Sunday, January 18, 2015

The Shenoa Report Post Season Conference Championship '15


The Shenoa Report
January 18, 2015
Week 20
Post Season
 Conference Championship Sunday


We are down to the final four remaining teams alive in the playoffs. Honestly, I can get behind 3 out of the 4 teams and be happy with them winning the Super Bowl. Can you guess which team I can’t get behind? Hmmmmm.
There were some pretty heart-wrenching games last weekend. I’m sure that there are a lot of fans out there that are pretty upset at the refs for being the “deciding factor” in some of the games. More on that later. I went 3-1 again on picks last weekend.

Anyway…
Let’s recap:

DIVISIONAL WEEKEND   

Ravens @ Patriots 31-35
As much as I wanted to see the Ravens win, when you blow a 14-point lead TWICE you really don’t deserve the win do you. Devastating. To make matters worse, I’m pretty sure I was sitting next to the only Patriots fan in the entire bar during the game. Lame.  To make myself feel better; I pulled my NY Giants coozie out of my pocket, put my roommate’s beer in it, took a picture and promptly put it up on instagram with the hashtags #nfl #playoffs #represent #wecanbeatthepats and somehow it did make me feel better.

Panthers @ Seahawks 17-31
Let me tell you, watching this game in a sea of Panthers fans was, well, entertaining. In all seriousness, to all you Panthers fans out there, your team played the BEST team in the NFL. Be proud that you didn’t get your asses handed to you. They put up a great fight. It was a really good game to watch, and without those costly turnovers you would have been contenders.  Then again, that is what is supposed to happen when a team with a losing record makes the playoffs. On the other side of the ball, the Seahawks have shown that they are just as good as last year, if not better.

Cowboys @ Packers 21-26
This game, wow. I’m not going to blame the Cowboys loss on the refs or Romo. I do think there is some sort of poetic justice though for the way things unfolded. By now, I’m sure everyone in the entire world has heard about Dez Bryant’s catch-no catch.  I think that the refs handled the call, challenge, and reversal accurately and professionally. (Which is a hell of a lot more than Detroit EVER got the week prior when the ref just picked up a flag with no explanation.) This particular rule states that : “A PLAYER WHO GOES TO THE GROUND IN THE PROCESS OF ATTEMPTING TO SECURE POSSESSION OF A LOOSE BALL (WITH OR WITHOUT CONTACT BY AN OPPONENT) MUST MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE BALL THROUGHOUT THE PROCESS OF CONTACTING THE GROUND, WHETHER IN THE FIELD OF PLAY OR THE END ZONE. IF HE LOSES CONTROL OF THE BALL, AND THE BALL TOUCHES THE GROUND BEFORE HE REGAINS CONTROL, THERE IS NO POSSESSION.” (NFL Rule Book, Rule 3 Definitions, Article 7 Player Possession. Note 1)
You may not like the rule, or agree with the rule, but it IS a rule just the same and it’s part of the game. Sorry, not sorry.
As for the Packers, they got pretty lucky when Dez didn’t complete that catch at the end of the game because Rodgers had maybe one good quarter the entire game. The first half was terrible.  Don’t get me wrong; I’m glad they won, but they definitely have their work cut out for them to get to the Super Bowl.


Colts @ Broncos 24-13
This game made me sad. With this loss there has been speculation that Peyton has played his last game in the NFL. I sure hope that isn’t true. The Broncos just couldn’t get it together. So sad. The Colts looked really good though so I hope they can carry that momentum when they face the Patriots.

Conference Championship

Sunday January 18th

Packers @ Seahawks (3:05pm FOX)
Aaron Rodgers is hurt, but he says to his fans, “R-E-L-A-X” He also said that he’s got 120 minutes left in him. For those of you who have a little trouble in the math department, an NFL game is 60 minutes therefore, Aaron seems to think he can make it to the Super Bowl and play through it. Those are some big words Aaron. I hope he’s right, for the sake of those close to me who are Packers fans.  As for my picks sake, I’m picking the Seahawks for the win. Sorry, Packers fans I hope I’m wrong. Either way, it should be a good game.

Colts @ Patriots (6:40pm CBS)
Oh man, Pats are playing at home against the Colts. Obviously I’m rooting for the Colts and hoping their Luck hasn’t run out yet. I’m picking the Pats for the win ONLY so I can be wrong and my Super Bowl picks from the beginning of the season will once again come true. 

PS Football Baby and I have made the same picks. I hope we’re wrong on the Pats game.

A big HUGE thank you to my mom for editing my report while she’s on vacation in Germany!!!!! That’s dedication AND love.  Thanks again Mom!

Saturday, January 10, 2015

The Shenoa Report Post Season Divisional Weekend '15


The Shenoa Report
January 10, 2015
Week 19
Post Season
 Divisional Weekend

Happy Divisional Weekend!!! I actually think that all the games this weekend will be decent games, unlike last weekend where some were pretty one-sided. I hope you enjoy my rants and puns concerning last week’s games. I went 3-1 in my picks, but I really thought that the Steelers were going ton win. Let me be clear, I’m really not broken up at all over their loss though.

Anyway…
Let’s recap WILD CARD WEEKEND

Pats, Colts, Cowboys, Seahawks

Cardinals @ Panthers 16-27
Well, the Panthers win another and further their path in the post season. As for the Cardinals, at least their downward spiral has finally come to an end.

Ravens @ Steelers 30-17
I should have stuck with my gut feeling of picking the Ravens. Oh well, I’m glad they pulled off the upset. This game was fun to watch, especially with my manly man who would rather be looking up fishing on Pinterest. But, he watched the game with me instead, well at least 3 quarters of it until he fell asleep. We’re a pretty odd couple, but we work… I digress. YAY RAVENS!

Bengals @ Colts 10-26
The last time the Bengals won a playoff game the Ginger was 3… Poor Andy Dalton and poor Bengals. Maybe next year? The Colts move on, pretty sure it’s because they have Luck on their side. (I like being punny)

Lions @ Cowboys 20-24
This game was ridiculous.  We all know that I’m not a fan of the Cowboys but I really think that the refs blew this game for the Lions.  Matt Stafford handled it really well though; I know that they’d have to bleep out all my words on the sidelines when the refs picked up the yellow flag for defensive pass interference against the Cowboys. And if that wasn’t enough Dez Bryant not being called for unsportsman like conduct for coming onto the field without his helmet, yelling and screaming at the refs? You stay classy Dallas.

DIVISIONAL WEEKEND

Saturday January 10th    


Ravens @ Patriots [4:35pm NBC]
I think that it would be absolutely AMAZING if the Ravens beat the Patriots today. I’ll be rooting for them for sure. But, because whenever I pick against the Patriots they end up with the win I am going to pick the Pats for the win in hopes that the Ravens crush them.

Panthers @ Seahawks [8:15pm FOX]
Living in Charlotte it would make sense for me to want the Panthers to win. I’m not going to pick them to win but the phrase “Any given Sunday” comes to mind. I guess it’s a good thing it’s Saturday. I’m picking the Seahawks for the win. Thanks for asking. (That’s a Marshawn Lynch reference BTW)

Sunday January 11th   



Cowboys @ Packers [1:05pm FOX]
Clearly, I’ll be rooting for and picking the Packers to win this game. Romo WILL have his epic fail and the Cowboys will go home crying; like Terrell Owens after, well, a Cowboys playoff loss.

Colts @ Broncos [4:40pm CBS]
This should be a very good game. I’m kind of hoping that Luck will run out for the Colts and that the Broncos win this game, even though I picked the Colts to go to the Super Bowl at the beginning of the season. I’m thinking that I’ll wear my Manning Colts Jersey and my Broncos ball cap.


I disagree with some of “Football Baby’s” pick’s this weekend. He picked the Pats, Colts, Cowboys, and Seahawks. If you’ve never watched Football Baby you should definitely check him out. It’s pretty amusing.
 http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-videos/0ap3000000455935/Football-Baby-Divisional-round

GO RAVENS, PANTHERS, PACKERS, & BRONCOS!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!

Saturday, January 3, 2015

The Shenoa Report Wild Card Weekend '15


The Shenoa Report
January 1, 2015
Week 18 Wild Card Weekend

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had a safe and fun New Years. I am currently sitting in the Philadelphia airport waiting for my flight back to Charlotte so I thought this would be a good way to pass the time. For the first time ever I am a Fantasy Football Champion! Woot woot! The other good news is the Giants won’t lose again this season! Phew!
4 head coaches were fired and another head coach quit at the end of this season. This is how it looks right now. The Jets have fired Rex Ryan, Atlanta Falcons fired Mike Smith, Chicago Bears fired Marc Trestman and the 49ers parted ways with Jim Harbaugh. Buffalo Bills head coach Doug Marrone also stepped down. The Giants have decided to keep Tom Coughlin for another year though!  I went 11-5 on my picks.

Anyway…
Let’s recap week 17

Browns (7-9) @ Ravens (10-6) 10-20
This game really didn’t shock anyone. Was glad to see Connor Shaw finally play.

Cowboys (12-4) @ Redskins (4-12) 44-17
This game was a joke. Glad the Redskins are in our division… it makes the Giants look just a little bit better.

Colts (11-5) @ Titans (2-14) 27-10
The Colts really need to step up their game if they are going to do well in the playoffs…  

Saints (7-9) @ Buccaneers (2-14) 23-20
I’m sure the Bucs are glad their season is over, as are the Saints.

Eagles (10-6) @ NY Giants (6-10) 34-26
It was really good to watch this game with my dad. It was even better that my aunt and cousin came to visit at the end of this game so that we didn’t have to really watch the derailing of our favorite football team. Oh well, there is always next season. PS I’m totally wearing my Giants hoodie in the Philly airport as I type this.

Bills (9-7) @ Patriots (12-4) 17-9
You should be proud Bills… you’re that much closer. Next year will be better.

Jaguars (3-13) @ Texans (9-7) 17-23
This was another game that didn’t surprise me.

Chargers (9-7) @ Chiefs (9-7) 7-19
It’s nice to see that the Chiefs bounced back for the last game of the season...

Jets (4-12) @ Dolphins (8-8) 37-24
I’d like to take this time to thank the Jets for being the worst team in NY. Bye Bye Rex Ryan. I’d like to say we’ll miss you… but we won’t.  

Bears (5-11) @ Vikings (7-9) 9-13
What happened to the Bears this year?

Raiders (3-13) @ Broncos (12-4) 14-47
Peyton didn’t have one passing touchdown and they still won handsomely, yet the Raiders kept their head coach? Oh yeah that’s right they fired him mid season. … wonder why.

Cardinals (11-5) @ 49ers (8-8) 17-20
The Cardinals are another team that will need to get their act together if they are going to win a playoff game.

Lions (11-5) @ Packers (12-4) 20-30
I knew the Packers would win. Aaron Rodgers would leave the game early only to come back and win the game for the Packers. Suh tried to stomp him out and was suspended for the wild card game but he appealed and is now able to play against the Cowboys… politics and pathetic.

Rams (6-10) @ Seahawks (12-4) 6-20
This was a really good defensive game. And that’s all I have to say about that.

Panthers (7-8-1) @ Falcons (6-10) 34-3
Did the Falcons even show up? I guess the Panthers wanted it more. Fun fact, the Panthers didn’t win their 4th game until December and are the winners of the NFC South… that’s terrible. If you are a Panthers fan do you really have much to boast about? Not so much.  

Bengals (10-5-1) @ Steelers (11-5) 17-27
The first half of this game was entertaining… that’s about it. Big Ben played with the flu… yuck.


WILD CARD WEEKEND

Saturday January 3rd   


Cardinals (11-5) @ Panthers (7-8-1) [4:35pm ESPN]
I’m picking the Panthers to win this game. I mean, when you’re hot you’re hot.

Ravens (10-6) @ Steelers (11-4) [8:15pm NBC]
I’ll be rooting for the Ravens and I was going to pick the Steelers for the win but now that Le’Veon Bell is out this kind of changes things. I guess that I’ll still pick the Steelers for the win.

Sunday January 4th  



Bengals (10-5-1) @ Colts (11-5) [1:05pm CBS]
I’m picking the Colts for the win. The Bengals haven’t won a playoff game since Boomer was their QB.

Lions (11-5) @ Cowboys (12-4) [4:40pm FOX]
I want the Lions to win, I hope Suh redeems himself and plays clean and hard. I’ll be rooting for the Lions but I think that the Cowboys will win this game. Unless Romo has an epic collapse… and he’s about due don’t you think?

The Patriots, Broncos, Packers, and Seahawks all have first round byes.


Thanks for the edit Mom!!!!!