The Shenoa Report
January 14, 2012
Post Season
Divisional
Things are getting pretty gosh darn exciting I would have to say. And Wildcard weekend was wild indeed! I didn’t really get to watch any of the Saturday games but I followed them pretty closely on my phone. You better believe I was glued to the TV for Sunday’s games!
There’s a lot going on with teams that didn’t make it to the playoffs too but I want to keep my focus on those who’ve made it and not on those who didn’t. BUT, I have to say that I really am really frustrated thinking about Peyton’s future knowing that the Colts have already put in their first round pick in the draft and are going with Andrew Luck. To make things worse the Jets want Peyton and I’m really starting to dislike that team, especially the coach and his mouth, AND what the team is saying about their current QB “anonymously”. I just don’t want Peyton to be a part of that. So, I’m not going to talk anymore about what’s going on around the league. I’ll just recap last weekend and go into Divisional weekend! Here’s the recap!
WILDCARD WEEKEND
Cincinnati @ Houston 10-31
Houston has showed us that you can make it to the playoffs with a 3rd string QB (I’ll get to Tebow in a minute). I think they’ll be fine as long as they keep ol’ Jakie off the field. T. J. Yates had only 4 games under his belt coming into the playoffs and you’ve got to hand it to him, he kept his cool. He threw for one touchdown and had no interceptions while Andy Dalton of the Bengals had no touchdowns and three interceptions. I guess the Ginger will be watching the rest of the post season from his couch. You know if he put strips of black in his hair he wouldn’t have to wear a helmet on the field. So congratulations Houston, you’ve made it to the next round. … it only gets tougher from here.
Detroit @ New Orleans 28-45
This is one of those games that I wished it would have ended at half time. I was so hoping that the Lions would pull off the win. Not this time around. They were really in the game until the 4th quarter and then the bottom dropped out. The Saints were crazy, going for it on every 4th down and making it! These guys are sick. (I mean that in a good way) Brees had a low night throwing for only 3 touchdowns and Stafford kept pace also throwing three touchdowns but he also had two interceptions. I’m going to miss the Megatron highlights, but I’m sure those Lions fans out there are already looking forward to next season. Congrats New Orleans for advancing. Just hope you don’t go any further.
Atlanta @ New York Giants 2-24
I was SO nervous heading into this game that I can’t imagine what it must have been like for the Gmen. It was their first playoff game at home in the new stadium, which I feel is very significant. (Ha-ha Jets) And up until the previous week they really hadn’t won any games convincingly. I was ready for the game, all decked out in my Giants attire, from my #10 Superbowl jersey to my fuzzy Giants socks and I even sported a new piece of the wardrobe from the Victoria’s Secret NFL collection. I was not happy when Eli was called for intentional grounding in the endzone which resulted in a safety. And I could have and would have strangled Tynes for missing that field goal if I’d been on the sidelines. I’m pretty sure my Gramma could have even made that field goal or any of the kids in my class. (I teach toddlers) But other than that the Giants played MAGNIFICENTLY! Our defense had a perfect game not allowing ANY points! Eli was amazing, continuing the best season of his career. It was Nicks who he favored this game, who had two touchdowns. I did miss saying CRUUUUUUUUZZZZ a lot but I’m pretty exciting that I’ll have more chances to say it this Sunday. Even Brandon Jacobs had a remarkable game with 92 rushing yards!
My Dave has yet to see “Crazy Giants Fan Football Shenoa” because ever since he’s started watching football with me the Giants have won compellingly. You’d better believe we’ll be watching the Giants together this Sunday.
Pittsburgh @ Denver 23-29 OT
TEBOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amazing, simply amazing! Now to talk about the other 3rd string QB who advances in the playoffs. It’s safe to say I love this guy. I’m not sure what I love more, Tebow winning or Big Ben losing, but I know when it comes hand in hand it’s epic. Now you know they have changed the overtime rules for the NFL playoffs. It is now more like college football, which I think is BS. Now, in overtime, if you win the coin toss and go down and kick a field goal the game continues and your opponent also gets a chance to score. If they score a field goal of course the game continues. If the game is still tied at the end of the first overtime then the next team that scores anything wins. Basically you need to score a touchdown to win outright in overtime. So, as to not confuse people, Tebow just threw a touchdown pass on the first play of overtime to end the game. Big Ben’s face was priceless. A big thank you to the Broncos for sending the Steelers to their couches for the rest of the postseason.
DIVISIONAL WEEKEND
New Orleans @ San Francisco [Saturday 4:30pm FOX]
The weak are being weeded out in this post season; and unlike the Bengals and Texans last week these two teams are not weak. I’m glad that the 49ers are playing at home and have had a week to rest. I’m hoping that this helps them out tremendously.. I’m really sick of hearing about the Saints winning and I’d like to see them go home. That, and I’d much rather see the Giants face off against the 49ers and not the Saints, but I’m getting ahead of myself. In the post season my picks are completely from the heart and my heart picks San Francisco to win this game. Jim Harbaugh has taken his team on a wild, awesome ride to the playoffs in his rookie year of a head coach in the NFL. I like those stories… well at least up until the point in which they play the Giants and then I bleed blue.
Denver @ New England [Saturday 8:00pm CBS]
So my sister is in Massachusetts this weekend so this is what I said to her… “I know it's a long shot, but being that you are in MA if you see Tim Tebow give him a big hug for me! And if you see Tom Brady punch him in the face ;) love you!!!!!” in which she replied “If I run into Brady, I think a swift side kick to the knee (and a face punch on the way down) would be fitting. And if there is a Tim sighting, a great big hug, God bless, and picture will suffice”
Hopefully my sister being in New England will help the Broncos today. They need all the help, and prayer they can get. I really believe that the Broncos can win this game today. Screw Tom Brady and the tuck rule, its TEBOW TIME. That, and Wes Welker is asking everyone to wear mustaches to the game, and I HATE mustaches. I think they should be outlawed. Oh, and it’s NOT cool that the Patriots picked up former Broncos head coach Josh McDaniels (the guy that drafted Tebow) last week… the Patriots play dirty and I hate them.
Houston @ Baltimore [Sunday 1:00pm CBS]
I’m pretty sure the Texans’ playoff run stops in Baltimore. The Ravens are still undefeated at home this season and I don’t think Houston has what it takes to dominate them. As for this weekend’s games, this one is really not high on my list to watch, and I don’t really care about the outcome; though, I’m pretty sure that the Ravens will win.
New York Giants @ Green Bay [Sunday 4:30pm FOX]
As I said in week 14 of the regular season “Something tells me we are going to be playing the Packers again… Tough loss but we’ll get them next time. There will be a next time.”
HERE’S OUR NEXT TIME BOYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t say it enough. Eli is having the best season of his career, our defensive line is FINALLY healthy, AND we actually have a running game again. This is the trifecta we’ve been waiting for ALL season and it’s finally coming together just in time to meet the Packers again. We’ve got this game. Play hard and finish strong. GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LETS GO GIANTS AND BRONCOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment