure Titans are going to win this one and it makes me sad. Very sad.

Minnesota (1-6) @ Carolina (2-5) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Minnesota looked good last week but Carolina was astounding. I’d like to see Carolina win another one at home. I’m going with the Panthers again this week.

New Orleans (5-2) @ St. Louis (0-6) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’ve got to take the Saints.

Arizona (1-5) @ Baltimore (4-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I think Baltimore is going to bounce back this week and take the W.
Detroit (5-2) @ Denver (2-4) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
As much as I’d like to see Tebow win at home I’m picking Megatron and the Lions for the win this week.

Washington (3-3) @ Buffalo (4-2) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
I’m going with Buffalo at “home”. They are actually playing in Toronto but it counts as their home game.  Don’t let me down Buffalo I still “BILLEVE”

New England (5-1) @ Pittsburgh (5-2) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’m going with New England but I hope both QBs eat dirt A LOT.

Cleveland (3-3) @ San Francisco (5-1) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I don’t think the Browns even have a chance. I’m taking the 49ers.

Cincinnati (4-2) @ Seattle (2-4) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’d like to see Seattle win but I’m picking the Bengals for the win.

Dallas (3-3) @ Eagles (2-4) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
I’d love a tie. But I’ll take the Eagles at home for the win because that still leaves the Giants safely at the top of the NFC East. (As it should be)

San Diego (4-2) @ Kansas City (3-3) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]
And my crazy pick of the week. I’m going to take KC.  Crazy I know. That’s why it’s called my crazy pick of the week.

Byes this week are the Falcons, Bears, Packers, Jets, Raiders, and Buccaneers

GO GMEN AND COLTS!

Thanks for the read-over and edit Mom!

No comments:

Post a Comment