Friday, December 30, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 17 '11



The Shenoa Report
December 30, 2011
Regular Season Week 17

THIS IS THE LAST WEEK OF THE REGULAR SEASON!!!!!! Insert frownie face here. Why does the season always seem to go by super fast? And why can’t the NBA season go by this fast?
I hope that everyone had a Merry Christmas, and for those of you who celebrate something else I hope yours was very merry too! Christmas came early for me when the Giants beat the Jets, and in doing so eliminated the Eagles from the playoffs AND then the Eagles beat the Cowboys, which put the Giants back on top of the NFC East! And if that wasn’t enough, Thursday night the Colts beat the Texans, which means that for the first time this season BOTH of my favorite teams actually won!  
In other football news Adrian Peterson was put on IR after tearing his ACL in the win over the Redskins. Drew Brees broke Dan Marino’s passing yards record in the win over Atlanta Monday night, and if you watched the Cincinnati game you may have thought you were watching Olympic caliber gymnastics.  Let’s recap week 16


Houston @ Indianapolis 16-19
So I’m driving to NY and listening to the game on my iPhone. Gabe is asleep and snoring in the passenger seat and Orlovsky throws the game-winning touchdown! I almost lose it while going around a curve because I automatically start clapping and cheering. GABE DOESN’T EVEN WAKE UP! So lets not tell him about it. It’ll be our little secret. Its not like I wrecked or anything.  Gabe woke up about an hour later and I said, “so, the Colts won” he said, “oh good” and went back to sleep.
Now back to the game.  Orlovsky has now won 2 in a row, which he has never done before in the NFL. Up until last week he had never even won a game before in the NFL. Things are getting brighter for that guy. On a sad note I just read that this game might have been the last home game ever for Reggie Wayne and Jeff Saturday. For that I would like to say WWWWHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH L I do not like that at all. Hopefully it’s not true.

Denver @ Buffalo 14-40
The Giants had a time out and my dad switched to this game just in time to see Timmy’s first rushing TD. We then went back to the Giants game and never switched back., and for that I’m glad. I don’t like seeing Tebow lose. On the other hand my Western NY family was pretty happy with the Buffalo win so I guess its ok.

Miami @ New England 24-27
We also got this game at my parent’s house and would switch back and forth during the first half. I was pretty disappointed when Miami gave up a 17-point lead in the third and then lost the game in the fourth. Damn you Tom Brady.

Cleveland @ Baltimore 14-20
Interesting tidbit from NFL.com, this was Baltimore’s first unbeaten season at home (8-0). Good job boys!  There was really no question of whether or not the Ravens would win but by how much, the low close score was the surprising part

Oakland @ Kansas City 16-13 OT
I was rooting for KC and I really thought they would win in overtime. Too bad, so sad.

Minnesota  @ Washington 33-26
YAY FOR THE VIKINGS! It’s really sad that they lost Adrian Peterson and Christian Ponder on back to back plays but they still beat the Redskins.

Arizona @ Cincinnati 16-23
Tough loss for Arizona but it was a great win for the Bengals.  The play of the game came when The Ginger threw a TD pass to Jerome Simpson, who did a full flip over a defender, and then stuck the landing in the end zone. I’m pretty sure it will be one of the best plays of the year next year.

St. Louis @ Pittsburgh 0-27
So the Steelers shut out the Rams without Big Ben. I can’t fault them for that.

Tampa Bay @ Carolina 16-48
Cam broke Peyton’s rookie record for yards passing in a season in this win over the Bucs.  The Panthers have now won three times as many as they did last season. Not good enough to make the playoffs but enough to put fans in the seats. Thanks Cam.

New York Giants @ New York Jets 29-14
“TALK IS CHEAP PLAY THE GAME” That’s what Coughlin said and that’s just what the Giants did. They pretty much made Rex Ryan eat his words and Ryan took a huge slice of humble pie. I wonder how long it’ll take him to digest it.
 I’ve gotta say it… CRRRRRUUUUUUZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ! Victor Cruz is AMAZING. The game started off slowly and I wasn’t really happy until half time.  But when Manning hit Cruz it was a dream come true. In my opinion the ref’s calls were HORRIBLE but the GMEN still got it done. It wasn’t pretty but, it was a win, a HUGE win. The Giants will always be New York’s team and this game proved it.
I must admit I had a smirk on my face when Burress’ TD was called back when he was called for offensive pass interference.  Should have stayed with Big Blue Burress. I hope this loss stings for you, you arrogant blah blah blah. 
Our boys played their hearts out. Major props to Cruz, J.P.P, Bradshaw, Jacobs, and Manning. Love you guys! Thanks for the early Christmas present! It was even sweeter being able to watch it with my dad. After the game I ran out on my parent’s front porch and did a happy dance screaming “WE WON! WE WON! THE GIANTS WON!”  I got a few weird looks from my neighbors and there was a guy walking his dog who wasn’t too impressed… he was probably an Eagles fan. Oh yes the icing on the cake… with the Giants winning we kicked the Eagles out of the playoffs. It was a Merry Christmas indeed.


Jacksonville @ Tennessee 17-23
I think the Titans won just for my cousin Abby. She’s really sweet. She got me Giants socks for Christmas.
Even after 16 games whenever I hear Matt Hasselbeck I think of Seattle and not Tennessee. Matt didn’t have a good game, throwing two interceptions and only one TD but the Titans still beat Jacksonville.

San Diego @ Detroit 10-38
Put a fork in the Chargers they are DONE. The Lions really took it to them, and for the first time since 1999 the Lions have made the playoffs. FINALLY, Lions fans have something to be excited about!

Philadelphia @ Dallas 20-7
I love how the GMEN eliminated the Eagles from the playoffs and in return the Eagles helped the Giants by killing Dallas, beating them, AND hurting their QB! Thanks Eagles, another early Christmas present!

San Francisco @ Seattle 19-17
I did NOT think that this game would be so close but the 49ers got it done.  It was, however, the first time this season that the 49ers allowed a rushing TD.

Chicago @ Green Bay 21-35
Not really a surprise. Green Bay is a monster.  

Atlanta @ New Orleans 16-45
Drew Brees breaks Dan Marino’s passing yards record for a season after they run up the score on the Falcons. Not cool, but somehow they got away with it due to breaking the record.

12-16 I must say my picks were a LOT better this week.


WEEK 17
THE LAST SUNDAY OF THE REGULAR SEASON AND THE START OF A NEW YEAR!
WELCOME 2012!




I thought I’d do something different this week in addition to making my picks I’d let you know who’s already made it to the playoffs, who has a chance, and who is out. Here we go…

AFC
NFC
Patriots IN
Packers IN
Ravens IN
49ers IN
Texans IN
Saints IN
Steelers IN
Giants in with win or tie over Cowboys
Broncos need a win over the Chiefs or Raiders loss to Chargers to claim the AFC West

Lions are in and just playing for seed
Bengals need a win over Baltimore and then they are in with the WC
Falcons are in and just playing for seed
Raiders need a win coupled with Broncos loss also in hunt
Cowboys in with win over Giants
Titans need to win at Houston and have the Bengals lose and get help for WC

Bears ELIMINATED
 Jets need a win @ Miami and have Bengals and Titans lose and need help for WC… and a miracle

Seahawks ELIMINATED
Chargers ELIMINATED
Cardinals ELIMINATED
Bills ELIMINATED
Eagles ELIMINATED
Chiefs ELIMINATED
Panthers ELIMINATED
Dolphins ELIMINATED
Redskins ELIMINATED
Browns ELIMINATED
Buccaneers ELIMINATED
Jaguars ELIMINATED
Vikings ELIMINATED
Colts ELIMINATED
Rams ELIMINATED


All the games will take place on Sunday this week, and the Cowboy Giants game has been moved to PRIMETIME!!!!

New York Jets (8-7) @ Miami (5-10) [1pm CBS]
Miami is already out of the playoff picture and the Jets are going to need a lot of help getting in.  (So you’re telling me there’s a chance.) First, they need to win this game. Let’s see if they can bounce back from last week. I think Miami is going to spoil the Jets hopes of getting into the playoffs but I’ll pick the Jets for the win for Matt Marciano.

Buffalo (6-7) @ New England (12-3) [1pm CBS]
New England is already in the playoffs and has the first round bye, Brady has been limited in practice and they don’t really need to win. Buffalo is already out of the playoff picture but would like to finish the season even so I’ll pick the Bills for the win.  Plus I hate the Pats and again I’m picking teams I “want” to win and not necessarily who I think will win for Matt.

Tennessee (8-7) @ Houston (10-5) [1pm CBS]
Tennessee still has a chance of making the playoffs but I don’t think it’s likely this time around. Sorry Abby, I’m going to have to pick Houston for the win this week.

Indianapolis (2-13) @ Jacksonville (4-11) [1pm CBS]
Call me crazy, but I’m taking Indi for the win. I hope Orlovsky can better his winning record to 3.

Washington (5-10) @ Philadelphia (7-8) [1pm FOX]
This game has no playoff implications whatsoever and I’m starting to not like either team equally but I still hate Philly more. I’m pretty sure the Eagles will have no problem winning this game but I’d much rather see a tie.

Chicago (7-8) @ Minnesota (3-12) [1pm FOX]
This game also has no playoff implications; both teams are out so it’ll be their last game of the season. I’m picking Chicago for the win.

Carolina (6-9) @ New Orleans (12-3) [1pm FOX]
With a Saints win New Orleans could secure a 1st round bye. I’m picking the Saints for the win.

San Francisco (12-3) @ St. Louis (2-13) [1pm FOX]
If the Colts win and the 49ers win, the Rams could have the first pick in the draft.  I’m picking the 49ers to win this game and the Rams to get the first round pick.

Detroit (10-5) @ Green Bay (14-1) [1pm FOX]
Green Bay has already secured the first round bye and home field advantage throughout the playoffs so they really aren’t playing for anything and will probably rest most of their starters, if they’re smart. I’m picking the Lions for the win as long as Suh can keep his feet to himself.

Baltimore (11-4) @ Cincinnati  (9-6) [4:15pm CBS]
If Cinci wins they are in the playoffs and if Baltimore loses and Pittsburgh wins Baltimore will lose the division title. I’m pretty sure that the Steelers are going to beat Cleveland and I hate the Steelers so I’m going to have to pick Baltimore for the win. Sorry Cincinnati. Interesting tidbit, so that this game wouldn’t be blacked out in Cincinnati the Bengals made sure they sold out the stadium by selling tickets buy one get one free. It worked. No blackout in Cincinnati this weekend.

Pittsburgh (11-4) @ Cleveland (4-11) [4:15pm CBS]
I pretty much just explained this game through the Baltimore game. I hate Pittsburgh and would love to see the Browns play spoiler but I won’t hold my breath. I’ll cross my fingers though.

Kansas City (6-9) @ Denver (8-7) [4:15pm CBS]
So when Denver let Kyle Orton go to make room for Tim Tebow the Chiefs picked him up. Now Orton is making his way back to play at Mile High again but this time with the Chiefs. For the Broncos to make it to the playoffs they need to beat the Chiefs or the Raiders to lose to the Chargers. I wouldn’t count on the Chargers to win so I hope that the Broncos can win at home. I’m picking the Broncos for the win! I don’t want Tebow time to be over for this season just quite yet. Love that kid!

Seattle (7-8) @ Arizona (7-8) [4:15pm FOX]
This is another game where both teams have no hope of the playoffs and just want to finish strong. It’s another game of the angry birds and the loser will be the angriest. I’m picking Arizona for the win.

San Diego (7-8) @ Oakland (8-7) [4:15pm CBS]
The Raiders need a win AND a Broncos loss to get into the playoffs. I think the Raiders will win their game but I hope they don’t make it into the playoffs because I’d rather see Tebow!

Tampa Bay (4-11) @ Atlanta (9-6) [4:15pm FOX]
I’m picking the Falcons for the win. The Bucs aren’t playing for anything and are just pathetic.

Dallas (8-7) @ New York Giants (8-7) [8:20pm NBC]
This is the Giants first playoff game really. They win and they’re in. and what better way to make the playoff than beating their archrival! I have a feeling it’s going to be a close, high blood pressure, sort of game but I’m sure that the Gmen will take the win. I wouldn’t be surprised if they took out Romo during the course of the game. LETS GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GO GIANTS AND COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
HAPPY NEW YEAR!




Thursday, December 22, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 16 '11



The Shenoa Report
December 22, 2011
Regular Season Week 16

Adam Schefter said this past Sunday “Looks and feels like Upset Sunday…” He hit the nail right on the head with that remark. Not only was it an upset Sunday, it was very upsetting as well.  I felt ill. I still can’t talk about the Giants / Redskins game without screaming. I only picked 7 out of the 16 games correctly this week, and on top of that I lost the “shave his head” bet. Now, lets look at the silver lining. The Giants still have a chance to make the playoffs, the Colts FINALLY won a game, and Green Bay is no longer perfect.
Let’s note for week 16 that there is a Thursday night game, a lot of Saturday games, only one Sunday game, and one Monday night game. I’m so excited that I’ll be home in NY for Christmas so I’ll be able to watch the Giants game with my father. I look forward to the holidays because that seems to be the only time my dad and I get to watch football together anymore. I talked to my dad last night and he was quite upset that I didn’t call him this past Sunday  (I usually call him EVERY Sunday to talk football). I told him that I just couldn’t bring myself to talk about the Giant’s loss, even to my Daddy.  
Let’s recap week 15.

Jacksonville @ Atlanta 14-41
Well I would have picked Atlanta to win this game but I wouldn’t have thought it was the slaughter that actually was.

Dallas @ Tampa Bay 31-15
Uuuggghhhhh I’m so disappointed in the Bucs. I still don’t think Dallas is that great…. And I still hate them.

Cincinnati @ St. Louis 20-13
Dalton, or as I like to call him, the Ginger, didn’t have a great game but the Bengals still came up on top. But, they were playing the bumblebees, I mean the Rams, so… it wasn’t much of a contest.

Miami @ Buffalo 30-23
Pretty sure this was the first “snow” game of the season. So, I just have to scratch my head and wonder why the Miami team came out on top, in Buffalo, in the snow.  What?!?!? That just makes my head hurt.

Tennessee @ Indianapolis 13-27
WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU TENNESSEE FOR GIVING THE COLTS THEIR FIRST WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I mean, thank you Colts for finally stepping up and winning a flippin game! I can just imagine the conversation between Orlovsky and Manning. Orlovsky - “Ooooh, so THIS is what it feels like to win! This is awesome! I should have done this in Detroit!” Manning – “Yeah winning IS awesome, take it all in because you only have 2 games left and then you’ll be looking for a job because I’ll be back next season Biotch! “
But seriously, what a game. It was really good to see the Colts actually play like… The Colts.

Washington @ New York Giants 23-10
I really don’t want to talk about this game. I just want to throw things around the living room and scream a lot. GMEN, WHY MUST YOU PLAY DOWN TO YOUR OPPONENTS LEVEL?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? Highlights? Not this week. All I can say is you better get it together. AND this is why I don’t make bets. Because I don’t like to lose! I was really looking forward to shaving my friend’s head. Really, really looking forward to it. Giants, you let me down. Please don’t do it again.

New Orleans @ Minnesota 42-20
Drew Brees is a beast! He had 5 TDs in the win over the Vikings. With numbers like that it doesn’t really matter that Adrian Peterson was back in the line up for Minnesota.

Green Bay @ Kansas City 14-19
As I watched this game I really couldn’t believe what was happening. KC was beating Green Bay, with field goals no less. It was a good day for my friend Russ, he got to keep his hair and his Chiefs knocked off the undefeated Packers.

Carolina @ Houston 28-13
Carolina looked legit. Way to go boys. The air was nicer in Charlotte this week.
It was nice to see the Panthers actually hold on in the 4th and not give the game away.

Seattle @ Chicago 38-14
Wow, that’s just embarrassing. Maybe we should start calling Chicago the teddy bears. They did do a good job of making the Seahawks look awesome.

New York Jets @ Philadelphia 19-45
NOT a good day for New Yorkers allllll around. Though I hope the Jets have the same outcome this coming Saturday. What makes me absolutely sick is that there is a chance that Philly could make it to the playoffs after this win. PUKE.

Detroit @ Oakland 28-27
Two words. Calvin Johnson. Ok here are some more words. Suh came back from his suspension, blocked a game winning field goal, and helped the Lions win their game. It was a good day to be a Lions fan, finally.

Cleveland @ Arizona 17-20 OT
Arizona really likes to draw things out this season. Did you know it was their 3rd overtime win this season. Way to go boys!

New England @ Denver 41-23
The first quarter was my favorite and then I should have stopped watching. Still love you Timmy. Tebow had a spectacular rushing TD in the first quarter and the Broncos had a magnificent hit on Brady in the 4th. (It’s even in the highlights. You can watch it on nfl.com)

Baltimore @ San Diego 14-34
Yeah, I did not see that coming.  Sometimes I think that Baltimore is like the Giants. There are just some games that they should win and they don’t, and then there are those that they aren’t expected to win and they do. Baltimore, the Giants of the AFC.

Pittsburgh @ San Francisco 3-20
Lights out. Literally. Big Ben had 3 interceptions and no touchdown. I wish he could play like that every week. San Francisco looked decent and the two power outages didn’t seem to faze them any. It was a late Monday night game but a happy ending to a pretty crappy football weekend.

7 out of 16 right… ouch.

Week 16

Houston (10-4) @ Indianapolis (1-13) [Thursday 8:20pm NFLN]
It sure does feel good to type a 1 before the 13. Just saying. I don’t think that Indi can pull it off two weeks in a row, but crazier things have happened. I’m still picking Houston for the win, but at this point I wouldn’t be surprised if I was wrong. I’ll be driving to NY tonight so I think I’ll make my friend Gabe listen to the game with me. At least all my yelling and screaming at the radio will keep us awake.

Denver (8-6) @ Buffalo (5-9) [Saturday 1pm CBS]
I’ll probably be switching back and forth between this game and the Giants game Saturday afternoon. But I’ll be pulling for the Broncos; sorry to my western NY family it’s TEBOW time!

Miami (5-9) @ New England (11-3) [Saturday 1pm CBS]
I would love to see Miami upset the Pat’s Christmas Eve but I’m not going to hold my breath. I’m taking the Pats for the win.

Cleveland (4-10) @ Baltimore (10-4) [Saturday 1pm CBS]
Baltimore needs to bounce back after a pathetic win last week. I’m taking the Ravens at home.

Oakland (7-7) @ Kansas City (6-8) [Saturday 1pm CBS]
Oakland continues to struggle and KC dropped Green Bay last week so I’ve got to pick them for the win this week. Go KC.

Minnesota (2-12) @ Washington (5-9) [Saturday 1pm FOX]
I’m picking Washington for the win but I won’t be rooting for them. At this point if Favre was the QB for the Vikings I’d still be behind them. And THAT’S saying something.

Arizona (7-7) @ Cincinnati (8-6) [Saturday 1pm FOX]
Although I’d like to see the Cardinals win I’m going to have to pick the Bengals at home… they might even see some snow. Burrrrr.

St. Louis (2-12) @ Pittsburgh (10-4) [Saturday 1pm FOX]
Again, I’m picking the Steelers but I hope that the Rams get their third win of the season. Not likely, I know.

Tampa Bay (4-10) @ Carolina (5-9) [Saturday 1pm FOX]
I’m taking Carolina at home and wishing everyone in Charlotte a Merry Christmas!

New York Giants (7-7) @ New York Jets (8-6) [Saturday 1pm FOX]
One thing you probably know about New Yorkers is that they have a hard time keeping their mouth shut. (I will include myself in that group) With that being said, I’ve never heard so much trash talk from anyone else other than Rex Ryan. Until he suits up with a helmet and pads he should just keep his mouth shut!
I was proud of Coughlin and Manning for not playing into Ryan’s nonsense. Coughlin said in response to Rex Ryan, “Regardless, it’ll be decided one o’clock Saturday afternoon, regardless of what is said. Talk is cheap.  Play the game.” And when asked if Eli agreed with Coughlin he said “ I agree with coach Coughlin, and uh, its not what is said before the game, or talking, or you know, everything will be decided in this case on Saturday. “ He’s not as eloquent as his brother but I’d have to agree with him too. So, GMEN, get it done this Saturday on the field!  Win this game. I’m picking you guys as the best team in NY. Make it so. I’m going to love seeing Rex Ryan silenced… for at least a week.
So, so, so, excited to watch this game with my father. If we get too loud my mom might send us up to my old room… or we could just walk down to our local bar.  I don’t care if it takes a Christmas Miracle for the Giants to win, as long as they win! GO GMEN!!!!!

Jacksonville (4-10) @ Tennessee (7-7) [Saturday 1pm CBS]
Both teams had pretty embarrassing games last weekend. Who will bounce back? I’m taking the Titans.

San Diego (7-7) @ Detroit (9-5) [Saturday 4:05pm CBS]
After the Chargers loss to Denver they have been a force to be reckoned with, but I’m going to have to go with Detroit at home.  (We’ll call this my crazy pick of the week)

Philadelphia (6-8) @ Dallas (8-6) [Saturday 4:15pm FOX]
As much as it pains me to say this I’m picking and I’m hoping Philly wins this game.
Ouch. That hurt.

San Francisco (11-3) @ Seattle (7-7) [Saturday 4:15pm FOX]
I’m taking San Francisco

Chicago (7-7) @ Green Bay (13-1) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
The Bears are done, and Green Bay is going to bounce back. I’m taking the Packers for the win.

Atlanta (9-5) @ New Orleans (11-3) [Monday 8:30pm ESPN]
This should be a decent game. I’m taking the Saints at home.


I hope you have a very Merry Christmas or a Happy Chanukah! In what ever you celebrate I hope you are blessed!

GO GIANTS AND COLTS!

Saturday, December 17, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 15 '11


The Shenoa Report
December 16, 2011
Regular Season Week 15

Week 14 served up to be a pretty great football weekend AND birthday weekend. The Giants gave me the best early birthday present ever when they beat the Cowboys on the road AND took the head of the NFC East. THANKS BOYS!
Sorry again for not getting this out in time for Thursday night football, but I am getting it out before the Saturday night game!
Two more head coaches (Miami’s Tony Sparano and Kansas City’s Todd Haley) lost their jobs this week and there will probably be more to come.  Personally I’d like to see Dungy back in Indi but I know that’s just a pipedream.
James Harrison’s one game suspension appeal was denied this week. I’m not really surprised and I don’t really care. Though I do find it interesting that last year he threatened to quit but this year he has decided appealing was a better idea. Tebow is still in the spotlight with another awesome comeback in overtime against the Bears. Man I love that guy. Well let’s recap week 14.


Cleveland @ Pittsburgh 3-14
So Pittsburgh won and it wasn’t pretty. But I’ve gotta say I never think its pretty when they win.

New England @ Washington 34-27
Even though I HATE New England I’m glad they won because it helps the Giants. And I’m not gonna lie Tom Brady’s interception was pretty spectacular, but the side line fight was childish.

Kansas City @ New York Jets 10-37
This game was the last straw that cost Todd Haley his job. But KC sure did make the Jets look good.

Houston @ Cincinnati 20-19
I really didn’t think this game would be that close but I’m glad that I picked Houston for the win.

Indianapolis @ Baltimore 10-24
Now, you know I go out almost every Sunday so that I can watch all the games someplace where they have the Sunday Ticket. But, did you know they don’t even show the Colts games down here anymore. I have to ask them to put it on a tv… and it’s embarrassing, as are the Colts.

Atlanta @ Carolina 31-23
Seriously Carolina? You HAD that game. Did you forget that there are 4 quarters? Unbelievable. (but not really)

Tampa Bay @ Jacksonville 14-41
I’m not gonna lie I don’t remember much about this game but I do remember that there was a tiny little bartender all decked out in her Jones-Drew jersey with pig-tails to boot. Her voice was so high pitched and annoying that it pierced through the crowded bar. She was ecstatic over the win, and every other thing she talked about.

New Orleans @ Tennessee 22-17
This was a pretty close game, but I wasn’t surprised that the Titans didn’t pull off the win. Sorry Abby.

Philadelphia @ Miami 26-10
I felt like this was the game that never ended. All of the other early games were well over and I looked up at this game and there was still 8 minutes left in the game. Yet nothing seemed to be happening. So, Vick came back which means that Vince Young didn’t thrown a gazillion interceptions.

Minnesota @ Detroit 28-34
Minnesota made a comeback… a little too late. But the good news is Detroit remembered what it felt like to win again.

San Francisco  @ Arizona 19-21
Way to pull the rug out from under the 49ers Arizona. I did NOT see that coming.


Chicago @ Denver 10-13 OT
TEBOW! TEBOW! TEBOW!!!!! I LOVE watching that kid play. His drive, his presence on the field, his Faith, its all just so amazing and captivating. So exciting! ALL THEY DO IS WIN WIN WIN NO MATTER WHAT!

Oakland @ Green Bay 16-46
This was just ugly… for Oakland. Ouch. Green Bay is a Green Monster, not to be confused with The Green Monster at Fenway Park. … Anyway…

Buffalo @ San Diego 10-37
All I can say is sorry Bills fans. Its not fair that a team can be soooo good and then soooo bad all in one season. Maybe next year Bills. (Isn’t that what we say every year?)

New York Giants @ Dallas 37-34
HOOOOOOOORRRRAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hey GMEN, you look awesome at the top of the NFC East! Thanks for the fantastic early birthday present. I knew you wouldn’t let me down! Now, after a very long, and fun birthday weekend I couldn’t keep my eyes open for the full game so I made sure I set the DVR before I went to bed, and I am soooo glad I did. I woke up early Monday morning, checked the final score and turned on Sports Center to watch the highlights. The highlights were spectacular as was the end of the game. I was also really glad I knew the outcome of the game while watching it Monday night after work because my blood pressure would have skyrocketed. 
Did you know you can’t spell Elite, Reliable, or Believe with out ELI?!?!!!!!!! (Thanks Gmen SuperFan and Matthew Johnston) Did you see the look on Jerry Jones face after the blocked kick by J-P-P? Pure awesomeness. It’s nice to know that we are perfect in that stadium. Boys it was a much needed win but man the defense has GOT TO STEP IT UP. Love you boys! Can’t wait to see you win again this weekend.

St. Louis @ Seattle 13-30
Seattle won and skittles were thrown about. I can’t make this stuff up.


12 out of 16 correct picks.

WEEK 15

Jacksonville (4-9) @ Atlanta (8-5) [TNF 8:20pm NFLN]
Well I would have picked Atlanta to win this game but I wouldn’t have thought it was the slaughter that actually was. (14-41) Remember, I mentioned the annoying bartender earlier in this article? Well, I was going out Thursday night in hopes to watch the game and as I was walking to my truck I heard this piercing sound. I turned around to see the pixie bartender walking out of one of the apartments in her Jones-Drew getup. As it turns out she lives in the same building I do. Crazy.

Dallas (7-6) @ Tampa Bay (4-7) [Saturday 8:20pm NFLN]
I mean I am going to be a big Bucs fan Saturday night and I hope they win. But I’m going to pick Dallas for the win and hope that I am very wrong. PS I still hate the Cowboys

Cincinnati (7-6) @ St. Louis (2-11) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
This should be an easy win for Cincinnati.

Miami (4-9) @ Buffalo (5-8) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’d like to pick Buffalo but Miami could surprise us with an interim coach leading their team.

Tennessee (7-6) @ Indianapolis (0-13) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Should be an easy win for the Titans… if there is any silver lining in this whole Colts mess it’s that Peyton has started throwing the ball again as part of his recovery.
I miss Peyton. I miss him on the field. And I miss his commercials, especially the Christmas one. You know the one where he gives Jeff Saturday a wrapped football… He’s so funny!

Washington (4-9) @ New York Giants (7-6) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
THIS IS THE GAME THAT DETERMINES WHETHER OR NOT I GET TO SHAVE MY FRIEND’S HEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LETS GO GMEN. Obviously I’m picking the Giants for the win.

New Orleans (10-3) @ Minnesota (2-11) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m going with New Orleans. Did you see Drew Brees on Sesame Street? He’s so badass.

Green Bay (13-0) @ Kansas City (5-8) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Pretty sure Green Bay is going to win this one. Pretty sure.

Carolina (4-9) @ Houston (10-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Look at it this way Carolina you’ve already won twice as many this year than last year… baby steps. I’m going with Houston for the win.

Seattle (6-7) @ Chicago (7-6) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m picking Chicago.

Detroit (8-5) @ Oakland (7-6) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
Sorry I left this game out of my original post, I just didn’t want Detroit fans to worry about losing again this week. I’ll take the Lions for the win just to make those Detroit fans happy.

New York Jets (8-5) @ Philadelphia (5-8) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I hope the Jets can pull this one off. I’m picking the J-E-T-S JETS! JETS! JETS!!! PS I still hate the Eagles.

Cleveland (4-9) @ Arizona (6-7) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I’ll take Arizona at home.

New England (10-3) @ Denver (8-5) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
My crazy pick of the week is Tebow and the Broncos over New England! TEBOW, TEBOW, TEBOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PS I still hate New England.

Baltimore (10-3) @ San Diego (6-7) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
I’m taking Baltimore.

Pittsburgh (10-3) @ San Francisco (10-3) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]   
I’m taking the 49ers, may they beat their opponent soundly.

GO GIANTS AND COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks Mom!

Sunday, December 11, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 14 '11


The Shenoa Report
December 7, 2011
Regular Season Week 14

Sorry I didn’t get this out in time for Thursday Night Football. My bad.
This is my birthday weekend! My actual birthday is Tuesday but I’m hoping for some great football presents this weekend. The best one would be a GIANT win in Dallas.
I just knew we wouldn’t go an entire season without the NFL mentioning the potential return of Brett Favre. Puke. This time Favre said he would “listen” to the Bears. Maybe Favre just wants to ruin the entire NFC North. THANKFULLY it was just talk and the Bears never intended to call on him. Speaking of the NFC North, Suh is getting into a lot of trouble off the field too. He had a car accident and more “stories” (that’s what people call lies down south) this week. I wonder what he’ll do with all his time next week. I just hope he doesn’t have the Big Ben approach to “a good time”.
Week 13 wasn’t as lucky as I had hoped it to be… lets recap. 



Philadelphia @ Seattle 14-31
I watched part of this game on my computer (because I don’t have the NFLN) and I couldn’t keep up with Vince Young’s interceptions. I couldn’t tell if it was a replay, or if he had done it AGAIN! Young had 4 interceptions this game. Philly looked horrible, and that’s an understatement.  They made Seattle look really good, and that’s hard to do. I’m not sure why I picked Philly to win this game in the first place… It must have been a Thanksgiving hangover.

Tennessee @ Buffalo 23-17
With Chris Johnson looking like the old Chris Johnson and the Bills looking like the Bill’s of ol’ it really isn’t that surprising that the Bills lost this week.

Kansas City @ Chicago 10-3
Da Bears have gone to the Bad News Bears with Cutler out last week, then Orton out this week, and their current QB, Caleb Hanie throwing no TDs and 3 interceptions in the loss to KC at home this weekend. On the other hand, KC is just glad it pulled off a win.

Atlanta @ Houston 10-17
Houston pulled off a win with their 3rd string QB.  Really, they are just glad Peyton’s out for the season because it gives them a far better chance to take the AFC South.

Oakland @ Miami 14-34
My crazy pick of the week came true AGAIN! Miami stomped Oakland. For a while there I thought they were going to shut them out completely.  If any Panther’s fans were watching the game I bet they were wondering why Matt Moore didn’t play like that for them.

Denver @ Minnesota 35-32
Speaking of the Panthers, can John Fox really get credit for Denver’s success right now? It seems like the fans bullied him into starting Tebow. I mean, Fox had Tebow as his 3rd string QB. I think Fox fell into something remarkable with Tebow, and he should be thanking God for him. We all know that Tebow thanks God practically every moment on the field. NO WONDER THEY ARE WINNING.  (1 Corinthians 15:57 But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ)

Indianapolis @ New England 24-31
As I write this in our winless season I have to chuckle a little bit being that the Colts, the winless Colts, almost upset the Patriots. They were down 31-3 in the fourth quarter and put up three touchdowns. Had they recovered the onside kick the Pats could have made history giving the Colts their first win of the season. I know almost doesn’t count, and a loss is a loss, but it wasn’t the blowout everyone imagined… it was actually one of the closer games the Colts have had ALL season.  What I’m saying is the Pats aren’t as good as everyone talks them up to be. PS I still hate them.

Cincinnati @ Pittsburgh 7-35
Not one of the Bengals best games… Big Ben, blah blah blah, I hate the Steelers.

Carolina @ Tampa Bay 38-19
I don’t know what was more distracting, Tampa Bay’s inability to play, or their throwback jerseys. Would someone please tell them that a peach-ish color isn’t very manly.  Carolina finally got it done. Newton broke another record with the most rushing touchdowns in a season. (He had already broke that rookie record games ago) and he still has a couple of games left! This kid is a beast. I like it when the Panthers win; the air in Charlotte isn’t so… melancholy

New York Jets @ Washington 34-19
I’m on twitter and I follow this guy called peytonshead.  If you’re on twitter you should follow him too. The dude’s pretty funny. He summed it up best today when he said “ 2 Redskins suspended for violating the substance abuse policy. It's safe to assume this was recreational use, not performance enhancing.”


Baltimore @ Cleveland 24-10
Ray Rice led this Ravens team to victory but Cleveland did score a TD at home.

Dallas @ Arizona 13-19 OT
YAHOOOOOOO for the Cardinals!  Well, you see what happened was, Dallas’ head coach iced his own kicker!  The game went into overtime, and Arizona scored a TD. Game over! The end!

Green Bay @ New York Giants 38-35
It’s been said before and I’ll say it again, this game was eerily familiar to the 2007 Giants Pats game when the Pats went undefeated up until the Super Bowl. This game even had the same score. Something tells me we are going to be playing the Packers again. It was a good game. There were some pretty crappy calls by the refs and a few blown plays by our boys, but it was a good game. Tough loss but we’ll get them next time. There will be a next time.

St. Louis @ San Francisco 0-26
The Rams were shutout in San Francisco. Ouch.

Detroit @ New Orleans 17-31
Lions are looking like their old self and the Saints had a field day.

San Diego @ Jacksonville 38-14
So the Chargers finally win one… well they were playing Jacksonville so it wasn’t that difficult… even for the Chargers.


10 out of 16 for week 13 picks


WEEK 14

Cleveland (4-8) @ Pittsburgh (9-3) [Thursday 8:20pm NFLN]
Well I can’t really pick a winner right now because as I type this, the game is in the 4th quarter. I would have picked the Steelers to win anyhow but I hope Cleveland can pull the upset. … Big Ben just threw an interception! I may have to watch the rest of this game now…

New England (9-3) @ Washington (4-8) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m picking New England.  I wouldn’t say I’m rooting for them… but I want them to win.

Kansas City (5-7) @ New York Jets (7-5) [Sunday 1pm CS]
I’m picking the Jets but I’ won’t be surprised if KC upsets them at home.

Houston (9-3) @ Cincinnati (7-5) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m taking Houston

Indianapolis (0-12) @ Baltimore (9-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Did you know that when the Colts come to Baltimore they are referred to as the Indianapolis professional football team, never the Colts, and Indy is what is displayed on the scoreboard not Colts. Apparently there are still some hard feelings over the move from Baltimore to Indianapolis. If the Colts had been playing this bad in 1983 I’m pretty sure Baltimore fans would have gladly helped them pack. Oh yeah, I’m picking Baltimore for the win.

Atlanta (7-5) @ Carolina (4-8) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’d like to pick Carolina but I’m not going to. I think Atlanta will win. Wait for it! I’ve changed my mind. My crazy pick of the week is Carolina over Atlanta!

Tampa Bay (4-8) @ Jacksonville (3-9) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
It’s the battle of who could care less.  I’m taking Tampa Bay for the win.

New Orleans (9-3) @ Tennessee (7-5) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m pretty sure the Saints will win this one

Philadelphia (4-8) @ Miami (4-8) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Come on Miami! Vick should be returning so welcome him back with a nice sack after sack after sack. I’m picking Miami for the win

Minnesota (2-10) @ Detroit (7-5) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m taking Detroit.

San Francisco  (10-2) @ Arizona (5-7) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
I’ve got to go with the 49ers


Chicago (7-5) @ Denver (7-5) [Sunday 4:05pm FOX]
TEBOW! TEBOW! TEBOW!!!!! I’m taking the Broncos

Oakland (7-5) @ Green Bay (12-0) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
Green Bay…

Buffalo (5-7) @ San Diego (5-7) [Sunday 4:15pm CBS]
I so would like to pick Buffalo for the win but I’ve lost faith in the Bills and no longer Billieve. I’m taking the Bolts for the win.

New York Giants (6-6) @ Dallas (7-5) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
GMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So many fond memories of this match up. Remember the time when the Giants christened Dallas’ new stadium with a GIANT win on the road. Good times good times. And remember the time the Giants Defense broke Romo’s collarbone. Oh memories. Looking forward to more great memories this Sunday night. Hey GMEN it’s my birthday Tuesday so the bestest birthday present ever would be a GIANT win over the Cowboys! Thanks in advance!

St. Louis (2-10) @ Seattle (5-7) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]
I’m taking Seattle.

GO GIANTS AND COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thursday, December 1, 2011

The Shenoa Report Regular Season Week 13 '11


The Shenoa Report
December 1, 2011
Regular Season Week 13

I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, I know I did!!! Can you believe it’s December already?!
There were lots of crazy things that happened this week. We had our first head coach firing of the season and our first team being sold. It just so happens both were the Jacksonville Jaguars.
Suh stomped his way to a two game suspension and Tebow had another miracle comback. The Colts are still winless and no one has contacted Brett Favre to come back, see there is a silver lining.

Green Bay @ Detroit 27-15
This was your typical Thanksgiving Detroit game, the Lions lost. Ndamukong Suh took his frustrations out on the field which is usually a good thing but not in his case as he stomped a Packer while “trying to get up” The first time he was fined I thought his apology was genuine, now I think the guy has more excuses than a teenage girl on prom night. The Packers continue to be unstoppable and took great advantage of Suh being ejected from the game.

Miami @ Dallas 19-20
I’m sure you could have heard me all the way from Dover DE in the last seconds of the game yelling MISS! MISS! MISS! It didn’t work as Dallas won when they kicked a field goal in the final seconds of the game. I hate Dallas.

San Francisco @ Baltimore 6-16
This was the battle of head coaches and brothers. The Harbaugh brothers Jim and John faced off Thanksgiving night.  Even though Jim, the head coach of the 49ers, had a better record going into the game it wasn’t enough when he went up against his older, and more experienced brother John.

Carolina @ Indianapolis 27-19
I listened to this game on my way back home to NC and I’m not gonna lie, there was a lot of yelling in the Jimmy. I really have no words to describe how I feel about this loss.  Frustrated doesn’t even come close. On the other hand, the Colts made the Panthers look pretty good… Yay for the Panthers…

Minnesota @ Atlanta 14-24
I thought that Atlanta would win this game anyway, but without Adrian Peterson, Minnesota really didn’t even have a chance.

Cleveland @ Cincinnati 20-23
This was actually a pretty tight game, one in which I thought that Cleveland might actually win, but they didn’t.

Tampa Bay @ Tennessee 17-23
Chris Johnson actually looked like Chris Johnson this week and helped the Titans take the win at home.

Arizona @ St. Louis 23-20
This was another close game that did not have a very surprising ending.

Buffalo @ New York Jets 24-28
If Stevie Johnson had focused more on catching the balls thrown to him, rather than the stupid “celebrations” in the end zone, the Bills may have won the game. There’s a time and a place Stevie. Grow up.

Houston @ Jacksonville 20-13
Houston is a little short on QB’s  losing both Matts, but with Arian Foster and some great receivers the Texans got it done. This Jacksonville loss also took head coach Jack Del Rio’s job.

Chicago @ Oakland 20-25
I was right the Bears couldn’t get it done without Cutler. 

Washington  @ Seattle 23-17
Seattle gave up in the fourth quarter while Washington thrived and came out with the win. Yes, I was kind of surprised too.

New England @ Philadelphia 38-20
Eagle fans are some of the meanest fans in the NFL. You could hear them chant “Fire Andy” in the second half of the game. I would have l been yelling at the opponent (especially when it’s the Patriots) Eagle fans = not so classy. Oh and thanks New England for stomping the birds like I asked. Hold onto that sentence because I’ll probably never say anything nice about your team again.

Denver @ San Diego 16-13 OT
I’m so glad that I was able to watch the end of this game.  Timmy is now 5-1 and almost making this team legit.  I love watching Tebow.  The Charger’s kicker, Novak, missed the game winning field goal and sent the game into overtime. I almost thought that this game would end in a tie but the Broncos pulled it out.

Pittsburgh @ Kansas City 13-9
Palko was the MVP for the Steelers, it’s just too bad he plays for the Chiefs. He had devastating turnovers for KC and the Chiefs continue to plummet.

New York Giants @ New Orleans 24-49
I’d rather not remember, nor recap this game….

12 out of 16 correct picks for week 12

WEEK 13

Philadelphia (4-7) @ Seattle (4-7) [Thursday 8:20pm NFL]
Vick should be back for this game. I’m picking the Eagles for the win but I hope I’m wrong and Seattle stomps them!

Tennessee (6-5) @ Buffalo (5-6) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’m taking Buffalo for the win but only if Stevie Johnson isn’t a jackass.

Kansas City (4-7) @ Chicago (7-4) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
It’s the battle of the not so good starting QB’s I’m going with Chicago.

Atlanta (7-4) @ Houston (8-3) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
Houston is playing their 3rd string QB (and they’ve picked up Jack Delhomme) so I’m going to have to pick Atlanta for the win.

Oakland (7-4) @ Miami (3-8) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
This may be my crazy pick of the week. I’m going with Miami for the win.

Denver (6-5) @ Minnesota (2-9) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m going with Denver and Tebow.

Indianapolis (0-11) @ New England (8-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Belichick says he’s taking the Colts seriously. Really? REALLY?! Come on man! Bill, no one is taking the Colts seriously. Lets just be classy about it when you beat them. Wait, you don’t know how to be classy. I don’t know what’s worse, 0-11 facing the Pats or starting Dan Orlovsky at QB. You may say that name sounds familiar.  And if you’re a Detroit fan you cringe at that name. He’s kinda like the Jake Delhomme of the Lions except Jake has won a couple of games. Orlovsky was the QB for the Lions when they went 0-16! YES LETS START HIM AGAINST THE PATRIOTS. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH…
Whatever, the Pats will win this game. GO COLTS.

Cincinnati (7-4) @ Pittsburgh (8-3) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
I’d like to see the Ginger and the Bengals win but I’ll have to pick the Steelers at home. … Just being practical.

Carolina (3-8) @ Tampa Bay (4-7) [Sunday 1pm FOX]
I’m going to pick Carolina.

New York Jets (6-5) @ Washington (4-7) [Sunday 1pm CBS]
Hell, I hope the Jets can get this win.

Baltimore (8-3) @ Cleveland (4-7) [Sunday 4:05pm CBS]
I’m taking Baltimore. Poor Browns.

Dallas (7-4) @ Arizona (4-7) [Sunday 4:15pm FOX]
Man oh man do I want Arizona to win.  If Kolb plays for Arizona I’ll pick them for the win but if Skelton starts I’ll have to take Dallas for the win. I hate Dallas

Green Bay (11-0) @ New York Giants (6-5) [Sunday 4:15pm FOX]
Sigh. I have yet to pick against the Giants, and I’m not going to stop this week. If Green Bay is going to lose this year THIS will be the game that upsets their perfect season. Yes, I’m picking the GMEN for the win. Yes, I’m delusional, I know.

St. Louis (2-9) @ San Francisco (9-2) [Sunday 4:15pm FOX]
Taking the 49ers.

Detroit (7-4) @ New Orleans (8-3) [Sunday 8:20pm NBC]
With Suh out I’m taking New Orleans.

San Diego (4-7) @ Jacksonville (3-8) [MNF 8:30pm ESPN]
Who cares? I mean, I’m taking Jacksonville under new management.

GO COLTS AND GMEN!