The Shenoa Report
September 24, 2011
Regular Season Week 3
I’ll have to say that week two wasn’t as painful as week one, unless your name is Tony Romo, Michael Vick, or Domenik Hixon. I mean, if you are a Colts fan or a Chiefs fan it’s looking like it’s going to be pretty painful every weekend but someone’s got to lose each week right? It’s now time to make a decision. Are you going to be a die-hard fan or a fair-weather fan? There are a lot of 2-0 teams and a lot of 0-2 teams headed into week 3. I think the most surprising 2-0 teams are the Texans, Redskins, Lions and the Bills. All the 0-2 teams are not really surprising except for the Colts in my opinion. It’s really hard for me to put the Colts in the 0-2 group, but there they are. I’m beginning to realize what its like to be a Panthers fan…. It sucks.
Enough bellyaching, lets recap week two.
Oakland @ Buffalo 35-38
This was a pretty intense game. No scores in the first quarter but they made up for it in the other three. Oakland scored 3 touchdowns in the 2nd quarter while the Bills only had a field goal. It wasn’t looking so good for the Bills. But after halftime they came back out on the field and took the game having 2 TDs in the 3rd quarter while Oakland had no scores and then a shootout in the 4th with the Bills coming out on top. Way-to-go Bills, glad I picked you to win. Now if you can win in week 3 I’ll be jumping on your bandwagon.
Green Bay @ Carolina 30-23
All right, well I am glad I didn’t actually bet my friend last week and give him 20 points but I did pick Green Bay to win. The Panthers surprised me. They are looking pretty good. Now if they could just win a game. Cam threw for another 400+ yard game. He’s pretty impressive I suppose. I’ll have to get out to see him again this season.
Kansas City @ Detroit 3-48
I didn’t think that KC could have had a worse loss than week one but man was I wrong. Wow. I hate to see what the score is this week. Stafford had 4 TD passes while Cassel had 3 interceptions and no TDs. It’s not looking good for KC but it’s looking pretty great for Detroit this season… and I must say it’s about time.
Cleveland @ Indianapolis 27-19
Dear Indianapolis, YOU’RE KILLING ME! Love, shenoa. PS especially you Kerry!
Seriously. You were playing THE BROWNS! (No offence Browns. I like you. Really I do, but you aren’t a great team. I know you know that. You are kinda in the same category as the Chiefs and Panthers.) It’s really sad when YOUR KICKER scores the most points for your team!!!!! (Major props to Vinatieri I’m just glad he showed up to the game and actually played) You know we are only going into week 3 and already the sports analysts are saying that the Colts best bet is to get the first draft pick next year and draft Andrew Luck. … yeah we could use some luck on this team.
Disgusted.
Tampa Bay @ Minnesota 24-20
McNabb had 39 passing yards last week this week he had 228 but it wasn’t enough to win the game. He didn’t have any TD passes but the Vikings running game was pretty impressive. It was a close game but the Bucs came out on top. I am truly sorry for my Minnesota friends, I really thought they would win this game. Chin up guys, I’m sure you’ll have a better season than the Colts.
Chicago @ New Orleans 13-30
Chicago really didn’t have a chance in this game. The Saints offense and defense simply outplayed the Bears. Brees had 3 TD passes while Cutler had only 1 TD and was sacked 6 times. It was a pretty easy win for the Saints, glad I picked them to win this game.
Jacksonville @ New York Jets 3-32
Usually when your QB throws 2 interceptions the outcome of the game is not in your favor unless the QB for the opposing team throws 4 interceptions. (And no, Eli Manning nor Kerry Collins was the opposing QB.) Sanchez did throw 2 interceptions but he also threw 2 TDs. The Jags QB, Luke McCown had only 59 passing yards, no TDs and 4 interceptions. In the past it’s been pretty rare for all 3 NY teams to win in a given week but we did it this week. Thanks boys, New York is WINNING!
Seattle @ Pittsburgh 0-24
Well I guess Pittsburgh bounced back from week 1. Can’t say as much for Seattle, though they did manage to take out Big Ben for a little bit, even though it wasn’t intentional. EPIC FAIL SEATTLE.
Baltimore @ Tennessee 13-26
What the hell happened Baltimore?!?! How do you come off a win over the Steelers last week and then bend over for the Titans. I don’t get it. Sure you may have been able to shut down Chris Johnson but you let Hasselbeck throw for 358 yards and a TD. Flacco only threw for 197 yards and had one TD BUT had 2 interceptions! Come on! I expected more from you Baltimore.
Arizona @ Washington 21-22
Such a close game but Washington rallied in the last 2 minutes to beat the Cardinals with a field goal. I wish it had ended differently. The Skins may be 2-0 but with Rex leading them they’ll fall sooner or later.
Dallas @ San Francisco 27-24
Romo plays through a broken rib and punctured lung and leads his team to victory. We’ll let him have his glory for this week. I’m just excited for the Cowboys to play the Giants this season. December 11th. Can’t wait. Hey Romo remember what happened the last time you played the Giants? A broken rib is nothing in comparison to a broken collar bone…
San Francisco I was rooting for you! Thanks for letting me down.
Cincinnati @ Denver 22-24
I can’t believe I picked Cincinnati to win. Maybe it was because Denver put Tebow in. Not that he actually did anything. He went in as a wide receiver and lost 7 yards but hey the fans love him (and so do I) It was a close game and I’m pretty sure John Fox said “oh so this is what it feels like to win”…
Houston @ Miami 23-13
I picked Houston to win so I should be happy. But I’m not. The Texans are now 2-0 and my Colts are 0-2 and in the same division. This is not good for me. I really wish I had more to say about this game but I don’t.
San Diego @ New England 21-35
BAHHHHH I HATE NEW ENGLAND. True story. The End.
Philadelphia @ Atlanta 31-35
This was a great game! Atlanta welcomed Vick back with a gift wrapped concussion. Tony Gonzalez had two TD catches one of which was an amazing one handed catch in the back of the endzone. Matt Ryan had 4 TD passes and 2 interceptions Vick only had 2 TDs and one interception but like I said left the game with a concussion. Thanks Atlanta for the win.
St. Louis @ New York Giants 16-28
A win is a win. This game wasn’t pretty. But the GMEN came out on top, which is very pretty in my opinion. Sure there were faked injuries, torn ACL’s, concussions, and circus type catches but a win is a win. Eli was better this week with only one interception but it was the Ram’s big huge mistakes that really helped the Giants. The Giants Defense really stepped up when it mattered the most holding the Rams to field goals for most of the night. Let me just say. Hakeem Nicks’ TD catch was awesome, Brandon Jacobs walk in TD was amazing, but Domenik Hixon’s TD catch was ABSOLUTLEY SPECTACULAR! (Hixon tore his ACL on that play so its sad that it was his last play of the season but he sure did go out in style. He openly stated “I just wanted to Thank Everyone for all your support!!! It's going to be a tough road BUT with God in your corner anything can be done! This is going to be one heck of a story when everything is all said and done with! Hope everyone has a blessed day! GO GMEN!!!!”) GMEN fans keep your heads held high and don’t quit on our boys.
11-5 on week 2 picks… not too shabby.
WEEK 3
New England @ Buffalo (1pm CBS)
OK both teams are 2-0 coming into this game. I’ll be rooting for the Bills and hoping to jump on their bandwagon at the end of this game. But if I were a betting girl I’d have to pick the Pats to win this game. As I say every week when I pick the Pats to win I hope I’m wrong. GO BILLS!
Jacksonville @ Carolina (1pm CBS)
It’s the battle of the rookie quarterbacks. I’m going to have to pick Carolina. This is the game they’ll win. (I feel like its always a ballsy move to pick the Panthers) Jacksonville 1-1 Carolina 0-2
San Francisco @ Cincinnati (1pm FOX)
Both teams are 1-1 coming into this game. I’m going to have to pick Cincinnati to win only because of home field advantage
Miami @ Cleveland (1pm CBS)
I don’t see Miami going 0-3 after this game. I’d like to see Cleveland win but I’m going with Miami this week because they need the win more. Miami 0-2 Cleveland 1-1
Detroit @ Minnesota (1pm FOX)
This is a must win for Minnesota being that they are 0-2 headed into this game but I really see Detroit coming out 3-0 after this game. I’m going with Detroit.
Houston @ New Orleans (1pm CBS)
This weekend is Houston’s weekend to lose. I’m going with the Saints. Houston 2-0 New Orleans 1-1
New York Giants @ Philadelphia (1pm Fox)
I am sick and tired of hearing about the “miracle comeback” from last season. If Dodge had just kicked it out of bounds like he was told to the Giants would have won that game… BAHHHHH. I know the Eagles have won the last 6 times the Giants have played them. I am going against all the analysts and commentators and picking the Giants to win this game. I really, really think they can do it. There is another guy (Gmen Superfan) who writes for the Giants in whom I follow and he reminded his readers this “the Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl last year with, what was it, 16 starters on IR?? The Giants have 6 guys on IR right now, and one of them is a backup QB...we're 1-1...SO STOP HATING, AND HAVE SOME FAITH!!! GMEN!!!” Both teams are 1-1 going into this game. GO GMEN!!!!!!!!!!
Denver @ Tennessee (1pm CBS)
Both teams are 1-1 going into this game and as much as I don’t want to I’m going to have to pick the Titans for the win.
New York Jets @ Oakland (4:05pm CBS)
I think Oakland is going to get beat by NY two weeks in a row. Jets are 2-0 Raiders 1-1
Kansas City @ San Diego (4:05pm CBS)
Pretty sure KC will be 0-3 after this game. I’m going with the Chargers at home who are 1-1 headed into this game.
Baltimore @ St. Louis (4:05pm CBS)
St. Louis has just made too many mistakes and I don’t see them winning at home this week. I see the Ravens winning on the road. Baltimore is 1-1 St. Louis is 0-2
Green Bay @ Chicago (4:15pm FOX)
I really see Green Bay winning this game and going 3-0 as the Bears fall to 1-2
Arizona @ Seattle (4:15pm FOX)
This is tough but I’ll have to go with the Cardinals. No real reason except Arizona has Larry Fitzgerald and Kevin Kolb seems to be the stronger QB. Arizona 1-1 Seattle 0-2
Atlanta @ Tampa Bay (4:15pm FOX)
I think that Atlanta is going to win this one. Both teams are 1-1
Pittsburgh @ Indianapolis (8:20pm NBC)
This just makes me sad. Pittsburgh will win. Indi will go 0-3. I will cry. But maybe, just maybe… ah never mind. Reality sucks. Pittsburgh is 1-1
Washington @ Dallas (MNF 8:30pm ESPN)
I don’t like either of these teams. I’m hoping it’ll end in a tie. But if I have to pick a winner I’m going to go with Dallas. I’d like to see Grossman fall apart. I mean, I’d like to see Romo fall apart too. Actually it would be awesome if both teams fell apart… GO GMEN! Washington is 2-0 Dallas 1-1
So there are my picks. Hope you’ve enjoyed reading as much as I’ve enjoyed writing. GO GIANTS, COLTS, AND BILLS !!!