Thursday, September 24, 2015

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 3 '15


The Shenoa Report
September 24, 2015
Regular Season Week 3

I just tallied up my picks from last week and I’m embarrassed to tell you that I went 4-12… I feel a little bit like a football in New England… deflated. I think the last time my picks were that bad I blamed it on the replacement refs… who can I blame now?



Let’s recap week two and see where I went wrong.


Broncos @ Chiefs 31-24
Like the rest of the world I counted Peyton out because he’s old. I’m glad I was wrong, although the first half did NOT look promising. Thankfully the Broncos got it together and their defense complimented their offense nicely and the outcome was in the Broncos favor.


Texans @ Panthers 17-24
Carolina is looking good and Cam had a good day, Houston continues to struggle but it’s early in the season.

49ers @ Steelers 18-43
This was one of the 4 games that I got right, kinda, I had said it would be a close game…

Buccaneers @ Saints 26-19
You know the Saints are hurting when the Bucs beat them at home… Seriously, no one saw that coming.

Lions @ Vikings 16-26
I expected more from the Lions but I’m not surprised that they lost this game. AP shook the dust off his cleats and finally had a good performance.


Cardinals @ Bears 48-23
I’m so glad Larry Fitzgerald is on my fantasy team! He had 3 TD’s and helped me get my first win of the season.  The Bears on the other hand continue to struggle under John Fox, maybe he thinks he’s back in Charlotte?

Patriots @ Bills 40-32
The score does NOT reflect the game. You would think it was a close game. Not so much. Poor Rex, even when he goes to another team he still can’t beat Bill. Sorry Buffalo fans, it was a terrible Sunday for NY fans all around.

Chargers @ Bengals 19-24
When the Ginger has a good day so do the Bengals. The Chargers, not so much

Titans @ Browns 14-28
Johnny Football got the start and the win for Cleveland and their defense had a great game sacking Titans QB Mariota; 7 times! Ouch.  

Falcons @ NY Giants 24-20
I don’t want to talk about it. I just don’t want to talk about it. I’m pretty sure if you look up The NY Football Giants in the dictionary the definition would be false hope.

Rams @ Redskins 10-24
RG3 has dropped to the 3rd string QB for the Redskins and Kirk Cousins lead the team to a victory. As for the Rams, is it just me, or does QB Nick Foles look like Napoleon Dynamite?  

Dolphins @ Jaguars 20-23
I didn’t think that the Jags would win all season but they won this game. Will there be more?

Ravens @ Raiders 33-37
This is yet another game that I got wrong, but it was one of the more surprising ones. The Ravens have been good for so long and the Raiders bad but it’s like they switched. Weird.  


Cowboys @ Eagles 20-10
I told my friend that I was working on #theshenoareport and he said, “Well you can let the entire football kingdom know that I'm extremely satisfied with the Eagles losing at home to the DeMarco Muarry-less Cowboys!  GO PACKERS” He also shared his favorite NFL stat so far... “DeMarco Murray (after rushing for 1500+ yds last yr) on pace for 88 this entire season!  BLAHAHAHA”
I don’t know if you can tell, but he doesn’t like the Eagles. That’s one of the reasons we get along so well.
The Eagles may have lost the game but they took out Tony Romo in the process, he’ll be out for quite some time with a broken clavicle.
I’m not happy about the outcome of this game but feel better about it now that the Giant’s aren’t alone at the bottom of the NFC East.


Seahawks @ Packers 17-27
Hey, hey, hey, the Seahawks are 0-2. I had the pleasure of watching some of this game with my good friend Meg. She is not a football fan. Her comments were amazing and quite entertaining. Some of my favorites were “this is the LONGEST two minutes ever” (referring to the time after the two minute warning) and “It’s not over!” (referring to half time) She went to bed at the half.


Jets @ Colts 20-7
This was such an exciting game to watch although I was quite upset when Eric Decker left the game with a knee injury, 6 more points and I would have won my matchup in fantasy. (Yes, I’m in two different leagues) This may have been the most head scratching games for me. How the heck are the Jets 2-0?


WEEK 3

Thursday September 24th

Redskins (1-1) @ NY Giants (0-2) [8:25pm CBS, NFLN]
After the loss on Sunday at least the Giants had enough sense to drop WR Preston Parker like he did the ball sooooo many times the first two games of the season.
Cruz is still out but we have Beckham. Dear Giants, please stop making dumb mistakes, finish strong, and win the game. Love, Shenoa
PS GO GMEN!!!!
PPS I’m picking the Giants for the win.

Sunday September 27th

Falcons (2-0) @ Cowboys (2-0) [1pm FOX]
 Two words Julio Jones. Go Atlanta. Beat the opponent soundly. I’m picking the Falcons for the win against the Romo-less, Bryant-less Cowboys. Don’t worry Cowboys T.O. said he’d suit up at the age of 41.

Colts (0-2) @ Titans (1-1) [1pm CBS]
I’m tentatively picking the Colts for the win.

Raiders (1-1) @ Browns (1-1)  [1pm CBS]
Browns head coach has put Manzel back on the bench and is starting Josh McCown at QB so I’m picking the Raiders for the win.

Bengals (2-0) @ Ravens (0-2) [1pm CBS]
I’m going with the Ravens because I really don’t think they are going to go 0-3.


Jaguars (1-1) @ Patriots (2-0) [1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Patriots but hope I’m wrong.

Saints (0-2) @ Panthers (2-0) [1pm FOX]
 Drew Brees probably won’t play this game so I’ll pick the Panthers for the win.

Eagles (0-2) @ Jets (2-0) [1pm FOX]
Hoping the J-E-T-S Jets, Jets, Jets can keep this winning streak alive. I’m picking them to win again.

Buccaneers (1-1) @ Texans (0-2) [1pm FOX]
Last year this would have been a no brainer pick… I’m going with the Bucs.

Chargers (1-1) @ Vikings (1-1) [1:00pm CBS]
I’m going to pick the Vikings at home.

Steelers (1-1) @ Rams (1-1) [1:00pm CBS]
I’m picking the Steelers but rooting for the Rams.

49ers (1-1) @ Cardinals (2-0) [4:05pm FOX]
I’m taking the Cardinals over the 49ers.

Bills (1-1) @ Dolphins (1-1) [4:25pm CBS]
I’m hoping the Bills bounce back. I’m picking Buffalo for the win.


Bears (0-2) @ Seahawks (0-2) [4:25pm CBS]
Kam Chancellor is gracing the Seahawks with his presence. Apparently the tantrum is over and he’s ready to play. I’m picking Seattle for the win.

Broncos (2-0) @ Lions (0-2) [8:30pm NBC]
I’m picking the Broncos for the win.

Monday, September 28th  

Chiefs (1-1) @ Packers (2-0) [8:30pm ESPN]
I’m picking the Packers for the win.


GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!

Thursday, September 17, 2015

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 2 '15


The Shenoa Report
September 17, 2015
Regular Season Week 2

To quote my friend Dean “Half the teams are undefeated so far this season” He’s so smart.
Week one is in the books and some of the story lines that went with the first week include, The Patriots are still Cheaters, Rex Ryan wasn’t a buffoon, Peyton Manning is old, The NY Giants are still breaking hearts, and to all those who’s significant other doesn’t like football you can just tell them you’ll see them again the second weekend in February, until then you have a standing date every Thursday night, Monday night and all day Sunday.
I might be a little bit over my head in football this year. I figured because I have less responsibility at work I could join more than one fantasy league… football may be consuming me and I might be ok with this. So far I am 0-1 in both of my leagues but,   
I went 11-5 for my picks.

Let’s recap week one.

Steelers @ Patriots 21-28
Sometimes I hate being right, like when I pick the Patriots to win and they do.  You’ll NEVER guess what happened right after this game, The Patriots were accused of CHEATING! AGAIN! GASP! But for real, apparently there was some technical difficulties with the headsets as they were picking up the patriots broadcast and the Steelers were having trouble communicating because of it!


Colts @ Bills 14-27
This score is a little misleading, as it looked like the Colts put up a fight but in actuality the Bills dominated this game. So, lets start all the hype again this season with jumping on the Bills bandwagon do you “Bill-ieve?”

Panthers @ Jaguars 20-9
The big news in this game was Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly had to leave the game in the first half with a concussion.   The game was otherwise ugly and just because the Panthers won doesn’t mean much. Sorry Panthers fans but not as sorry as I am for Jaguars fans.

Packers @ Bears 31-23
The Bears couldn’t bring their new head coach John Fox a win in their home opener, but not many teams that play Aaron Rodgers and the Packers win against them anyway.  PS Clay Matthews also had a beautiful pick. (For those of you that are awesome enough to read this blog but don’t know what a pick is … thanks for reading, a pick is an interception. You’re welcome)

Chiefs @ Texans 27-20
The Texans are in trouble, it looks like they need more than J.J. Watt to win. They have already benched QB Brian Hoyer and will go with Ryan Mallett going forward.
The Chiefs on the other hand are flying under the radar again and will most likely make the playoffs.

Dolphins @ Redskins 17-10
I’m just thankful the Redskins are in the same division as the Giants cause at least we won’t be dead last. The Redskins and Dolphins both have a lot to work on, and this game showed that.

Browns@ Jets 10-31
I did NOT see this win coming. Wow Jets.  QB Fitzpatrick seems to be a good fit in NY and well, the Browns, need more help that Johnny Football.

Seahawks @ Rams 31-34 OT
People will say that if Kam Chancellor were playing for the Seahawks they would have undoubtedly won this game. But really, Kam’s not going to play anytime soon. He’s likened to a toddler who throws an unbelievable temper tantrum when he’s told no more goldfish crackers because he’s already ate the whole box and there aren’t anymore until mommy goes to the store. But because the temper tantrum is so big mommy doesn’t want to go to the store anytime soon for more goldfish.
The Rams on the other hand did a hell of a job not giving up.


Lions @ Chargers 28-33
Detroit forgot that there were 4 quarters of football so they really only played 3 and the Chargers came out on top.  Sorry Dean, better luck next time.

Saints @ Cardinals 19-31
You know who also is getting old, Drew Brees, and the Saints aren’t that great anymore.

Ravens @ Broncos 13-19
Well, this is the first game in Peyton’s NFL career that he didn’t throw a touchdown, tear. At least the Broncos got the W.

Bengals @ Raiders 33-13
I thought this game would be closer… that’s really all I have to report.

Titans @ Buccaneers 42-14
What happens when the number one and number two draft picks play each other for their debut to the NFL?  This game.  And number two Marcus Mariota and the Titans walked allllllll over number one Jameis Winston and the Bucs.  Mariota threw 4 touchdown passes in the first half and didn’t even play the 4th quarter. Winston’s first pass in the NFL was a pick 6.

NY Giants @ Cowboys 26-27
The Giants have a way to build tremendous hope with their fans and then have it ripped away in the last 2 minutes of any said game.  AND I ALWAYS FALL FOR IT! I’m still heart broken. True story. It still hurts.  Silver linings, we looked decent until that last drive. Our defense had some really good take-aways. And Dez Bryant broke his ankle so he’ll be out for the next 4-8 weeks for Dallas.


Eagles @ Falcons 24-26
I wasn’t going to stay up and watch this game but I am oh so glad I did! Thanks for finishing strong Atlanta, no need to do it again next week!

Vikings @ 49ers 3-20
Come on, did you really believe that AP was going to have a knockout game after not seeing the playing field in over a year?! Everyone else was surprised he didn’t do well… everyone but me apparently.


WEEK 2

Thursday September 17th

Broncos (1-0) @ Chiefs (1-0) [8:25pm CBS, NFLN]
This should be a good game. As much as it pains me I’m not going to pick Peyton and the Broncos for the win. I think the Chiefs have something special, like a QB that can throw multiple touchdowns.

Sunday September 20th

Texans (0-1) @ Panthers (1-0) [1pm CBS]
 Can the Panthers win their home opener? They just might. And I hope they do mainly because I can’t be in Charlotte watching J.J. Watt in the stadium. I’m picking Carolina for the win.

49ers (1-0) @ Steelers (0-1) [1pm FOX]
This should be a good close game. I’m picking the Steelers for the win but hoping I’m wrong.

Buccaneers (0-1) @ Saints (0-1)  [1pm FOX]
I’m picking the Saints to win their home opener.

Lions (0-1) @ Vikings (0-1) [1pm FOX]
I think the Lions will win this game.


Cardinals (1-0) @ Bears (0-1) [1pm FOX]
I’m going to have to pick the Cardinals for the win.

Patriots (1-0) @ Bills (1-0) [1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Bills. Yup, that’s right.

Chargers (1-0) @ Bengals (1-0) [1pm CBS]
I’m going with the Chargers.  

Titans (1-0) @ Browns (0-1) [1pm CBS]
I’m picking the Titans for the win.

Falcons (1-0) @ NY Giants (0-1) [1:00pm FOX]
The Giants are going to bounce back and win their home opener. GO GMEN!!!!

Rams (1-0) @ Redskins (0-1) [1:00pm FOX]
I’m picking the Rams for the win.

Dolphins (1-0) @ Jaguars (0-1) [4:05pm CBS]
I think that the Jags are going to drop to 0-2.

Ravens (0-1) @ Raiders (0-1) [4:05pm CBS]
I’m going to have to pick the Ravens for the win.


Cowboys (1-0) @ Eagles (0-1) [4:25pm FOX]
I’m picking the Eagles for the win only because it’s what’s best for the Giants.


Seahawks (0-1) @ Packers (1-0) [8:30pm NBC]
I think that the Seahawks are going to be 0-2 to start the season. Ouch.

Monday, September 21st

Jets (1-0) @ Colts (0-1) [8:30pm ESPN]
I don’t think that the Colts are going to lose 2 in a row. I’m picking them to win their home opener.

GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!

Thursday, September 10, 2015

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 1 '15


The Shenoa Report
September 10, 2015
Regular Season Week 1

IT’S HERE! IT’S HERE! THE FOOTBALL SEASON IS HERE!!!!! And you know what that means; the Shenoa Report is back as well!!! Are you ready for some football?!?! If you’re a first time reader, welcome! And if you’re a loyal follower welcome back, I’ve missed you. I started this blog five years ago after a number of people asked me for my opinion on football and what teams they should root for. Please know that I am very biased, and this report is just my opinion! This year I’ve also added hashtags to promote this little blog of mine, so if you’re having trouble finding it search for #theshenoareport or #shenoafootball. I’m also looking into getting my own domain name. thoughts?
The last time I wrote the Patriots and the Seahawks were headed to the Super Bowl, thank God that’s over.  Two days after the Super Bowl was over my dad was still pretty heated about the ending. He called me up and said, and I quote, “I only have 4 words, ‘RUN THE FUDGING BALL!!!!’” only he didn’t say fudging. The Seahawks were not repeat Super Bowl Champions, and my dad is still a little pissed.  
Now to address Deflategate. I’ll try to keep it brief. Unless you were hiding under a rock for the past nine months you’ve probably already heard enough about it and have already formed an opinion. Here’s my stance on it. The NFL has some SERIOUS issues. Roger Goodell, the commissioner, is an idiot and because proper protocol wasn’t set up or followed in this half-assed investigation/witch hunt Tom Brady got out of the 4 game suspension. Mind you, he walked, not because he was innocent or guilty but because the NFL is a train wreck. Brady knew this and took advantage. So who loses in all of this? Everyone, and this is why. Tom Brady has now taught the youth of America that it is ok to cheat, lie, and have no integrity as long as you are dealing with a broken down system. We all know he was “generally aware” of what was going on, but instead of having integrity and saying “I messed up, I’m sorry, please forgive me.” He laughed, and said he knew nothing about anything.  My problem isn’t with under deflated balls it’s with the lack of integrity. And it’s a damn shame that some people still consider this “man” (and I use quotes around man because real men have integrity, admit when they are wrong, and work for the greater good) Tom Brady to be a role model. It makes me ill. And all of this is NOT because I don’t like the Patriots!  Had Eli or Peyton Manning, Aaron Rodgers, or Russell Wilson got up on that podium and laughed saying they didn’t know anything about anything and destroyed their cellphone so it couldn’t be used in evidence towards the investigation I would have written them off too. It’s not just about the game of football, when you are in a position that holds that much weight, whether you like it or not, when you put on that jersey you become a roll model to the youth of America. Maybe I feel so strongly about this because I’m a teacher or maybe I hold morals higher than Super Bowl rings. Either way, I’m disappointed in Tom Brady and the NFL. Stepping off my soapbox now.
Speaking of being a teacher, I have left my home in NC and moved back to NY for a few months. I have been given a great opportunity to go and live with my brother and his family in Germany so I will be in NY in the interim. Although I miss my NC people terribly, this is actually great news because I’ll be able to watch the majority of the Giants games on local tv with my dad! Silver linings. 

Other offseason news you might care to know. Rex Ryan is the new head coach of the Bills, Peyton Manning is back for another season, JPP blew his finger off playing with fireworks, Tim Tebow was an Eagle very briefly, Tampa Bay picked Jameis Winston as the #1 draft pick, and Brett Favre is still retired. So many other things happened but most of it was politics and it’s time to get back to football, the game that is.



Lets see who’s playing whom in week one!!!!!

WEEK 1

Thursday September 10th

Steelers @ Patriots (8:30pm NBC)
I’m not at all excited about this game except for the fact that it officially starts the regular season! On a moral level I’d like to see this game end in a tie, neither quarterback deserves the win.  I’ll be rooting for the defense, and picking the Patriots for the win, hoping I’m wrong.

Sunday September 13th

Colts @ Bills (1pm CBS)
Being that I drafted the Bills defense in fantasy this season I’ll be pulling for Buffalo and picking them for the win too. Hopefully Rex Ryan doesn’t turn the Bills into a circus like he did the Jets.

Panthers @ Jaguars (1pm FOX)
I’m going to pick the Panthers for the win, I mean, they are playing the Jags…

Packers @ Bears  (1pm FOX)
I’m picking the Packers to win as long as Aaron isn’t sporting that caterpillar mustache thing.

Chiefs @ Texans (1pm CBS)
I’m picking the Texans to win this game, mainly because they have J.J. Watt and he’s been voted the best player in the NFL.

Dolphins @ Redskins (1pm CBS)
The Redskins are a train wreck and I would be more than shocked if they won their home opener. I’m picking the Dolphins for the win.

Browns@ Jets (1pm CBS)
I think the Jets are even more of a mess without Rex Ryan, and that’s saying something. I’m picking the Browns for the win.

Seahawks @ Rams (1pm FOX)
I’m going to have to go with the Seahawks for the win.


Lions @ Chargers (4:05pm FOX)
I like the Chargers at home.

Saints @ Cardinals (4:05pm FOX)
I’m picking the Cardinals to win their home opener.

Ravens @ Broncos (4:25pm CBS)
I’m picking Peyton and the Broncos to win their home opener as well.

Bengals @ Raiders (4:25pm CBS)
I think I’m going with the Bengals, but the Raiders might surprise us.

Titans @ Buccaneers (4:25pm CBS)
We’ll see if the Bucs can do anything with their first round pick. I’m picking the Titans to win.

NY Giants @ Cowboys (8:30pm NBC)
The Giants have a LOT of work to do, hopefully they can get it together and get their first win of the season. GO GMEN!!!!!!!

Monday September 14th

Eagles @ Falcons (7:10pm ESPN)
I’ll be rooting for the Falcons but I don’t think they are going to win their home opener.

Vikings @ 49ers (10:20pm ESPN)
This is a late, late, game which I have no intention of watching but I’ll pick the 49ers for the win.

Happy Week One!!!!! I hope your team wins! (Unless you’re a Dallas, Philly, Washington, New England, or Pittsburgh fan) Told you I was biased!


GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!