The Shenoa Report
September 17, 2011
Regular Season Week 2
Well we’ve got week one under our belts. Some of us rejoice at the end of week one and some of us weep. I was one of those weeping. Seriously in what world do we live in where the Colts and Giants lose and the Lions and Bills win? Obviously it’s not my perfect world. I suppose the biggest news in the NFL right now is that Peyton Manning is out for the season with his third neck surgery. The next biggest news, and I know it may come as a big surprise to all of you, is Brett Favre is STILL retired! I know, I can’t believe it either. Anyway, let’s recap week one.
WEEK 1
New Orleans @ Green Bay 34-42
This was a very exciting game. It was a bit one sided to start but the Saints answered back and put up a great fight. The Packers won like I said they would and it was a great way to start the season. I do have a question though. With John Kasay playing for the Saints now who is going to score all the points for the Panthers? Side note: Maybe if the Saints hadn’t taken a day of practice to run drills with Ellen Degeneres they would have won the game. I mean, she’s funny but… well you saw the outcome.
Pittsburgh @ Baltimore 7-35
I am so glad I was wrong!!!! Not gonna lie, I watched this entire game with glee. Flacco had 3 touchdowns and Roethlisberger had 3 interceptions. The Ravens defense forced a record 7 turnovers! Fantastic!
Atlanta @ Chicago 12-30
This was another surprise for me. I really thought that Chicago would lose after the way their season ended last year. But Cutler did a pretty decent job and the Bears defense was really great. Urlacher had an interception and returned a fumble for a touchdown. (Keep Brian Urlacher and his family in your prayers. His mother died suddenly this week)
Cincinnati @ Cleveland 27-17
I was wrong again! It’s amazing how well Cincinnati did WITHOUT T.O. and Ochocinco. But I think the real reason Cleveland lost is that they were super sloppy and just not ready. Poor Cleveland just can’t get a break. Hopefully their new head coach Pat Shurmur can get it together.
Indianapolis @ Houston 7-34
I have never been a Kerry Collins fan, and that is an understatement. When he left the Giants it was one of the best days of my life. I mean even the Panthers got rid of him. When I heard he had retired I called my father and we had a little mini party over the phone. And now he is out of retirement and playing for my Colts?!!?!??!!?!?!
[insert expletives here] [and here] … [and here] OK. I know that Peyton never played on defense, nor special teams so I can’t blame Kerry for their lack of playing on Sunday. I, thankfully, did not get the game on tv so I was listening to it on my handy dandy iPhone. I think I got through the first quarter before turning it off because the Colts were ruining my Sunday. Houston walked all over us. It wasn’t pretty. Boys you’ve got to GET IT TOGETHER or it’s going to be a very long “Pantheresk” season.
Tennessee @ Jacksonville 14-16
The Jags edged by the Titans. It was pretty evenly matched though Jacksonville had a more impressive first half and Tennessee had a more impressive second half. If it weren’t for Hasselbeck’s interception in the last 30 seconds of the game Tennessee probably would have won.
Buffalo @ Kansas City 41-7
WOW. Is it too early to say that the Bills may be legit this season? Wait, what? The Bills won? By that much? Poor KC. Fitzpatrick was on fire with 4 touchdown passes while Cassel only had one TD and one interception. I was definitely wrong when I picked KC to win this game. But really, who picked the Bills to win besides Bills fans?
Philadelphia @ St. Louis 31-13
I hate being right sometimes. And I hate the Eagles. They beat up on the Rams and Sam Bradford left the game in the fourth quarter to get x-rays on a finger on his throwing hand. Michael Vick was, well, Michael Vick and pretty much unstoppable. Blah.
Detroit @ Tampa Bay 27-20
Call me crazy but I actually picked Detroit to win this game. They looked good and simply outplayed Tampa Bay. Keep up the good work Lions.
Carolina @ Arizona 21-28
I watched this game and I actually thought that Carolina was going to pull off the win. Cam looked great, phenomenal, actually. He threw for over 400 yards and had only one interception. It’s looking like Cam is just what the Panthers needed. Now they just have to work on their special teams and defense.
Minnesota @ San Diego 17-24
Even though Rivers had 2 interceptions he also had 2 TDs and threw for 335 yards. McNabb had only one interception and one TD but threw for only 39 yards. The Chargers just outplayed the Vikings.
Seattle @ San Francisco 17-33
I did not see the 49ers winning this game. You’ll realize early on that I am wrong in my predictions kinda sorta often but it doesn’t stop me from making them. There has been much debate on the new kickoff rule because there doesn’t seem to be many opportunities for returns. But, with this game as well as others this past week, the new rule may not be such a challenge as once thought. In fact the 49ers’ win was in part a result of a kickoff return for a touchdown.
New York Giants @ Washington 14-28
This was painful. Just painful. Washington outplayed us. Yes I could say that we are beat up, that many of our starters were injured and not playing, but we are the Giants! The Giants are supposed to be the underdogs, the ones that overcome adversity. I expect more from you boys. Losing is not acceptable. When you go into halftime tied I expect you to win the game.
Dallas @ New York Jets 24-27
J-E-T-S JETS! JETS! JETS! I would like to thank Tony Romo for the fumble and interception in the fourth quarter to give the Jets the win in this Sunday night game. A New York win and a Dallas loss always makes me smile. And how about that block Burress had as well as his first TD as a Jet. Thanks for not giving up NY. It was a big win on 9-11.
New England @ Miami 38-24
I watched half this game and then got disgusted and turned it off. Miami couldn’t contain New England and were embarrassed at home. Ochocinco didn’t do jack for the Pats on the field but his thumbs seem to work because he sure can tweet about it. Wes Welker is a beast and I would love for him to come to the good side and play for the Giants… In my dreams I suppose. The only thing I can hold onto is that no matter how well New England does during the regular season they haven’t made the playoffs since their Superbowl loss to the Giants in 2008… and THAT always makes me smile.
Oakland @ Denver 23-20
Denver fans are quite vocal in who they want to see on the field. It must be hard for Orton to be the starting QB and hear the crowd chant TEBOW TEBOW TEBOW. It doesn’t help the situation that they have John Fox as a coach either. The highlight of the game came in the first quarter with a tied record 63-yard field goal by Sebastian Janikowski put the Raiders over Denver.
So I am 9-7 after week one. Lets see how I do with week two.
WEEK 2
Oakland @ Buffalo (1pm CBS)
Well after last week I’m going to have to pick the Bills to win. Don’t let me down Buffalo! Oakland 1-0 Buffalo 1-0
Green Bay @ Carolina (1pm FOX)
In talking to a friend during the Carolina game last week he said that he thought that Carolina could win this week. I told him they absolutely wouldn’t and I would give him 20 points… I’m picking the Packers to win this one for sure. Green Bay 1-0 Carolina 0-1
Kansas City @ Detroit (1pm CBS)
I’m going to have to go with Detroit again this week. Kansas City 0-1 Detroit 1-0
Cleveland @ Indianapolis (1pm CBS)
This is a tough one. Both teams are struggling but I’m going to put some big faith in Kerry and rely on the Colts D for the win this week. Cleveland 0-1 Indianapolis 0-1
Tampa Bay @ Minnesota (1pm FOX)
I think that McNabb can do better this week and win their home opener in Minnesota. Tampa Bay 0-1 Minnesota 0-1
Chicago @ New Orleans (1pm FOX)
This is going to be an emotional game for Chicago. They will either have a top-notch defense or fall apart. It’s hard to say. I would pick them to win if they were playing at home but I’ve got to go with the Saints this week. Chicago 1-0 New Orleans 0-1
Jacksonville @ New York Jets (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Jets. The Colts are last in their division and they will need all the help they can get this season. Jacksonville 1-0 Jets 1-0
Seattle @ Pittsburgh (1pm FOX)
Pittsburgh was embarrassed last week and I don’t think they will allow to be embarrassed against the Seahawks. I mean I hope I’m wrong but I am picking the Steelers to win this game. Seattle 0-1 Pittsburgh 0-1
Baltimore @ Tennessee (1pm CBS)
I’m going with the Ravens for the win this week. Not just because they whooped the Steelers but, again, I need Tennessee to lose to help out the Colts. Sorry Abby. Baltimore 1-0 Tennessee 0-1
Arizona @ Washington (1pm FOX)
As much as I don’t want to, I’m going to pick Washington to win. I hope I’m wrong.
Arizona 1-0 Washington 1-0
Dallas @ San Francisco (4:05pm FOX)
Let’s hope Dallas falls apart again this week. I’m going with the 49ers to win their home opener! Dallas 0-1 San Francisco 1-0
Cincinnati @ Denver (4:15pm CBS)
I’m going with a Denver upset and picking Cincinnati to win. Cincinnati 1-0 Denver 0-1
Houston @ Miami (4:15pm CBS)
I’m picking Houston to win this week though I hope I’m wrong. They looked good last week against the Colts but their MVP was Kerry Collins so who knows. Houston 1-0 Miami 0-1
San Diego @ New England (4:15pm CBS)
I’m picking New England to win but again I hope I’m wrong. Very wrong. San Diego please put Brady on the ground a lot. Thanks. San Diego 1-0 New England 1-0
Philadelphia @ Atlanta (8:20pm NBC)
I would love to see Atlanta win this. I am actually going to pick the Falcons. Welcome back to Atlanta Vick. I hope the Falcons pick apart the Eagles. Philadelphia 1-0 Atlanta 0-1
St. Louis @ New York Giants (Monday 8:30 ESPN)
I have got to go with the GMEN for the win. I can pick against the Colts but I just don’t have the heart to pick against the Giants. So GMEN you need to bounce back after last week. St. Louis 0-1 Giants 0-1
Thanks for reading! (And thanks Mom for editing!) GO COLTS AND GO GMEN!!!!!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment