Sunday, January 22, 2012

The Shenoa Report Post Season Conference Championships '12


The Shenoa Report
January 22, 2012
Post Season
Conference Championship

Holy divisional weekend batman! We’re now down to four teams and its not at all surprising that they have made it this far. If I wasn’t biased before, I sure will be now. Who am I kidding, I’m always pretty biased.
In other football non-playoff related news, the Colts finally let go of Jim Caldwell after a 2-14 season. I’m telling you right now if the Colts let Peyton go it will also end my 13+ years as an Indianapolis Colts fan.
For those of you wondering about T.O. returning to the NFL; you don’t have to worry anymore. He has just signed with the Indoor Football League.  But, did anyone really miss him on the sidelines eating popcorn this season, crying about his QB, and running his mouth? I know I didn’t.
All right, back to divisional weekend. WOW. Before I recap I’d just like to say I hate the Patriots, and I’m so proud of my New York Football Giants. Okay, here we go!


New Orleans @ San Francisco 32-36
I was at a bridal shower during this game so I had to rely on the ESPN app on my phone for updates on the game. The last 4 minutes of the game were crazy with four lead changes. It was really hard to remain cool and collected and not draw attention to myself being that it was Stacie’s day and no one else cared about the football score.  I’m glad to see the 49ers advance to the next round because, frankly, I’m sick and tired of “who dat dem der Saints”.

Denver @ New England 10-45
This game sucked. It just plain sucked. After watching only the last 3 minutes of the first half and about 5 minutes of the second half I had had enough and asked Dave to just turn off the game. We decided to watch Fight Club instead… I am Jack’s broken heart. Tebow suffered some pretty bad injuries in the first half but continued to play through the injuries. I guess, if nothing else, Tebow will be the starting QB for the Broncos next season.
I really don’t feel like talking about the Patriots side of this game. I wonder if there is anyway we could recruit Rob Gronkowski to play for the Giants.

Houston @ Baltimore 13-20
I thought that this was going to be a very lopsided game in Baltimore’s favor, but it turned out to be a pretty tight game. Baltimore is going to have to tighten up quite a bit if they are going to have a chance against the Patriots.

New York Giants @ Green Bay 37-20
Despite the horrible calls by the refs and the mediocrity of Lawrence Tynes, the Giants owned this game flat out. The Packers didn’t lose this game the Giants WON IT! Dave got to see a little bit more of “Crazy Football Fan Shenoa” during this game but he was magically able to diffuse her somehow. I still don’t know how, I think he may be a Shenoa Whisperer. Regardless, ever since we started watching football together the Giants haven’t lost. He’s a great sport, and even wore a Giants t-shirt to show his support. Needless to say, Dave will be watching the Giants/49ers game with me this Sunday.  
Eli had another spectacular game where he connected with a very hot, and unstoppable, Hakeem Nicks. Everything was clicking, the Giants played like a well-oiled machine. I would have liked to see Manning connect with Cruz a little bit more but, I was excited to hear CRRUUUUUUUUZZZZZ from the stands at Lambeau. I told you that the Giants and Packers would meet again, and they did. The outcome couldn’t have been any sweeter. I’m glad it was the Gmen who knocked off the Super Bowl champions.


CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIPS


Alright, here are the possible Super Bowl  match-ups; Ravens/Giants, Ravens/49ers, Patriots/Giants, Patriots/49ers. Obviously I don’t really care who goes from the AFC as long as the Giants make it to the Super Bowl. A Ravens/Giants would be a Super Bowl 35 rematch where the Ravens killed the Giants (that won’t happen this time around).  A Ravens/49ers game would be a “Harbowl” but we had that game on Thanksgiving day and I don’t think we need to see it again this season. The Patriots/Giants would be a Super Bowl 42 rematch in which the same outcome would be much desired. I know that we had this match-up earlier this season (on November 6th actually) but I’d love to see it again. It’s always fantastic when the Giants win and it’s even better when they win against the Patriots.  My least favorite match-up would be the Patriots/49ers. I will not be taking the day off from work the day after the Super Bowl if the Giants don’t make it. Therefore, I’m planning on taking that day off… just like I did 4 years ago.

Baltimore @ New England [Sunday 3:00pm CBS]
Of course I would love to see Baltimore win this game but I really don’t see it happening.  I really hope I’m wrong.  I hope Terrell Suggs and Ray Lewis make Brady eat a lot of turf. Hit him hard, and hit him often boys.

New York Giants @ San Francisco [Sunday 6:30pm FOX]
I’m taking the Giants for the win. These guys met up earlier in the regular season and the 49ers took that game. It’s not going to happen this time. The Giants are finally playing their best football and its not going to let up in San Francisco. LETS GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the edit Mom!

Oh yeah … LETS GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Saturday, January 14, 2012

The Shenoa Report Post Season Divisional Weekend '12


The Shenoa Report
January 14, 2012
Post Season
Divisional


Things are getting pretty gosh darn exciting I would have to say. And Wildcard weekend was wild indeed! I didn’t really get to watch any of the Saturday games but I followed them pretty closely on my phone. You better believe I was glued to the TV for Sunday’s games!
There’s a lot going on with teams that didn’t make it to the playoffs too but I want to keep my focus on those who’ve made it and not on those who didn’t. BUT, I have to say that I really am really frustrated thinking about Peyton’s future knowing that the Colts have already put in their first round pick in the draft and are going with Andrew Luck. To make things worse the Jets want Peyton and I’m really starting to dislike that team, especially the coach and his mouth, AND what the team is saying about their current QB “anonymously”. I just don’t want Peyton to be a part of that. So, I’m not going to talk anymore about what’s going on around the league. I’ll just recap last weekend and go into Divisional weekend!  Here’s the recap!

WILDCARD WEEKEND

Cincinnati @ Houston 10-31
Houston has showed us that you can make it to the playoffs with a 3rd string QB (I’ll get to Tebow in a minute). I think they’ll be fine as long as they keep ol’ Jakie off the field.  T. J. Yates had only 4 games under his belt coming into the playoffs and you’ve got to hand it to him, he kept his cool.  He threw for one touchdown and had no interceptions while Andy Dalton of the Bengals had no touchdowns and three interceptions. I guess the Ginger will be watching the rest of the post season from his couch. You know if he put strips of black in his hair he wouldn’t have to wear a helmet on the field. So congratulations Houston, you’ve made it to the next round. … it only gets tougher from here.


Detroit @ New Orleans 28-45
This is one of those games that I wished it would have ended at half time. I was so hoping that the Lions would pull off the win. Not this time around. They were really in the game until the 4th quarter and then the bottom dropped out.  The Saints were crazy, going for it on every 4th down and making it! These guys are sick. (I mean that in a good way) Brees had a low night throwing for only 3 touchdowns and Stafford kept pace also throwing three touchdowns but he also had two interceptions. I’m going to miss the Megatron highlights, but I’m sure those Lions fans out there are already looking forward to next season. Congrats New Orleans for advancing. Just hope you don’t go any further.

Atlanta @ New York Giants 2-24
I was SO nervous heading into this game that I can’t imagine what it must have been like for the Gmen. It was their first playoff game at home in the new stadium, which I feel is very significant. (Ha-ha Jets) And up until the previous week they really hadn’t won any games convincingly. I was ready for the game, all decked out in my Giants attire, from my #10 Superbowl jersey to my fuzzy Giants socks and I even sported a new piece of the wardrobe from the Victoria’s Secret NFL collection. I was not happy when Eli was called for intentional grounding in the endzone which resulted in a safety. And I could have and would have strangled Tynes for missing that field goal if I’d been on the sidelines. I’m pretty sure my Gramma could have even made that field goal or any of the kids in my class. (I teach toddlers) But other than that the Giants played MAGNIFICENTLY! Our defense had a perfect game not allowing ANY points! Eli was amazing, continuing the best season of his career. It was Nicks who he favored this game, who had two touchdowns. I did miss saying CRUUUUUUUUZZZZ a lot but I’m pretty exciting that I’ll have more chances to say it this Sunday. Even Brandon Jacobs had a remarkable game with 92 rushing yards!
My Dave has yet to see “Crazy Giants Fan Football Shenoa” because ever since he’s started watching football with me the Giants have won compellingly. You’d better believe we’ll be watching the Giants together this Sunday.

Pittsburgh @ Denver 23-29 OT
TEBOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amazing, simply amazing! Now to talk about the other 3rd string QB who advances in the playoffs. It’s safe to say I love this guy. I’m not sure what I love more, Tebow winning or Big Ben losing, but I know when it comes hand in hand it’s epic. Now you know they have changed the overtime rules for the NFL playoffs. It is now more like college football, which I think is BS. Now, in overtime, if you win the coin toss and go down and kick a field goal the game continues and your opponent also gets a chance to score. If they score a field goal of course the game continues. If the game is still tied at the end of the first overtime then the next team that scores anything wins. Basically you need to score a touchdown to win outright in overtime. So, as to not confuse people, Tebow just threw a touchdown pass on the first play of overtime to end the game. Big Ben’s face was priceless.  A big thank you to the Broncos for sending the Steelers to their couches for the rest of the postseason.



DIVISIONAL WEEKEND

New Orleans @ San Francisco [Saturday 4:30pm FOX]
The weak are being weeded out in this post season; and unlike the Bengals and Texans last week these two teams are not weak. I’m glad that the 49ers are playing at home and have had a week to rest. I’m hoping that this helps them out tremendously.. I’m really sick of hearing about the Saints winning and I’d like to see them go home. That, and I’d much rather see the Giants face off against the 49ers and not the Saints, but I’m getting ahead of myself. In the post season my picks are completely from the heart and my heart picks San Francisco to win this game. Jim Harbaugh has taken his team on a wild, awesome ride to the playoffs in his rookie year of a head coach in the NFL. I like those stories… well at least up until the point in which they play the Giants and then I bleed blue.

Denver @ New England [Saturday 8:00pm CBS]
So my sister is in Massachusetts this weekend so this is what I said to her… “I know it's a long shot, but being that you are in MA if you see Tim Tebow give him a big hug for me! And if you see Tom Brady punch him in the face ;) love you!!!!!” in which she replied “If I run into Brady, I think a swift side kick to the knee (and a face punch on the way down) would be fitting. And if there is a Tim sighting, a great big hug, God bless, and picture will suffice”
Hopefully my sister being in New England will help the Broncos today. They need all the help, and prayer they can get. I really believe that the Broncos can win this game today. Screw Tom Brady and the tuck rule, its TEBOW TIME. That, and Wes Welker is asking everyone to wear mustaches to the game, and I HATE mustaches. I think they should be outlawed. Oh, and it’s NOT cool that the Patriots picked up former Broncos head coach Josh McDaniels (the guy that drafted Tebow) last week… the Patriots play dirty and I hate them.

Houston @ Baltimore [Sunday 1:00pm CBS]
I’m pretty sure the Texans’ playoff run stops in Baltimore. The Ravens are still undefeated at home this season and I don’t think Houston has what it takes to dominate them. As for this weekend’s games, this one is really not high on my list to watch, and I don’t really care about the outcome; though, I’m pretty sure that the Ravens will win.

New York Giants @ Green Bay [Sunday 4:30pm FOX]
As I said in week 14 of the regular season “Something tells me we are going to be playing the Packers again… Tough loss but we’ll get them next time. There will be a next time.”
HERE’S OUR NEXT TIME BOYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t say it enough. Eli is having the best season of his career, our defensive line is FINALLY healthy, AND we actually have a running game again. This is the trifecta we’ve been waiting for ALL season and it’s finally coming together just in time to meet the Packers again. We’ve got this game. Play hard and finish strong.  GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LETS GO GIANTS AND BRONCOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Saturday, January 7, 2012

The Shenoa Report Wildcard Weekend '12


The Shenoa Report
January 7, 2012
Wildcard Weekend

HAPPY NEW YEAR! How ‘bout week 17?!?!?!?! There were some disappointments but mostly awesomeness on my end.  A LOT happened this past week going into Wildcard weekend. I’m sure I won’t be able to recap it all but here it goes. Most importantly, Brett Favre is STILL RETIRED.  Most surprising, Vice Chairman Bill Polian and Vice President and General Manager Chris Polian of the Colts were let go. I don’t know what this means for Peyton and the rest of the team but it doesn’t bode well in my mind.  Rams head coach Steve Spagnuolo and Bucs head coach Raheem Morris were also fired this past Monday and there are even more head coaches on the hot seat, including Indi’s Jim Caldwell.  We’re headed into Wildcard weekend! Did your team make it to the playoffs? We’ll get to that, but first let’s look at the last week of the regular season.

New York Jets @ Miami 17-19
In the end the Jets beat themselves. They completely fell apart. They will be watching the playoffs from home and we won’t have to listen to Rex Ryan’s mouth until next season.  (Sounds like a win to me)

Buffalo @ New England 21-49
The Bills were up 21-0 in the first quarter but decided that was enough and didn’t score the rest of the game. Typical Bills game for ya, at least Bills fans aren’t used to making it into the post-season so playoffs shouldn’t be so painful for them.

Tennessee @ Houston 23-22
Tennessee barely edges past Houston but still doesn’t make it into the playoffs.  The Texans on the other hand, made it into the playoffs on a three game losing streak and Jake Delhomme. (The plot thickens)

Indianapolis @ Jacksonville 13-19
With that loss the Colts take the first round draft pick in 2012.

Washington @ Philadelphia 10-34
Philly finished strong and has all of the post season and off season to “dream” of a new nickname for their team, because obviously “The Dream Team” was more of a nightmare for them.  Washington is in the same boat without the clever nickname. I can still remember Rex Grossman saying they were going to take the NFC East… maybe he needed to be more specific in that they were going to take the NFC East Champions out to dinner.

Chicago @ Minnesota 17-13
Chicago finally won a game without Cutler to end a 5 game losing streak and finish out the season.

Carolina @ New Orleans 17-45
The Saints crushed the Panthers while Drew Brees threw 5 touchdowns and 389 passing yards on the day.  I’m just glad it wasn’t a home game for Carolina.

San Francisco @ St. Louis 34-27
The 49ers clinched a first round bye with this win over the Rams. Not that the Rams didn’t fight, it wasn’t a blowout loss like it could have been.

Detroit @ Green Bay 41-45
Green Bay’s backup QB Matt Flynn threw 480 yards and 6 touchdown passes which made Matt Stafford’s 520 yards 5 touchdown s and 2 interceptions just not as impressive being that Stafford is the starter and Flynn is the backup.  Anyway, I’m glad we get to see both of these teams in the playoffs.

Baltimore @ Cincinnati 24-16
By beating Cincinnati, Baltimore clinches a first round bye. Cincinnati also sneaks into the playoffs because of the Jets and Broncos losses.  

Pittsburgh @ Cleveland 13-9
Sometimes with victory comes loss and that was the case for the Steelers when they beat the Browns but lost running back Rashard Mendenhall with a torn ACL.

Kansas City @ Denver 7-3
So even though Denver lost this game they still made it into the postseason because the Chargers beat the Raiders. In that I am glad because I wasn’t ready to hang up Tebow mania for the season.

Seattle @ Arizona 20-23 OT
This was Arizona’s fourth overtime win at home for the season. I guess they really just like to draw out the games. I’m sure the hearts of Arizona fans really appreciate it.  Seattle is just going home, dreaming about last year when they made the playoffs with a losing record and then picking off the Super Bowl champs in the playoffs …

San Diego @ Oakland 38-26
Well that worked out. With the Chargers win the Raiders don’t make it into the playoffs, the Chargers don’t make it into the playoffs either but the Broncos do. Yay for Tebow!

Tampa Bay @ Atlanta 24-45
Tampa Bay is pathetic. It’s no wonder their head coach was fired after this game. Even though they had a better record than the Colts and Rams they simply were more embarrassing in my opinion.

Dallas @ New York Giants 14-31
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ME AND TO ALL THOSE WHO BLEED BLUE!  Not only did the Giants win, they did so convincingly! HOORAY!!!!! What a game. I’m really wishing that I hadn’t let Russ talk me out of the original bet because he would be walking around with a shaved head right now. Oh well.  So, not only did the Giants make it into the playoffs, they beat their archenemies (twice), and took the NFC East Championship! BOOM!!!! I was able to watch the game at home with the new addition to my life; I like to call him My Dave.  I’m not gonna lie, I was pretty nervous because he was going to see “Football Shenoa”  for the first time, and not just “Football Shenoa”, but “Crazy Giants Fan Football Shenoa”.  Thankfully the Giants played one of, if not their best, game of the year and “Crazy Giants Fan Football Shenoa” didn’t make an appearance, though my nose may have flared once or twice. The Gmen sacked Romo six times that glorious night and Eli and Cruz connected for some phenomenal plays.  Eli is truly an ELIte quarterback. What a great way to start 2012.

WILDCARD WEEKEND

Cincinnati @ Houston [Saturday 4:30pn NBC]
All right, if there are any mediocre teams headed into the playoffs, not to say they aren’t deserving, these two are it. I mean, maybe I’m wrong but if Peyton played this season there is no way that Houston would have taken the AFC South let alone make it to the playoffs, and Cincinnati, though I’m not sure how, squeaked in as the 3rd team in the AFC North to make the playoffs.  So to pick a winner, man, its tough, I’m going to have to go with Cincinnati. Why? I’m not really sure.


Detroit @ New Orleans [Saturday 8:00pm NBC]
As much as I would love to see Detroit win this game I’m pretty sure their playoff dreams end tonight.  I hope I’m wrong, but I don’t think I will be.

Atlanta @ New York Giants [Sunday 1:00pm FOX]
Obviously, I’m picking the New York Football Giants to win this game. Not only do I want them to win I know they can.  Side note: the Giants NOT the Jets will be playing the first playoff game in their new stadium. WOOT! Another side note: did you know that Victoria’s Secret has an NFL line?! They do, and this girl just got some Giants apparel that I’m very excited to wear Sunday. The front has a little Giants helmet and the back says TOUCHDOWN! First we defeated Rex Ryan, then Rob Ryan and soon enough Matt Ryan! LETS GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pittsburgh @ Denver [Sunday 4:30pm CBS]
Man oh man, except for a Giants win, there is nothing more that I would like to see than Denver rolling the Steelers. For my crazy pick of the week and my hatred towards Pittsburgh I am picking Denver for the crazy comeback win.

GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!! and I never thought I’d be saying this GO DENVER!!!!!!!!!! But mostly GO GIANTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!