Sunday, January 18, 2015

The Shenoa Report Post Season Conference Championship '15


The Shenoa Report
January 18, 2015
Week 20
Post Season
 Conference Championship Sunday


We are down to the final four remaining teams alive in the playoffs. Honestly, I can get behind 3 out of the 4 teams and be happy with them winning the Super Bowl. Can you guess which team I can’t get behind? Hmmmmm.
There were some pretty heart-wrenching games last weekend. I’m sure that there are a lot of fans out there that are pretty upset at the refs for being the “deciding factor” in some of the games. More on that later. I went 3-1 again on picks last weekend.

Anyway…
Let’s recap:

DIVISIONAL WEEKEND   

Ravens @ Patriots 31-35
As much as I wanted to see the Ravens win, when you blow a 14-point lead TWICE you really don’t deserve the win do you. Devastating. To make matters worse, I’m pretty sure I was sitting next to the only Patriots fan in the entire bar during the game. Lame.  To make myself feel better; I pulled my NY Giants coozie out of my pocket, put my roommate’s beer in it, took a picture and promptly put it up on instagram with the hashtags #nfl #playoffs #represent #wecanbeatthepats and somehow it did make me feel better.

Panthers @ Seahawks 17-31
Let me tell you, watching this game in a sea of Panthers fans was, well, entertaining. In all seriousness, to all you Panthers fans out there, your team played the BEST team in the NFL. Be proud that you didn’t get your asses handed to you. They put up a great fight. It was a really good game to watch, and without those costly turnovers you would have been contenders.  Then again, that is what is supposed to happen when a team with a losing record makes the playoffs. On the other side of the ball, the Seahawks have shown that they are just as good as last year, if not better.

Cowboys @ Packers 21-26
This game, wow. I’m not going to blame the Cowboys loss on the refs or Romo. I do think there is some sort of poetic justice though for the way things unfolded. By now, I’m sure everyone in the entire world has heard about Dez Bryant’s catch-no catch.  I think that the refs handled the call, challenge, and reversal accurately and professionally. (Which is a hell of a lot more than Detroit EVER got the week prior when the ref just picked up a flag with no explanation.) This particular rule states that : “A PLAYER WHO GOES TO THE GROUND IN THE PROCESS OF ATTEMPTING TO SECURE POSSESSION OF A LOOSE BALL (WITH OR WITHOUT CONTACT BY AN OPPONENT) MUST MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE BALL THROUGHOUT THE PROCESS OF CONTACTING THE GROUND, WHETHER IN THE FIELD OF PLAY OR THE END ZONE. IF HE LOSES CONTROL OF THE BALL, AND THE BALL TOUCHES THE GROUND BEFORE HE REGAINS CONTROL, THERE IS NO POSSESSION.” (NFL Rule Book, Rule 3 Definitions, Article 7 Player Possession. Note 1)
You may not like the rule, or agree with the rule, but it IS a rule just the same and it’s part of the game. Sorry, not sorry.
As for the Packers, they got pretty lucky when Dez didn’t complete that catch at the end of the game because Rodgers had maybe one good quarter the entire game. The first half was terrible.  Don’t get me wrong; I’m glad they won, but they definitely have their work cut out for them to get to the Super Bowl.


Colts @ Broncos 24-13
This game made me sad. With this loss there has been speculation that Peyton has played his last game in the NFL. I sure hope that isn’t true. The Broncos just couldn’t get it together. So sad. The Colts looked really good though so I hope they can carry that momentum when they face the Patriots.

Conference Championship

Sunday January 18th

Packers @ Seahawks (3:05pm FOX)
Aaron Rodgers is hurt, but he says to his fans, “R-E-L-A-X” He also said that he’s got 120 minutes left in him. For those of you who have a little trouble in the math department, an NFL game is 60 minutes therefore, Aaron seems to think he can make it to the Super Bowl and play through it. Those are some big words Aaron. I hope he’s right, for the sake of those close to me who are Packers fans.  As for my picks sake, I’m picking the Seahawks for the win. Sorry, Packers fans I hope I’m wrong. Either way, it should be a good game.

Colts @ Patriots (6:40pm CBS)
Oh man, Pats are playing at home against the Colts. Obviously I’m rooting for the Colts and hoping their Luck hasn’t run out yet. I’m picking the Pats for the win ONLY so I can be wrong and my Super Bowl picks from the beginning of the season will once again come true. 

PS Football Baby and I have made the same picks. I hope we’re wrong on the Pats game.

A big HUGE thank you to my mom for editing my report while she’s on vacation in Germany!!!!! That’s dedication AND love.  Thanks again Mom!

No comments:

Post a Comment