Sunday, October 2, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 4 '11


The Shenoa Report
October 2, 2011
Regular Season Week 4

The problem with watching football in this day and age is if you don’t have the NFL Sunday Ticket, and you don’t live in the state your team plays, it’s not so easy to watch your team. My plan for last week was to go to Buffalo Wild Wings (because they have the Sunday Ticket) with a friend to watch football alllll afternoon. I was most looking forward to watching the Giants game. But then, Sunday morning around 10:30 I got a text from my friend asking to reschedule because he wasn’t feeling well. I was bummed but I didn’t lose heart. I quickly called another friend, who I knew loved watching football, and asked what her plans were for the day. She invited me over to watch football (she has the Sunday Ticket as well) and I was super excited. She did say that she, and her friends, might go out to a bar to watch the game but it would be ok because where they were going also had the Sunday Ticket. So I put my #10 Giants jersey on and headed to Courtenay’s house. When I got there she was getting ready and told me to head next door because we were going out to Hartigans to watch the game. I went next door and walked into “Panther fan central”. I was told to get out and that I couldn’t wear that jersey in their house. I took a deep breath and smiled. I’ll fast forward to getting to the bar. The bar was right next to Panthers stadium. The Panthers game was on every TV. When I asked for them to change one of the TVs to the Giants game they said “No. When the Panthers play we only play their game.” To make matters worse my phone didn’t get any reception so I couldn’t even check the scores or call my dad for updates, and when I was able to send or receive texts they were few and far between. Then it began to rain. It poured. And then the satellite went out and I couldn’t even watch the Panthers game.  Lesson learned, don’t go to Hartigans Irish Pub in Charlotte if the Panthers are playing, or ever. Needless to say I watched A LOT of Sports Center, NFL Live, Inside the NFL, and read countless articles this week so I could feel like I watched the Giants game as well as all the other games I missed Sunday.

Lets recap week 3

New England @ Buffalo 31-34
Last week I said “if I were a betting girl I’d have to pick the Pats to win this game.” AND THAT’S WHY I DON’T BET! I don’t know what’s better, a Bills win or a Patriots loss, but coupled together it’s pure awesomeness. With that win I am jumping on the Bills bandwagon! PS Brady threw 4 interceptions in this game, that’s how many he threw all last year! Suck it Brady! If you have some extra time check out this article on the Bills: http://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/news?slug=lc-carpenter_buffalo_bills_jim_kelly092811
 
Jacksonville @ Carolina 10-16
Carolina wins at home in the rain, err monsoon. It wasn’t a pretty win but a win is a win. My favorite part of this game was when Carolina scored a safety against the Jacksonville offense and I had to explain this concept to the guy across the table from me. He said to me, “And that is why I sell my season tickets every year. I don’t get football.”
 
San Francisco @ Cincinnati 13-8
I’m kind of surprised that Cincinnati lost but not really. Neither team is really great this year.  I guess we’ll just call it a building season for each of these teams, even though they’ve been in building seasons for many years now.
 
Miami @ Cleveland 16-17
Colt McCoy had 2 TDs this game while Chad Henne had only one. Both QBs had an interception. If you are a Browns fan you are happy that your team is 2-1. On the other hand the Dolphins are in trouble after this loss.
 
Detroit @ Minnesota 26-23 OT
Minnesota has lead at half time for 3 weeks in a row. Minnesota has blown the lead and lost 3 weeks in a row.  Detroit just didn’t give up coming from a 20-point deficit to win in overtime. The Lions are looking pretty legit this season.
 
Houston @ New Orleans 33-40
If you want to see a shootout tune into a Saints game. Two out of the three games they have played this year have been shootouts. This game was no different. Houston might have won this game if they could have scored touchdowns and not have settled for 4 field goals in the red zone.
 
New York Giants @ Philadelphia 29-16
I have watched and re-watched this game’s highlights over, and over, and over again.
I’m also bringing back the binkie award from last year and awarding it to Michael Vick. You are a smaller QB who likes to hold onto the ball instead of getting rid of it and you don’t stay in the pocket. You are going to get hit. Stop crying about it. And if you’re going to complain maybe you should point fingers at your line for not protecting you better. Just sayin. With that being said HOW ‘BOUT THOSE GMEN?!?!?!??!!!!!!!!!!! This was a big, huge win for our boys. Going into Philly and ripping apart the “dream team” was beautiful and a sight to behold.  I loved how our first score came off a Vick interception, and the hits and scores just kept coming. The Giants defense played great and Eli didn’t have ANY interceptions! Well played GMEN, well played! My only regret in this game was having to settle for watching the highlights and not watching the entire game.
 
Denver @ Tennessee 14-17
Hasselbeck had two touchdowns, Orton also had two touchdowns but also had two interceptions and that killed the Broncos.
 
New York Jets @ Oakland 24-34
I don’t know what team was playing Oakland, but it wasn’t the Jets I know and love. What a painful loss in Oakland for New York. Sanchez wasn’t eating a hotdog on the sideline at the end of this game like he did two years ago when they won 38-0. Oh how the times have changed.
 
Kansas City @ San Diego 17-20
I scratched my head when I looked at the stats of this game and saw that Matt Cassel had two touchdowns and one interception while Phillip Rivers didn’t have any touchdowns and two interceptions yet KC lost the game. I have no words.
 
Baltimore @ St. Louis 37-7
The big news in this game was Baltimore’s rookie Torrey Smith’s first three receptions were also touchdowns. The only bad thing for Smith is his stats will probably not be as remarkable in weeks to come. Baltimore needed this win after their embarrassing loss last week. The Rams are just plain embarrassing.
 
Green Bay @ Chicago 27-17
This win isn’t really news. I have to say that Green Bay does not seem to be suffering from a superbowl hangover. Rodgers did throw his first interception of the season but, it was caught by Urlacher (who is very well known on the Bears defense for ruining opposing quarterbacks days). 
 
Arizona @ Seattle 10-13
I was wrong in picking Arizona. Larry only had one TD and didn’t light it up as much as I thought he would.
 
Atlanta @ Tampa Bay 13-16
Tampa Bay simply played a better game and won. I was wrong in picking Atlanta.
 
Pittsburgh @ Indianapolis 23-20
I’ll say this. Indi sure did make this an actual game instead of their usual shenanigans as of late. It also showed that Pittsburgh is probably in trouble if they just edged by Indi. I love the Colts but I know they aren’t going to be good this season. What is the Steelers excuse?
 
Washington @ Dallas 16-18
I almost had my tied game. Dallas won by only scoring field goals. And now the NFC East has a 3-way tie for first place and that’s all I could ask for after week 3.


10W-6L for my picks on week 3

WEEK 4

Carolina (1-2) @ Chicago (1-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’ll be rooting for Carolina but picking Chicago for the win

Buffalo (3-0) @ Cincinnati (1-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m going with Buffalo and now that I’m on their bandwagon I’ll be pulling for them too

Tennessee (2-1) @ Cleveland (2-1) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m picking Cleveland at home. Don’t let me down Brownies

Detroit (3-0) @ Dallas (2-1) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m picking Detroit and I’m pretty sure Suh is going to get to Romo… more than once.

Pittsburgh (2-1) @ Houston (2-1) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m picking Houston even though it doesn’t help Indi any if they win.

New Orleans (2-1) @ Jacksonville (1-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Saints.

Minnesota (0-3) @ Kansas City (0-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
This game pretty much guarantees the biggest loser in the NFL. I’m picking KC to win this, though I don’t know why.

San Francisco (2-1) @ Philadelphia (1-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
How sweet it’d be if the 49ers won. I’ll be rooting for them but I’m picking the Eagles to win.

Washington (2-1) @ St. Louis (0-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’d like to see the Rams win but I don’t think it’s going to happen. They are pathetic. I’m picking Washington to win but I don’t want them too.

New York Giants (2-1) @ Arizona (1-2) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
Osi, Tuck, and Manningham took the plane to Arizona and are expected to play which is good news for the Giants. I am picking the GMEN for the win.

Atlanta (1-2) @ Seattle (1-2) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
I’m picking Seattle, not sure why.

Denver (1-2) @ Green Bay (3-0) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’m picking Green Bay

New England (2-1) @ Oakland (2-1) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’m picking Oakland. I’m hoping Brady is like Sampson and all his power was in his hair so instead of throwing 4 interceptions he’ll throw 8 this Sunday.

Miami (0-3) @ San Diego (2-1) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I really don’t see Miami winning this Sunday. I’m going with the Chargers.

New York Jets (2-1) @ Baltimore (2-1) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
I hope the Jets win but I’m going to have to pick Baltimore.

Indianapolis (0-3) @ Tampa Bay (2-1) [Monday 8:30pm ESPN]
Painter is the starting QB for Tampa, I mean,  Indi… I’m picking Tampa for the win.  I miss Peyton and how the team played when he was on the field…

LETS GO GMEN, COLTS, AND BILLS!

No comments:

Post a Comment