Sunday, February 2, 2014

The Shenoa Report Super Bowl 48 '14


The Shenoa Report
February 2, 2014
SUPER BOWL XLVIII

HAPPY SUPER BOWL SUNDAY, HAPPY GROUNDHOGS DAY, and Happy Birthday to my very good friend Kyle Remington!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I really shouldn’t take a week off from writing this report, but I’ve never been able to get it together and write about the Pro Bowl (though I will soon)
The last time I posted this report I was in Asheville, NC and I really waited till the last minute to write it. I’m not gonna lie, I wasn’t feeling too well while writing… Note to self, write The Shenoa Report BEFORE going to the breweries and pack coconut water to rehydrate. The important thing is that I did get it posted before the games…
Championship Sunday did NOT disappoint. Because I wasn’t feeling so well I had asked my friend Cassie if we could head home that Sunday rather than Monday. I wanted to get home before the games started but that didn’t happen so we did the next best thing…. We went to Wild Wings Café to watch the first game. Cassie was such a good sport, she doesn’t know much about football and I don’t think she had ever watched an entire football game. So, her introduction to football was Championship Sunday with the Broncos and Patriots and Football Shenoa. She was in for a treat. We had gotten lunch before the game and I ordered a vat of water, the waiter said he couldn’t get me a vat so he brought me two huge glasses of water instead. He got a gold star for the day… but I digress.  I’ll talk more about the Broncos/Pats, and the 49ers/Seahawk when I recap.

I do want to congratulate Peyton Manning for being awarded NFL MVP of this season AND Offensive Player of the Year, with 5,477 passing yards and 55 touchdown passes in the regular season there wasn’t much of a debate. I also want to congratulate Michael Strahan for being inducted into the hall of fame!!!!! GMEN!!!!!

I also want to talk about the Pro Bowl. I was actually interested in the game this time, because for the first time ever it wasn’t the NFC against the AFC. Instead it was Team Rice and Team Sanders. Former NFL players Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders had a draft and were able to select their own teams. It was pretty awesome; Colts were playing against Colts, Eagles against Eagles, Chiefs against Chiefs and so on and so on. I picked Team Rice for the win, mainly because I never really liked Deion Sanders; I mean he played for the Cowboys…  It was a close scoring game (22-21 Team Rice) a harder hitting game for the Pro Bowl, lots of picks, and I’m still scratching my head as to how Phillip Rivers actually made it back again! Stop voting for him! He’s NOT good! It was nice to see J.J. Watt shine and I liked his surfing moves on the field. I tried to stay up for the whole game but fell asleep in the third quarter. Tear.

Now that we’ve gotten the Pro Bowl out of the way lets recap Championship Sunday so that we can get onto talking about the SUPER BOWL! I went 2-0 for picks (3-0 if you count the Pro Bowl… but no one counts the Pro Bowl)



Week 1
2012 Season

9-7
2013 Season

10-6
Week 2
7-9
13-3
Week 3
6-10
8-8
Week 4
12-3
10-5
Week 5
9-5
7-8
Week 6
8-6
10-5
Week 7
11-2
9-6
Week 8
10-4
11-2
Week 9
11-3
8-5
Week 10
6-8
8-6
Week 11
13-1
10-5
Week 12
12-4
6-8
Week 13
10-6
10-6
Week 14
8-8
10-6
Week 15
7-9
9-7
Week 16
12-4
11-5
Week 17
12-4
14-2
Wild Card
3-1
1-3
Divisional
1-3
2-2
Championship
2-0
2-0





Patriots @ Broncos 16-26
Brady VS Manning. Wow. What a game! I’m going to love this recap. So we walk into Wild Wings Café to watch the game, of course I’m wearing my #18 Manning jersey, and as luck would have it the only open seats were next to a Patriots fan. Cassie kept saying, he doesn’t look really happy does he. He would yell, I would yell, he would swear, I would laugh… it was a good time. I was kind of sad that he left at the half. I was telling Cassie all the football terms and was so hoping Brady would show her a pick 6 but it didn’t happen. For those of you who don’t know what a pick 6 is, it’s when the quarterback throws an interception and it’s run back for a touchdown. That was probably the only disappointing thing about this game.
The big stories for this game were little Wes Welker taking out Patriots cornerback Aqub Talib (it was a clean hit, and I’m pretty sure Wes took the brunt of that play), Peyton throwing for 400 yards 2 touchdowns no interceptions and not getting sacked or really hit the entire game, and Tom Brady still looking for a high five.
I knew there was a chance for a comeback during the fourth quarter and I told Cassie over and over again to never count the Pats out, but they never came back and my grin continued to grow. At the beginning of the game I was chanting, “It’s Peyton Manning time! It’s Peyton Manning time!” and at the end of the game it was “Peyton’s going to the Super Bowl! Peyton’s going to the Super Bowl!!!!!!!”
The Broncos looked great and the Patriots never got going. A Patriots defeat is always sweeter when it comes at the hands of a Manning.


49ers @ Seahawks 17-23

This was another crazy close game.  Unfortunately, I missed most of it due to the drive back home from Asheville. But, I have some awesome friends who kept me updated until I could get in front of a tv. Special thanks to Matthew and my Mom, you guys saved my life and Cassie’s too because I’m pretty sure she was all footballed out after the first game. I finally tuned in with about 10 minutes left in the game and what a crazy 10 minutes it was…
I don’t understand why the fumble recovery by NaVorro Bowman wasn’t reviewable but it was clearly a fumble. So, not only did he not get the ball, he really f-ed up his knee and will be out for a looooong time. I mean, I was clearly rooting for the Seahawks but anyone watching that game knows that the 49ers got shafted on that play.  
Now for the end of the game, I think it was pretty poetic that it ended with a Kaepernick interception. He tried to connect with Crabtree but Richard Sherman ruined his day, causing the interception that Malcolm Smith came up with, ultimately ending the game.  What an amazing finish to the game. Really, the Seahawks squeaked out this win but I’m glad that they did.
I’m sure you have heard, and are pretty sick and tired of hearing about Richard Sherman’s interview at the end of the game. All I could say is wow. At first I was taken aback, but after I thought about it, a lot, I’m not sure I would have handled myself that much differently.  He had just made the biggest play of his career that sent his team to the Super Bowl, then went to shake hands with Crabtree and Crabtree shoved him in the face…
I know I would have something to say too… just sayin.

SUPER BOWL SUNDAY


I’d like to reminisce past Super Bowls at this time. Super Bowl 41 Bears VS Colts. This was Peyton’s first Super Bowl win. It was a great game. I was a little worried when Devin Hester returned the kick off for a touchdown to start the game but in the end it was a Colts victory, which meant a Peyton Manning victory.  Super Bowl 42 Giants VS Patriots. This was Eli Manning’s first Super Bowl win and my first Super Bowl with Kyle. Kyle was a Panther’s fan before we met… It took some time, and some football Shenoa, but he became a NY Giants fan and a Manning fan. (I have this affect on people) We got matching Eli Manning Super Bowl 42 jerseys to wear while we watched the game. No lie, it was probably one of the best nights of my life. No one thought the Giants would win that game… but I knew, really knew, when Eli slipped out of that sack and connected with David Tyree that we were going to win the game. After that season Kyle became my best football buddy. Super Bowl 44 came around and Peyton was back in the Super Bowl again so Kyle and his wife decided to throw a Super Bowl Party and you better believe I was there and made everyone in attendance wear some sort of Colts paraphernalia. I don’t really want to talk about that game, just know that Kyle and I may have cried a lot that night… We share the good and the bad. Sadly, we weren’t together for Super Bowl 46 but the Manning theme continued and Eli was the only Manning to win at Lucas Oil Stadium (Peyton’s house) that year.
This Super Bowl Kyle and I will be able to watch football together again and it’s a special day for him too… Not only is it another Peyton Manning Super Bowl, it’s also Groundhogs Day AND his 30th birthday.
Dear God, for Kyle’s 30th birthday I am asking for a Peyton Manning Broncos win. AMEN.  


Sunday February 2nd      

Seahawks (15-3) VS Broncos (15-3) [6:25pm FOX]

I am so unbelievably stoked for this game.  My good friend Cassie (Kyle’s wife) got me Bronco’s nail decals for the game and now my nails look spectacular! I will be sporting my #18 Manning jersey and watching the game with the Remingtons!  Clearly, I’ll be rooting for the Broncos and picking them for the win. Seattle, seriously if you were playing ANY other team in the AFC I would totally be rooting for you.

If you want to watch Pregame all day long it starts at 10am on ESPN (Sunday NFL Countdown) Then, at 2pm you can switch it over to Fox to see their Pregame Show.
The only bad thing about having the game on Fox is having to listen to Joe Buck and Troy Aikman call the game…. (I really, really, really, really don’t like those guys… I’d rather hear nails on a chalkboard than listen to them)

After all this hype and talk about what a bad idea it would be to have the Super Bowl in the North East I’d like you to know that it is supposed to be partly cloudy today in East Rutherford, NJ with a high of 50 degrees. So everyone can stop freaking out about the weather now.

Oh yes, East Rutherford, NJ is where the Super Bowl will be held, not NY but NJ. Jersey was getting their feelings hurt that NYC was getting all the glory and fame for hosting the Super Bowl, so I wanted to recognize them.

Bruno Mars and the Red Hot Chili Peppers will be the halftime entertainment. If the power goes out like it did last year in New Orleans we’ll blame it on Rex Ryan and the Jets for not paying their portion of the electric bill, obviously it won’t be the Giants fault.

I think that pretty much covers it. Enjoy the game. Be safe. IT’S PEYTON MANNING TIME! IT’S PEYTON MANNING TIME!!!
GO BRONCOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THANKS FOR THE EDIT MOM!

No comments:

Post a Comment