The Shenoa Report
September 10, 2015
Regular Season Week 1
IT’S HERE! IT’S HERE! THE FOOTBALL SEASON IS HERE!!!!! And
you know what that means; the Shenoa Report is back as well!!! Are you ready
for some football?!?! If you’re a first time reader, welcome! And if you’re a
loyal follower welcome back, I’ve missed you. I started this blog five years
ago after a number of people asked me for my opinion on football and what teams
they should root for. Please know that I am very biased, and this report is
just my opinion! This year I’ve also added hashtags to promote this little blog
of mine, so if you’re having trouble finding it search for #theshenoareport or
#shenoafootball. I’m also looking into getting my own domain name. thoughts?
The last time I wrote the Patriots and the Seahawks were
headed to the Super Bowl, thank God that’s over. Two days after the Super Bowl was over my dad
was still pretty heated about the ending. He called me up and said, and I
quote, “I only have 4 words, ‘RUN THE FUDGING BALL!!!!’” only he didn’t say
fudging. The Seahawks were not repeat Super Bowl Champions, and my dad is still
a little pissed.
Now to address Deflategate. I’ll try to keep it brief.
Unless you were hiding under a rock for the past nine months you’ve probably
already heard enough about it and have already formed an opinion. Here’s my
stance on it. The NFL has some SERIOUS issues. Roger Goodell, the commissioner,
is an idiot and because proper protocol wasn’t set up or followed in this
half-assed investigation/witch hunt Tom Brady got out of the 4 game suspension.
Mind you, he walked, not because he was innocent or guilty but because the NFL
is a train wreck. Brady knew this and took advantage. So who loses in all of
this? Everyone, and this is why. Tom Brady has now taught the youth of America
that it is ok to cheat, lie, and have no integrity as long as you are dealing
with a broken down system. We all know he was “generally aware” of what was
going on, but instead of having integrity and saying “I messed up, I’m sorry,
please forgive me.” He laughed, and said he knew nothing about anything. My problem isn’t with under deflated balls
it’s with the lack of integrity. And it’s a damn shame that some people still
consider this “man” (and I use quotes around man because real men have
integrity, admit when they are wrong, and work for the greater good) Tom Brady
to be a role model. It makes me ill. And all of this is NOT because I don’t
like the Patriots! Had Eli or Peyton
Manning, Aaron Rodgers, or Russell Wilson got up on that podium and laughed
saying they didn’t know anything about anything and destroyed their cellphone
so it couldn’t be used in evidence towards the investigation I would have
written them off too. It’s not just about the game of football, when you are in
a position that holds that much weight, whether you like it or not, when you
put on that jersey you become a roll model to the youth of America. Maybe I
feel so strongly about this because I’m a teacher or maybe I hold morals higher
than Super Bowl rings. Either way, I’m disappointed in Tom Brady and the NFL.
Stepping off my soapbox now.
Speaking of being a teacher, I have left my home in NC and
moved back to NY for a few months. I have been given a great opportunity to go
and live with my brother and his family in Germany so I will be in NY in the
interim. Although I miss my NC people terribly, this is actually great news
because I’ll be able to watch the majority of the Giants games on local tv with
my dad! Silver linings.
Other offseason news you might care to know. Rex Ryan is the
new head coach of the Bills, Peyton Manning is back for another season, JPP
blew his finger off playing with fireworks, Tim Tebow was an Eagle very
briefly, Tampa Bay picked Jameis Winston as the #1 draft pick, and Brett Favre
is still retired. So many other things happened but most of it was politics and
it’s time to get back to football, the game that is.
Lets see who’s playing whom in week one!!!!!
WEEK 1
Thursday September 10th
Steelers @ Patriots (8:30pm NBC)
I’m not at all excited about this game except for the fact
that it officially starts the regular season! On a moral level I’d like to see
this game end in a tie, neither quarterback deserves the win. I’ll be rooting for the defense, and picking
the Patriots for the win, hoping I’m wrong.
Sunday September 13th
Colts @ Bills (1pm CBS)
Being that I drafted the Bills defense in fantasy this
season I’ll be pulling for Buffalo and picking them for the win too. Hopefully
Rex Ryan doesn’t turn the Bills into a circus like he did the Jets.
Panthers @ Jaguars (1pm FOX)
I’m going to pick the Panthers for the win, I mean, they are
playing the Jags…
Packers @ Bears (1pm
FOX)
I’m picking the Packers to win as long as Aaron isn’t
sporting that caterpillar mustache thing.
Chiefs @ Texans (1pm CBS)
I’m picking the Texans to win this game, mainly because they
have J.J. Watt and he’s been voted the best player in the NFL.
Dolphins @ Redskins (1pm CBS)
The Redskins are a train wreck and I would be more than
shocked if they won their home opener. I’m picking the Dolphins for the win.
Browns@ Jets (1pm CBS)
I think the Jets are even more of a mess without Rex Ryan,
and that’s saying something. I’m picking the Browns for the win.
Seahawks @ Rams (1pm FOX)
I’m going to have to go with the Seahawks for the win.
Lions @ Chargers (4:05pm FOX)
I like the Chargers at home.
Saints @ Cardinals (4:05pm FOX)
I’m picking the Cardinals to win their home opener.
Ravens @ Broncos (4:25pm CBS)
I’m picking Peyton and the Broncos to win their home opener
as well.
Bengals @ Raiders (4:25pm CBS)
I think I’m going with the Bengals, but the Raiders might
surprise us.
Titans @ Buccaneers (4:25pm CBS)
We’ll see if the Bucs can do anything with their first round
pick. I’m picking the Titans to win.
NY Giants @ Cowboys (8:30pm NBC)
The Giants have a LOT of work to do, hopefully they can get
it together and get their first win of the season. GO GMEN!!!!!!!
Monday September 14th
Eagles @ Falcons (7:10pm ESPN)
I’ll be rooting for the Falcons but I don’t think they are
going to win their home opener.
Vikings @ 49ers (10:20pm ESPN)
This is a late, late, game which I have no intention of
watching but I’ll pick the 49ers for the win.
Happy Week One!!!!! I hope your team wins! (Unless you’re a
Dallas, Philly, Washington, New England, or Pittsburgh fan) Told you I was
biased!
GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment