Saturday, October 29, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 8 '11


The Shenoa Report
October 28, 2011
Regular Season Week 8


Hello sports fans! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. I really appreciate it.
This past week I took a break from my crazy friends, the bar, and the Sunday Ticket and I decided to watch football on the couch. It was a pretty good decision on my part. I felt I could do this because the Giants had a bye and the Colts were on primetime.
The big news in football this week is Tim Tebow. Not only did he start this past Sunday he also led his team from a 15 point deficit to an overtime victory. On top of that, he has started a new craze.  Instead of planking, people are now Tebowing. True story. If you don’t know about “planking” or “Tebowing”, Google it. If you don’t know about Google I don’t know how you are reading this now.
In other football news T.O. had his workout for the NFL scouts. But NONE of the NFL scouts came out to watch the workout. It looks like his NFL career is over. Darn.
Lets jump in and recap week 7.

Washington @ Carolina 20-33
This was a phenomenal game for Carolina. Yes, I did just use the words phenomenal and Carolina in the same sentence. Cam was amazing yet again as he ran for his seventh touchdown of the season. He has tied the record Vince Young holds as most rushing TD’s by a rookie.  Pretty sure that record will be broken very soon.  Cam can’t take all the credit for the win, Steve Smith made some VERY remarkable catches as well. Everything seemed to be clicking on the field except for the 14 penalties Carolina held, 9 in the first half! So it wasn’t the prettiest of games but I was glad to see Carolina get the win especially against the Redskins! And the bad news for the Redskins keeps coming with the team losing Santana Moss and Tim Hightower to injuries. I think its pretty safe to say I won’t be sporting any Redskins attire at the end of the season.

Seattle @ Cleveland 3-6
Not much to say about this game. I mean, look at the score 3 field goals… Wow intense game. (Insert sarcasm here)

Atlanta @ Detroit 23-16
Detroit has lost two consecutive games at home! Those are the games you need to win. Those should be your easy games because you have that “12th player” the fans. They are saying that Matt Stafford is injured and that might have played into their loss but really they just didn’t play their best and they went against Atlanta’s Tony Gonzalez who had a heck of a game.

Denver @ Miami 18-15 OT
With just a little less than 3 minutes left in the game Tim Tebow brought his team back with 15 points to force overtime. And you know the rest. Hopefully next time Timmy can be good the other 57 minutes. But when it counted and mattered Tebow brought them to a win. Man is he fun to watch.

San Diego @ New York Jets 21-27
In this game the Jets said “Hey! We’re not done yet! Don’t give up on us!” I totally thought the Chargers had this game. I was wrong. The Jets defense stepped up and capitalized on a Rivers pick and Plaxico had not one, not two, but three TDs. (Man I wish he still played for the Giants.) Sanchez did have an interception but he also had 3 TD passes, while Rivers had only one TD and two interceptions. Well played Jets.


Chicago @ Tampa Bay 24-18
Pretty sure the Bears defense is who ultimately won this game for Chicago as they intercepted Josh Freeman four times.  It made Jay Cutler look good with one TD and two interceptions. Matt Forte also was a key player in the Bears win when he ran for 145 yds and a touchdown.  It’s kinda sad that the good people of London’s experience of the NFL was the Bears and the Bucs. The least the NFL could do would be to send over the Patriots (and keep them); I’m just sayin

Houston @ Tennessee 41-7
Maybe Tennessee is taking pointers from the Colts? I don’t know but this game was embarrassing for the AFC South.  Arian Foster had a beast of a game for Houston with three TDs (two rushing and one receiving). Tennessee’s Hasselbeck didn’t do so well having only one TD and two interceptions. Houston now sits at the top of their division, which isn’t saying a lot for any of the teams in the division.  Oh how I miss the days when Peyton played in the AFC South.

Pittsburgh @ Arizona 32-20
It’s really no surprise that Pittsburgh won this game.  Arizona only had one win going in. So there shouldn’t be too much gloating. I mean, 2 weeks ago they beat Jacksonville oooooooh. This week Arizona aaaaaaaaaah. But next week they play the Patriots… Now if they can beat them there’s a little room to gloat. But hey, even the Bills beat the Pats this season.

Kansas City @ Oakland 28-0
HOLY CRAP KC!  It’s pretty safe to say that NOBODY saw that win coming, Chiefs fans included.  I’m speechless. I just wish I had the Chiefs D in fantasy for this game.

St. Louis  @ Dallas 7-34
I will now introduce you to the “suck for luck” approach to football. Andrew Luck, QB for Stanford, will most likely be the #1 draft pick in the 2012 NFL Draft. The kid is incredible. And we all know that the team with the worst record at the end of the season will get the first draft pick.  So who’s going to get Luck(y)? The competition right now is fierce with 3 winless teams going into week 8. (Miami, Indianapolis, and St. Louis)
Anyway, after this sad loss to the Cowboys the Rams don’t seem to be trying too hard to win. But they don’t need Andrew Luck they have Sam Bradford and he’ll get better.  I just wish they could have pulled off a win against the Cowboys. Oh well.

Green Bay @ Minnesota 33-27
I thought this was going to be an ugly blowout of a game. Again I was wrong. At one point I actually thought that Minnesota was going to pull out a win against the defending  Super Bowl champs.  Either way it was an exciting game to watch.  Christian Ponder, the rookie QB for the Vikings, didn’t look as green as many would have thought even though he had as many interceptions as TDs, two each. Maybe there is hope for the Vikings.

Indianapolis @ New Orleans 7-62
All I have to say is that the Colts get the gold star this week for the “suck for luck” competition. There are really no other comments necessary.

Baltimore @ Jacksonville 7-12
Some of the commentators and analysts are actually saying that this game was uglier than the Colts Saints game, if not it was a close second.  The Ravens didn’t even have a 1st down until the end of the 3rd quarter. It was a hard game to watch. Ray Rice, the Ravens top rusher only had 28 yards the entire game!  The Ravens finished with a TOTAL of 146 yards. It was just ugly. UGLY.

I had 8 wins and 5 losses in picks for week 7

WEEK 8

Miami (0-6) @ New York Giants (4-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m going with the GMEN. They should be getting some key starters back this weekend and they are coming off a bye so they should be refreshed and ready to go!

Jacksonville (2-5) @ Houston (4-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m going with Houston only because I think Jacksonville’s win last week was a fluke.

Indianapolis (0-7) @ Tennessee (3-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Oh lord. Pretty sure Titans are going to win this one and it makes me sad. Very sad.

Minnesota (1-6) @ Carolina (2-5) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Minnesota looked good last week but Carolina was astounding. I’d like to see Carolina win another one at home. I’m going with the Panthers again this week.

New Orleans (5-2) @ St. Louis (0-6) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’ve got to take the Saints.

Arizona (1-5) @ Baltimore (4-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I think Baltimore is going to bounce back this week and take the W.
Detroit (5-2) @ Denver (2-4) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
As much as I’d like to see Tebow win at home I’m picking Megatron and the Lions for the win this week.

Washington (3-3) @ Buffalo (4-2) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
I’m going with Buffalo at “home”. They are actually playing in Toronto but it counts as their home game.  Don’t let me down Buffalo I still “BILLEVE”

New England (5-1) @ Pittsburgh (5-2) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’m going with New England but I hope both QBs eat dirt A LOT.

Cleveland (3-3) @ San Francisco (5-1) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I don’t think the Browns even have a chance. I’m taking the 49ers.

Cincinnati (4-2) @ Seattle (2-4) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’d like to see Seattle win but I’m picking the Bengals for the win.

Dallas (3-3) @ Eagles (2-4) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
I’d love a tie. But I’ll take the Eagles at home for the win because that still leaves the Giants safely at the top of the NFC East. (As it should be)

San Diego (4-2) @ Kansas City (3-3) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]
And my crazy pick of the week. I’m going to take KC.  Crazy I know. That’s why it’s called my crazy pick of the week.

Byes this week are the Falcons, Bears, Packers, Jets, Raiders, and Buccaneers

GO GMEN AND COLTS!

Thanks for the read-over and edit Mom!

Saturday, October 22, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 7 '11


The Shenoa Report
October 23, 2011
Regular Season Week 7

This past week was definitely better than week 5. But any week is a great week with a Giants win. If you follow this blog you know that I try to get out every Sunday to a place with the Sunday Ticket, this past Sunday was no different. Lately I’ve been watching the games with a bunch of guys (Eagles fans, Redskins fans, Steelers fans, Raiders fans, and Chiefs fans) it’s a sight to be seen. Anyway, guys like to make bets I’ve observed. Therefore I decided to take a bet with them. One of the guys said that the Redskins would win the NFC East and if they didn’t he would shave his head. First I laughed. And then I said “Yeah, I’d like to see you with a shaved head. I’ll take that bet.” So, if the Redskins do not take the NFC East he’ll shave his head but if they do (and it makes me nauseous even thinking about this) I’ll wear Redskins attire for a week.  Oh the Shenanigans I get myself into. Lets recap week 6.


Carolina @ Atlanta 17-31
Boy was I wrong calling a Carolina win. Cam had 3 interceptions this game and that is what ultimately hurt the Panthers. It was a tough loss. Sorry Carolina fans it looks like you’re on the same road as last year. Even if you are in the game right up till the end its still a loss.

Indianapolis @ Cincinnati 17-27
This really breaks my heart. I now know what it must have felt like to be a Detroit fan for the past 15 years. Indi just can’t catch a break. They are actually right back to where they were before Peyton Manning… horrible. Cincinnati just capitalized on Colts mistakes and took the game from Indi. I will say this though, it’s a lot easier rooting for Painter than it was for Collins… and that’s my silver lining.

San Francisco @ Detroit 25-19
A loss at home must have stunned Detroit fans this past Sunday. I know it stunned me. If you watched the hand shakes after the game was over you would have seen just as much intensity. There was a little scuffle between the head coaches. It was a little silly if you ask me. Detroit is no longer perfect after this devastating loss.

St. Louis @ Green Bay 3-24
Well at least the Colts are not the only winless team in the NFL and I can thank the St. Louis Rams (and the Dolphins) for that. This game was really no contest.

Buffalo @ New York Giants 24-27
Thanks boys for playing to the best of your ability and coming out with a beautiful win. It was a close game and a real nail-biter if you ask me. Bradshaw had an amazing game with over 100 rushing yards and 3 touchdowns! Eli also didn’t have any interceptions and NY didn’t have any turnovers! Fitzpatrick, on the other hand, had the only two turnovers in the game.  Great game GMEN!

Jacksonville @ Pittsburgh 13-17
Well Pittsburgh won but like my friend said multiple times this past Sunday “Really? You’re playing Jacksonville. Umm you’re playing Jacksonville.”  And yeah the Steelers won… but barely.

Philadelphia @ Washington 20-13
I’m not gonna say that I’m happy that Philly won, I would have much rather seen a tie, but it was good to see Washington lose.  And as the bet mentioned before every Redskins loss is just one step closer to my friend walking around with a shaved head and me continuing to sport my Giants jersey.

Houston @ Baltimore 14-29
The Ravens just played the better game and came up with the win. Flacco had a great game even though he had an interception he threw for over 300 yards. Schaub, of the Texans just couldn’t bring his team to victory.

Cleveland @ Oakland 17-24
Oakland lost their starting QB to a broken collar bone but won the game. There were more ceremonies for the late Al Davis who would have been proud of his team because they did just what he would have told them to do “Just win, baby”

Dallas @ New England 16-20
My friend Martha said this past Sunday morning before this game: “So the Patriots and the Cowboys are playing each other today. Know the best possible outcome of that game? Team buses crash into each other on the way to the stadium = teams gone forever.” As harsh as it may sound I would have to agree with her, that would have been the best possible outcome but that’s not what happened. A Dallas loss is AWLAYS awesome but a Pats win never is. Although it was nice to see Brady throw two interceptions. So I’ll call this game a draw for me. At least I picked New England to win. Booo

New Orleans @ Tampa Bay 20-26
Tampa Bay shocked the Saints with Brees getting picked off three times and then taking the game. I did not see that coming.

Minnesota @ Chicago 10-39
Pretty sure this may be the last time you’ll see McNabb as the starting QB for Minnesota.  Chicago held Adrian Peterson to just 39 yards and Cutler didn’t have any interceptions. Chicago actually looked good, Minnesota did not.

Miami @ New York Jets 6-24
The Jets took the win, which isn’t surprising and Miami is still winless this season. But hey so are my Colts and the Rams so the Dolphins are in some pretty good company.

8 wins 5 losses on week 6 picks. (not my best week for picks)
WEEK 7

Washington (3-2) @ Carolina (1-5) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Well Rex Grossman has been benched and now John Beck is the Redskins QB. They lost to the Eagles last week but it seems like Carolina loses every week. I’m really pulling for a Carolina win this week.  I’m picking the Panthers for the win… Don’t let me down Carolina. Please.

Seattle (2-3) @ Cleveland (2-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m going with the Browns at home.

Atlanta (3-3) @ Detroit (5-1) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Detroit has another chance at home this week to bring the city a win.  I’m picking the Lions because I think they want the win more. We’ll see Sunday.

Denver (1-4) @ Miami (0-5) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Tebow is going to get his first start so I’ve got to pick Denver for the win. Besides, someone has to keep the other winless teams company.

San Diego (4-1) @ New York Jets (3-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’d like to see the Jets win but I don’t know if they have it in them this week. San Diego is coming off their bye refreshed. I think it’ll be a close game but I’m picking the Chargers

Chicago (3-3) @ Tampa Bay (4-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
This is the London game so no one really has home field advantage; therefore, I’m going to have to pick Chicago for the upset.

Houston (3-3) @ Tennessee (3-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
With the Colts soundly at the bottom of the AFC South these two teams are fighting for the top. And only because the Colts have no chance at a post season this year I’ll pick Tennessee this week. (That was for you Abby)

Pittsburgh (4-2) @ Arizona (1-4) [Sunday 4:05pm CBS]
Oh how I would love to see Arizona win this one. But I know better than to pick them. I’m taking the Steelers for the win.

Kansas City (2-3) @ Oakland (4-2) [Sunday 4:05pm CBS]
I’m pretty sure Oakland will win this even with the Palmer QB controversy.

St. Louis (0-5) @ Dallas (2-3) [Sunday 4:15pm FOX]
Dear Rams, please win. Love, shenoa. PS I’m picking Dallas for the W even though it makes me sad.

Green Bay (6-0) @ Minnesota (1-5) [Sunday 4:15pm FOX]
Green Bay is going 7-0 this week.
Indianapolis (0-6) @ New Orleans (4-2) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
The Saints should have an easy game but I hope the Colts put up a good fight.  I’m picking New Orleans for the win.

Baltimore (4-1) @ Jacksonville (1-5) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]
I’m taking Baltimore for the win.

The Bills, Bengals, Patriots, Giants, Eagles, and 49ers all have byes this week.

May the GMEN stay on top of the NFC East even on their bye week! GO GMEN AND GO COLTS!

Thanks Mom for the editing!

Saturday, October 15, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 6 '11


The Shenoa Report
October 11, 2011
Regular Season Week 6

If you had told me a year ago that the Colts would be 0-5 and the Lions would be 5-0 headed into week 6 of the 2011 season I would have laughed in your face. Maybe the world really is coming to an end.  This weekend was a nightmare for my teams. And drowning my sorrows didn’t help. I’m pretty sure I still have a headache and its Tuesday afternoon as I write this. The only thing that makes me feel a little bit better is that the Eagles are 1-4 and Brett Favre is still retired.
Other big football news this week is that Tim Tebow will be the Bronco’s starting QB. They have also decided to have the 2015 Super Bowl in Glendale Arizona again. Remember that last time it was there? Probably one of the best nights of my life, hands down! Awwwww memories… As much as it pains me to do this lets recap last week 5.

Philadelphia @ Buffalo 24-31
Things started off great in Buffalo where the Bills beat the Eagles.  (At least one of NY’s teams won)

New Orleans @ Carolina 30-27
I was right, it was a close game but the Saints came out on top. Carolina looks better and better every week. If Shockey could have caught a ball in the second half of the game the Panthers might have come out with a win. It’s ok Jeremy I still love you.

Oakland @ Houston 25-20
Oakland played their hearts out Sunday afternoon. As sad as Al Davis’ passing was for the nation I think it gave the Raiders the little something they needed to pull together and win this game.

Kansas City @ Indianapolis 28-24
I thought the Colts had this one all wrapped up but they forgot that there were four quarters of play and not just the first two.  On a good note Painter didn’t throw any interceptions and this is something we could not say about Collins. Maybe next week the Colts will play the entire game… being the only team 0-5 hurts.

Cincinnati @ Jacksonville 30-20
This is another game I got wrong.  It’s amazing how many things can change in a year.  Jacksonville won 8 games last year and now they have only won 1 this year. The Bengals won 4 games last year and have already won 3 this year. 

Arizona @ Minnesota 10-34
Yay for the Vikings! They got their first W this past weekend! I knew they could do it! McNabb saved his job for at least another week. Adrian Peterson was a big help in the win scoring 3 touchdowns in the first quarter. He also helped me win in my fantasy league. Glad I started that guy.

Seattle @ New York Giants 36-25
This game made me almost vomit… literally. Being that I live in North Carolina I rarely get to see the Giants games on TV if the Panthers game is on. I was hoping the Carolina game would get done early so they would switch it to the Giants. So the Panthers game ended and they did switch to the Giants game with a minute left and the Giants were 1st and goal. I was soooo happy because I’d been following the game on my phone and knew they were behind but we were just about to score. And then I saw Manning throw the ball to Cruz, and Cruz bobbled it, and it slipped out of his hands and into the hands of Browner of the Seahawks… I said, “I think I’m going to be sick” and walked away. So disappointed. I can’t talk about this anymore.

Tennessee @ Pittsburgh 17-38
The Steelers ended the Titans 3 game-winning streak this past Sunday. Big Ben played with a sprained foot, which I think the Titans didn’t know about or didn’t use to their advantage because he threw for 5 touchdowns.  Way to go Titans…

Tampa Bay @ San Francisco 3-48
I’m not sure what happened here. Maybe Tampa thought they were playing at home and that’s why they didn’t show up to the game. With a score like this one I was expecting to hear on sports center “Montana to Rice” a couple few times.  Either way the 49ers are looking pretty legit.

San Diego @ Denver 29-24
This was an exciting game to watch (not so much the first half) Fox finally decided to put Tebow in in the 3rd quarter and the whole stadium came to life. I’ve actually never seen a crowd so happy about a loss. Tim almost brought the team to a victory after an amazing rally. (It would have helped if his receivers could have hung onto the balls that were thrown their way). I too am glad to see Timmy in action on the field. It’s hard not to want to see the good guys succeed.

New York Jets @ New England 21-30
The Jets could have had this game but they just aren’t the boys they were last year. It’s never easy to watch New England beat a NY team. I have nothing more to say about this.

Green Bay @ Atlanta 25-14
I only watched the first half of this game and it wasn’t looking good for the Packers.
In this case it was a good thing there were four quarters. The Falcons didn’t let the Packers score a touchdown the entire first half but Rodgers and the boys got the ball rolling in the second half. They had 25 unanswered points. The Packers are still perfect.

Chicago @ Detroit 13-24
I wasn’t really surprised that the Lions won this one. This is the first time they’ve been 5-0 since 1956. Calvin Johnson is a monster. They are actually calling him Megatron. For all my Lions fans let me say “it’s about time isn’t it?!”

9W-4L picks for week 5

WEEK 6

Carolina (1-4) @ Atlanta (2-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Carolina has had a lot of close games and I think that they can win this week. I’m picking the Panthers.

Indianapolis  (0-5) @ Cincinnati (3-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’d love nothing more than to see Indi win a game. Maybe they’ll do it this week but I’m not going to put money on it. I’m picking the Bengals.

San Francisco (4-1) @ Detroit (5-0) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
This is going to be a tough game for Detroit but I think they’ll go 6-0.

St. Louis (0-4) @ Green Bay (5-0) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Packers. It’s pretty much a no brainer.

Buffalo (4-1) @ New York Giants (3-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Well the Giants seem to be playing at their opponent’s level. So I’m going to have to pick the GMEN to win this game. (That and I never pick against them) Dear, Giants please, please, please don’t let me down this Sunday. My liver can’t take another loss right now. Love, Shenoa

Jacksonville (1-4) @ Pittsburgh (3-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Although I’d love to see Jacksonville kill Pittsburgh I just don’t see it happening. I’m picking the Steelers

Philadelphia (1-4) @ Washington (3-1) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Let me first say that the Giants need help in their division, therefore I need both of these teams to do poorly. Because Washington is doing better than Philly I’d like to see Washington lose. Actually I’d like to see a tie. But I don’t think that’ll happen. I’m hoping the Eagles can pull off a win, but I don’t see that happening either. I guess what I’m trying to say is Washington is going to win and I’m not happy about it.

Houston (3-2) @ Baltimore (3-1) [Sunday 4:05pm CBS]
I’m going with Baltimore.

Cleveland (2-2) @ Oakland (3-2) [Sunday 4:05pm CBS]
I’m going to have to pick Oakland for the win.

Dallas (2-2) @ New England (4-1) [Sunday 4:15pm FOX]
Ugh. This is kind of like the Eagles/Redskins game. I’m hoping for a tie.  But I’m picking New England to win. PS I HATE THE COWBOYS AND THE PATS….
True Story.

New Orleans (4-1) @ Tampa Bay (3-2) [Sunday 4:15pm FOX]
I’m going to pick the Saints for the win.

Minnesota (1-4) @ Chicago (2-3) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
As much as I’d like to pick Chicago to win I really feel like Minnesota is going to come in with the upset. This is my crazy pick of the week. I’m going with the Vikings.

Miami (0-4) @ New York Jets (2-3) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]
The Jets need this win. I’m picking NY.

If your team is the Cardinals, Broncos, Chiefs, Chargers, Seahawks, or Titans you can breathe easy knowing you can’t lose this weekend. You’ve got a bye week.

GO GMEN AND COLTS!

Thanks Mom and Kristen for the editing! Love you guys!

Saturday, October 8, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 5 '11


The Shenoa Report
October 8, 2011
Regular Season Week 5

This past weekend went A LOT better, for football watching anyway. The Sunday Ticket is a beautiful thing, especially when you get to experience it on 20-some big screen TVs. I was able to watch at least part of EVERY game this weekend and it was spectacular. Of course my focus was the Giants game but I was quite excited to see the Lions get past the Cowboys, San Francisco beat the Eagles, AND Houston embarrass the Steelers. It was a great day for football to say the least. Even KC picked up their first win of the season.

Here’s Week 4’s recap…

Carolina  @ Chicago 29-24
This was the first weekend I wasn’t forced to watch the entire Carolina game so I’m not gonna lie… I didn’t. I did watch the first half with my best bud Logan,  (he’s the 2 yr old I babysit and pretty much my favorite boy in the world) who fell asleep before the first quarter ended. I did teach him some key phrases like “GET HIM” and “GO GO GO” and “NO NO NO” Logan is a pretty quick learner. It’s a good thing he fell asleep before the expletives fell out of my mouth.  Anyway, the Panthers really looked pretty good except for letting Devin Hester run back the punt return for a touchdown. They are looking better than last year anyway.

Buffalo @ Cincinnati 20-23
This game was on the far side of the bar so I only caught glimpses of the game and didn’t hear any of it. If you are a Buffalo fan then you are probably blaming the loss on the refs and not on the players. Maybe Buffalo underestimated Cincinnati and just weren’t prepared. Either way the Bills aren’t perfect anymore.

Tennessee @ Cleveland 31-13
Why did I pick Cleveland to win this one? I’m not sure either. The Titans embarrassed the Browns at home.  Hasselbeck lit it up with three TD’s surprising the Brownies.

Detroit @ Dallas 34-30
HOW ‘BOUT THOSE LIONS?! They cut this one pretty close this time but they did not disappoint. The momentous collapse of the Cowboys was epic to watch.

Pittsburgh @ Houston 10-17
This was another epic fail by the Steelers. It was pretty entertaining to watch this game with a number of Steelers fans around getting angrier and angrier by the minute. I was surprised they stuck around after the game… probably to drown their sorrows.

New Orleans  @ Jacksonville 23-10
With the help of John Kasay’s clutch foot the Saints sailed past a pretty debilitated Jacksonville team. It was a pretty easy pick.

Minnesota  @ Kansas City 17-22
I watched this game with a KC fan and he was getting all upset because the Vikings were ahead in the 3rd quarter. I told him not to worry that KC would win because the Vikings always fail in the second half. And sure enough the Vikings fell apart and KC came out with their first win of the season.

San Francisco @ Philadelphia 24-23
How does this sound… the Eagles and the Chiefs now have the same record after their loss this past Sunday. When they took the name “the dream team” do you think they met they could only win in their dreams? That’s what it looks like and I’m totally ok with that. The 49ers had a slow start but didn’t give up in the second half and the Eagles couldn’t stop them.  Nice win San Francisco, thanks for helping out my Giants!

Washington @ St. Louis 17-10
Bradford was actually the better QB this game with 164 yard and 1 TD. Grossman had 143 yd, a TD and 2 interceptions. The Rams just couldn’t capitalize on the Redskins mistakes. Tough break St. Louis

New York Giants @ Arizona 31-27
I was pretty quiet this entire game. I watched it carefully and didn’t give up. Most, all of the Giants fans left the bar in the 3rd quarter and I felt all alone. My uncle called in the middle of the 3rd quarter and asked me where he should send the flowers because I was probably in mourning. I told him that I should probably be the one sending flowers because his team (The Bills) already lost and my team was going to make a comeback and win. I also had the guys on either side of me and behind me heckling me. I looked up at the TV and there was 5:13 left in the game.  I told everyone around me to give me 5 minutes and then talk. In those 5 minutes the Giants made an impressive comeback to win the game.  There was a big debate on a Cruz catch and fumble but the officials ruled him down by “giving himself up.” Lucky? Yeah probably but we’ll take it. This was also another game where Eli didn’t have an interception. The Giants’ wins haven’t been pretty but we’ve got 3 W’s and that’s how many L’s the Eagles have… just sayin

Atlanta  @ Seattle 30-28
It basically comes down to Atlanta didn’t have as many mistakes as Seattle.  Jackson had 2 interceptions while Matt Ryan didn’t have any. Seattle tried to make a comeback but fell short when Steven Hauschka missed a 61-yard field-goal with 13 seconds left in the game.

Denver @ Green Bay 23-49
This game was just ugly if you were a Bronco’s fan. Orton threw 3 interceptions but John Fox is going to keep him as a starter. (So glad he’s not in Carolina anymore) Green Bay looks more dangerous this year than they did last year as superbowl champs. This was also an easy pick.

New England @ Oakland 31-19
I’ve learned when I don’t pick New England they win so for the rest of the season I’m going to pick the Pats to win… Oakland you let me down.

Miami  @ San Diego 16-26
Not only did Miami lose this game they also lost their starting QB for the rest of the season.

New York Jets  @ Baltimore 17-34
The Jets seem to be in a downward spiral and Baltimore is climbing. Baltimore had 3 defensive touchdowns while they walked all over Mark Sanchez and the Jets.

Indianapolis  @ Tampa Bay 17-24
I was quite impressed with Painter and the rest of the Colts during this game. They actually looked like a professional team. Yes they did lose but it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. Sure there were throws that got away from Painter but as a whole he looked sooooo much better than Kerry Collins. It was a good game. I’m not happy they lost but I do see a glimmer of hope for the rest of the season.

10W-6L for my picks on week 4

WEEK 5

Philadelphia (1-3) @ Buffalo (3-1) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Philadelphia needs this win desperately so I’m going to pick Buffalo to win. The Dream Team is dead and I “Billeve”

New Orleans (3-1) @ Carolina (1-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I think it’ll be a close game but I’m going with the Saints for the win.

Oakland (2-2) @ Houston (3-1) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I don’t think Oakland has what it takes to beat Houston at home. I could be wrong but I’m going to pick Houston anyway.

Kansas City (1-3) @ Indianapolis (0-4) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Heh. Indi has got to win this one. I haven’t picked Indi to win yet this season and I don’t think they’ll have a better chance than this week against the Chiefs. GO COLTS!

Cincinnati (2-2) @ Jacksonville (1-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m going with Jacksonville. I don’t think Cincinnati can win two weeks in a row.

Arizona (1-3) @ Minnesota (0-4) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
While everyone seems to be losing faith in McNabb I still think he’s a great QB. I’m going with the Vikings this week.

Seattle (1-3) @ New York Giants (3-1) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’ve got to pick the Giants. I just hope it’s a prettier game than last week.

Tennessee (3-1) @ Pittsburgh (2-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Steelers only because they are playing at home and they need to come back from last week’s humiliating loss. (I’ll be rooting for the Titans though)

Tampa Bay (3-1) @ San Francisco (3-1) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
I think San Francisco is going to win this game. Home field advantage, and their fans are going to help.

San Diego (3-1) @ Denver (1-3) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I don’t think home field advantage is going to help Denver this week. I’m going to pick the Chargers.

New York Jets (2-2) @ New England (3-1) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’m picking the Pats but hope that the Jets walk all over them.

Green Bay (4-0) @ Atlanta (2-2) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
I just don’t see Atlanta stopping Green Bay. I’m going with the Packers this weekend.

Chicago (2-2) @ Detroit (4-0) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]
I’m taking Detroit at home.
PS We will never hear “ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL” because ESPN and Hank Williams Jr. parted ways this week after HWJ compared President Obama to Adolf Hitler during an appearance on “FOX and Friends”

Byes: Ravens, Browns, Cowboys, Dolphins, Rams, Redskins
So if you are a fan of one of these team look at it this way… your team can’t lose this weekend!


GO GMEN AND COLTS!!!!!
(Thanks for the edit Mom!)

Sunday, October 2, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 4 '11


The Shenoa Report
October 2, 2011
Regular Season Week 4

The problem with watching football in this day and age is if you don’t have the NFL Sunday Ticket, and you don’t live in the state your team plays, it’s not so easy to watch your team. My plan for last week was to go to Buffalo Wild Wings (because they have the Sunday Ticket) with a friend to watch football alllll afternoon. I was most looking forward to watching the Giants game. But then, Sunday morning around 10:30 I got a text from my friend asking to reschedule because he wasn’t feeling well. I was bummed but I didn’t lose heart. I quickly called another friend, who I knew loved watching football, and asked what her plans were for the day. She invited me over to watch football (she has the Sunday Ticket as well) and I was super excited. She did say that she, and her friends, might go out to a bar to watch the game but it would be ok because where they were going also had the Sunday Ticket. So I put my #10 Giants jersey on and headed to Courtenay’s house. When I got there she was getting ready and told me to head next door because we were going out to Hartigans to watch the game. I went next door and walked into “Panther fan central”. I was told to get out and that I couldn’t wear that jersey in their house. I took a deep breath and smiled. I’ll fast forward to getting to the bar. The bar was right next to Panthers stadium. The Panthers game was on every TV. When I asked for them to change one of the TVs to the Giants game they said “No. When the Panthers play we only play their game.” To make matters worse my phone didn’t get any reception so I couldn’t even check the scores or call my dad for updates, and when I was able to send or receive texts they were few and far between. Then it began to rain. It poured. And then the satellite went out and I couldn’t even watch the Panthers game.  Lesson learned, don’t go to Hartigans Irish Pub in Charlotte if the Panthers are playing, or ever. Needless to say I watched A LOT of Sports Center, NFL Live, Inside the NFL, and read countless articles this week so I could feel like I watched the Giants game as well as all the other games I missed Sunday.

Lets recap week 3

New England @ Buffalo 31-34
Last week I said “if I were a betting girl I’d have to pick the Pats to win this game.” AND THAT’S WHY I DON’T BET! I don’t know what’s better, a Bills win or a Patriots loss, but coupled together it’s pure awesomeness. With that win I am jumping on the Bills bandwagon! PS Brady threw 4 interceptions in this game, that’s how many he threw all last year! Suck it Brady! If you have some extra time check out this article on the Bills: http://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/news?slug=lc-carpenter_buffalo_bills_jim_kelly092811
 
Jacksonville @ Carolina 10-16
Carolina wins at home in the rain, err monsoon. It wasn’t a pretty win but a win is a win. My favorite part of this game was when Carolina scored a safety against the Jacksonville offense and I had to explain this concept to the guy across the table from me. He said to me, “And that is why I sell my season tickets every year. I don’t get football.”
 
San Francisco @ Cincinnati 13-8
I’m kind of surprised that Cincinnati lost but not really. Neither team is really great this year.  I guess we’ll just call it a building season for each of these teams, even though they’ve been in building seasons for many years now.
 
Miami @ Cleveland 16-17
Colt McCoy had 2 TDs this game while Chad Henne had only one. Both QBs had an interception. If you are a Browns fan you are happy that your team is 2-1. On the other hand the Dolphins are in trouble after this loss.
 
Detroit @ Minnesota 26-23 OT
Minnesota has lead at half time for 3 weeks in a row. Minnesota has blown the lead and lost 3 weeks in a row.  Detroit just didn’t give up coming from a 20-point deficit to win in overtime. The Lions are looking pretty legit this season.
 
Houston @ New Orleans 33-40
If you want to see a shootout tune into a Saints game. Two out of the three games they have played this year have been shootouts. This game was no different. Houston might have won this game if they could have scored touchdowns and not have settled for 4 field goals in the red zone.
 
New York Giants @ Philadelphia 29-16
I have watched and re-watched this game’s highlights over, and over, and over again.
I’m also bringing back the binkie award from last year and awarding it to Michael Vick. You are a smaller QB who likes to hold onto the ball instead of getting rid of it and you don’t stay in the pocket. You are going to get hit. Stop crying about it. And if you’re going to complain maybe you should point fingers at your line for not protecting you better. Just sayin. With that being said HOW ‘BOUT THOSE GMEN?!?!?!??!!!!!!!!!!! This was a big, huge win for our boys. Going into Philly and ripping apart the “dream team” was beautiful and a sight to behold.  I loved how our first score came off a Vick interception, and the hits and scores just kept coming. The Giants defense played great and Eli didn’t have ANY interceptions! Well played GMEN, well played! My only regret in this game was having to settle for watching the highlights and not watching the entire game.
 
Denver @ Tennessee 14-17
Hasselbeck had two touchdowns, Orton also had two touchdowns but also had two interceptions and that killed the Broncos.
 
New York Jets @ Oakland 24-34
I don’t know what team was playing Oakland, but it wasn’t the Jets I know and love. What a painful loss in Oakland for New York. Sanchez wasn’t eating a hotdog on the sideline at the end of this game like he did two years ago when they won 38-0. Oh how the times have changed.
 
Kansas City @ San Diego 17-20
I scratched my head when I looked at the stats of this game and saw that Matt Cassel had two touchdowns and one interception while Phillip Rivers didn’t have any touchdowns and two interceptions yet KC lost the game. I have no words.
 
Baltimore @ St. Louis 37-7
The big news in this game was Baltimore’s rookie Torrey Smith’s first three receptions were also touchdowns. The only bad thing for Smith is his stats will probably not be as remarkable in weeks to come. Baltimore needed this win after their embarrassing loss last week. The Rams are just plain embarrassing.
 
Green Bay @ Chicago 27-17
This win isn’t really news. I have to say that Green Bay does not seem to be suffering from a superbowl hangover. Rodgers did throw his first interception of the season but, it was caught by Urlacher (who is very well known on the Bears defense for ruining opposing quarterbacks days). 
 
Arizona @ Seattle 10-13
I was wrong in picking Arizona. Larry only had one TD and didn’t light it up as much as I thought he would.
 
Atlanta @ Tampa Bay 13-16
Tampa Bay simply played a better game and won. I was wrong in picking Atlanta.
 
Pittsburgh @ Indianapolis 23-20
I’ll say this. Indi sure did make this an actual game instead of their usual shenanigans as of late. It also showed that Pittsburgh is probably in trouble if they just edged by Indi. I love the Colts but I know they aren’t going to be good this season. What is the Steelers excuse?
 
Washington @ Dallas 16-18
I almost had my tied game. Dallas won by only scoring field goals. And now the NFC East has a 3-way tie for first place and that’s all I could ask for after week 3.


10W-6L for my picks on week 3

WEEK 4

Carolina (1-2) @ Chicago (1-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’ll be rooting for Carolina but picking Chicago for the win

Buffalo (3-0) @ Cincinnati (1-2) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m going with Buffalo and now that I’m on their bandwagon I’ll be pulling for them too

Tennessee (2-1) @ Cleveland (2-1) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m picking Cleveland at home. Don’t let me down Brownies

Detroit (3-0) @ Dallas (2-1) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m picking Detroit and I’m pretty sure Suh is going to get to Romo… more than once.

Pittsburgh (2-1) @ Houston (2-1) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m picking Houston even though it doesn’t help Indi any if they win.

New Orleans (2-1) @ Jacksonville (1-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Saints.

Minnesota (0-3) @ Kansas City (0-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
This game pretty much guarantees the biggest loser in the NFL. I’m picking KC to win this, though I don’t know why.

San Francisco (2-1) @ Philadelphia (1-2) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
How sweet it’d be if the 49ers won. I’ll be rooting for them but I’m picking the Eagles to win.

Washington (2-1) @ St. Louis (0-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’d like to see the Rams win but I don’t think it’s going to happen. They are pathetic. I’m picking Washington to win but I don’t want them too.

New York Giants (2-1) @ Arizona (1-2) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
Osi, Tuck, and Manningham took the plane to Arizona and are expected to play which is good news for the Giants. I am picking the GMEN for the win.

Atlanta (1-2) @ Seattle (1-2) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
I’m picking Seattle, not sure why.

Denver (1-2) @ Green Bay (3-0) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’m picking Green Bay

New England (2-1) @ Oakland (2-1) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’m picking Oakland. I’m hoping Brady is like Sampson and all his power was in his hair so instead of throwing 4 interceptions he’ll throw 8 this Sunday.

Miami (0-3) @ San Diego (2-1) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I really don’t see Miami winning this Sunday. I’m going with the Chargers.

New York Jets (2-1) @ Baltimore (2-1) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
I hope the Jets win but I’m going to have to pick Baltimore.

Indianapolis (0-3) @ Tampa Bay (2-1) [Monday 8:30pm ESPN]
Painter is the starting QB for Tampa, I mean,  Indi… I’m picking Tampa for the win.  I miss Peyton and how the team played when he was on the field…

LETS GO GMEN, COLTS, AND BILLS!